We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Motel Of Mequon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mequon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I don't expect much from a 'motel' but this one, I must say was a pleasant surprise. We checked in really late since we attended a wedding that night but the staff were very accommodating and courteous. The rooms were very clean, well stocked, and spaciousness. Plenty of parking is available. Continental breakfast is also served. Talk about full service. Everything was wonderful! The best part of it all, we got it all for a steal on hotels.com.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    44
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
31
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The Chalet Motel may often be overlooked because it is older, and is not a chain. Its way nicer than you may think from just driving by. Yes, its older, but what lacks in modern amenities it makes up for in charm. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The price can't be beat, and I mean it. The price is less than half the price of other hotels in the area.

There is no pool, and don't forget your hair dryer, but there is a large dorm sized fridge and a microwave. The wireless high speed internet is quite reliable. The shower gets quite hot if you want it to and the water pressure is great!!

The community is about the safest community near Milwaukee, the chances of your car being broken into or stolen are slim to none. The highway outside is rarely noisy. The three restaurants within a stones throw of the Motel are all excellent choices.

My only complaint about the Chalet is that the noise really travels through the rooms. I'm here for a very intense class, and I can hear every word the people next door are saying, and I can hear his tv running non stop. No problem, though. I downloaded the white noise app on my iphone. Problem solved.

Again, the price can't be beat and its a very basic, comfortable, and safe place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybrook311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This is my second stay at the Chalet of Mequon. Came back up to visitation to CUW. We booked two king bedrooms and one of the rooms was the same room I stayed in the last time. Once again everything was wonderful. The other mother thought the room was nice and clean and well worth the money. We both will be staying again since our kids will be attending CUW this fall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The Chalet is perfect for someone looking to spend some time in the area without paying $100+. While most mom and pop places are neglected and run-down, the Chalet actually is very well-kept and comfy.

Pros- The rooms are very clean, the location is in a nice area, and the whole place is well-lit and feels really safe. The rooms have wireless, a fridge and a microwave. It is a large Motel with plenty of rooms. The place also has a friendly staff.


Cons- Don't expect as pool or anything too fancy, but it is very nice for an independent motel.

Overall- well worth avoiding the chains and spending some time here.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jackoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Booked two rooms on a Thursday night. One contained a double queen, the other a king. Rooms were very clean, spacious and nicely updated. Rooms were $54/night plus tax which for the quality and location can't be beat. The Best Western was $120+ night (stayed there before, nice but pricey) and the Radisson, on a summer special was $70 (we stayed there too and had some problems). The Motel staff were helpful and friendly. Can't go wrong with the Chalet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emojonation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I have stayed at a lot of fancy hotels in the past 12 months and paid $400-$600 a night. I like good service and comfort. The Chalet offers all the comfort you need at a really fair price.
I would have to say it was the cleanest places I have stayed in the under $200 range.
I have stayed at the newer business hotels nearby and their beds and pillows don't match the comfort of the Chalet. I was really comfortable the entire time. I stayed over a weekend. It wasn't any noisier than other hotels I have visited. I will visit my relatives and stay at the Chalet again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holymooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

What a nice place to stay. Great location, close to everything. Nice people, quiet atmosphere and most importantly clean!! I would definitely stay here again it is such a nice change from the large, impersonal chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mequon
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
2.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Milwaukee North Shore
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee N. Brown Deer/Mequon
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Milwaukee North/Brown Deer
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Milwaukee North Brown Deer/Mequon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Motel Of Mequon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel Of Mequon

Property: Chalet Motel Of Mequon
Address: 10401 N Port Washington Rd, Mequon, WI 53092-5534
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mequon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mequon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chalet Motel Of Mequon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalet Motel Of Mequon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Motel Of Mequon Hotel Mequon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing