We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midwest hospitality”
Review of Oaklawn Inn

Oaklawn Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menomonie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Menomonie B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Midwest hospitality”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Came to Wisconsin for a family reunion. We selected the Oaklawn Inn given its location. The innkeeper Maggie was very attentive to our daily needs and quite friendly. A very nice gesture was that she had beer and wine ready for us upon our arrival. We took two adjoining rooms which were spacious and comfortable with their own private bathrooms. We had good daily breakfast with another guest family, it was great meeting them!

Very pleased with our stay, would recommend family and friends! Thanks Maggie

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our son was making a campus visit at UW -Stout. When searching for lodging options in the area, we found the hotels to be "adequate" but nothing special. We were hoping for a more unique experience and found it at Oaklawn Inn. Maggie greeted us with a glass of wine and knowledgable recommendations for restaurants for dinner. The room, The Trillium, was lovely and all rooms have a private bath. In the morning, we woke to the aroma of fresh coffee and savored a delicious breakfast of yogurt, granola, fresh raspberries, scrambled eggs with spinach, cherry tomatoes and feta cheese. Maggie asks about food preferences and allergies and does not disappoint in her food selections or preparation.She also has a wealth of knowledge about the area and its attractions. Thanks Maggie - great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our son attends Stout and we have always stayed at the area hotels when visiting. We happened along Oak Lawn and made a reservation for our next visit. That was it - we have stayed at Oak Lawn at every other visit. Great breakfast and comfortable accommodations. Thanks Maggie.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryanneK-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie F, Owner at Oaklawn Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
So glad you found me. As a Stout Alum myself, I enjoy meeting the Stout students and their visiting families and hearing their stories. It brings back memories and I hope my knowledge of the campus and the area helps to make guests more comfortable. Always fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was traveling for business to Menomonie for 3 nights and did not want to stay in a 2 to 3 star hotel. Google searches lead me to Oaklawn. After viewing the web site and initial contact with Maggie, I told our cooperate travel agent that Oaklawn was where I wanted to stay. Maggie matched the room rates to any local hotels. What a beautiful, comfortable home. One of my comments to Maggie was that prior to my visit I had never been called by any Hilton property (which is where I usually stay) to discuss what I wanted for breakfast, what could be done to make my stay more pleasant as well as local restaurants and activities. The home cooked breakfasts were fabulous. The accommodations were very comfortable and relaxing. My next trip to the Menomonie area I will be staying at Oaklawn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The stay was lovely. We were well cared for at the same time had privacy. This historic home is preserved with modern details that made our get away comfortable and peaceful.
Also significant, Maggie took into account my food allergies and made sure all was well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We felt right at home at the Oaklawn Inn. Maggie is such a great hostess! We appreciated the personal reviews of area restaurants, the fabulous breakfasts she created for us, and the generous amount of time she spent helping us plan our activities during our stay. She truly did everything she could to make sure we had an enjoyable time in Menomonie.

Room Tip: The photos and descriptions of the rooms on the Oaklawn web site are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We celebrated a friend's birthday in fine style thanks to the help of Maggie the owner of the Oaklawn Inn. Prior to our arrival she made several suggestions for massages, lunch and dinner spots and things to do in general. The inn was comfortable and homey. The breakfast was great. We were treated like very special guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyMurphyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menomonie
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Menomonie Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Menomonie
92 reviews
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
19.8 mi away
The Oxbow Hotel
The Oxbow Hotel
#7 of 25 in Eau Claire
72 reviews
14.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklawn Inn

Property: Oaklawn Inn
Address: 423 Technology Dr E, Menomonie, WI 54751-2300
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Menomonie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Menomonie
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklawn is a historic 128 year-old farm once owned by a lumberbaron where horses were raised and trained. Now, Victorian bed and breakfast with four spacious guestrooms and private baths. Great hot tasty breakfast. Wonderful screened porch offering fantastic sunsets and chorus of peepers. A great location for birdwatching. Free Wi-fi. Just an hour's drive east of Minneapolis/St. Paul. 5 minutes from downtown Menomonie. Near Red Cedar Trail, UW-Stout, Mabel Tainter Center for the Arts, Leinenkugel’s. The area is perfect for biking, antiques, golf and Wisconsin fish fries. Government rates honored. Extended stay options available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing