We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Fry in the Area”
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Menomonie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Fish Fry in the Area”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Atmosphere is loud and sometimes there can be over an hour wait.. However, the fish fry is the best in the area, and it is worth the wait.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good burgers!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

College area. Stopped by on a Monday night in mid-August. Plenty of seating at the tables - the bar was full. There is outdoor seating overlooking the river. It is a lovely view! We sat inside because a storm was coming through. Not too loud. The cheese curds were great and the beer battered fries were better than the crinkle cut. I had a burger with mushrooms on parmesan bread and it was OUT OF THIS WORLD! My fellow diners also had burgers and everyone enjoyed! Good spot to stop for a good bar meal at a reasonable price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YOM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best wings in Menomonie.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Last Wednesday my husband & I went to Waterfront for wings. My husband was very happy with the wings, he sad they were the best he has ever had! There were many different flavors to choose from. We tried: garlic Parmesan, teriyaki, original & Cajun. The service was outstanding & the prices were extremely reasonable. This is definitely a college bar & was very load but the wings & beer fries were awesome!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RhodaYpma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fish Fry and Good Bar”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The Waterfront has the best fish fry in Menomonie (the fried is good, but the baked fish is fantastic). Great burgers also. Service is hit or miss...sometimes it's great and other times it's very slow. The bar is small overall, but there is a nice sized patio overlooking the lake that's great when the weather is nice. The drink specials aren't great, and it can get really crowded on weekend nights. Overall, a solid 4 out 5.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Adequate food, College kid hangout.”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I have been to the The Waterfront many times. It is a place to go with friends when you want to go out to a bar, that has a level of class to it. It is a bar that I would say is in the middle tier. It is not a grimy place but it is not as posh as say Log Jam or Zanzibar. The food is edible and they do have a variety of beers on tap and they do rotate from time to time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ribeyescomerolled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing