We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable room.”
Review of Badger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Badger Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Greendale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable room.”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked a king, non-smoking room a few hours in advance. The big selling point was that the Super 8 room, with my AAA discount, was over $30 less than AmericInn across the street, and AmericInn didn't hav a room I wanted. On arrival, The night attendant was very courteous and explained all the services available. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valuemgr140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake County, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Were in town for a funeral ;( checked into the correct room 2 beds non smoking 1st floor if available. Changed into nice cloths, the Waid Funeral Home was across the street. everything we needed fridge in room, bright enough bathroom,pretty good selection of TV channels except guide said had SOAP NET but SYFY channell was on that station remote has sleep timer. Nice lighted parking lot. After a long drive and wake slept the entire night nice and quiet. Up early for the funeral called for a wake up call (a REAL person answered) Like! Wake up call was rec. Breakfast was fine do have a waffell maker, OJ& another juice, 2 kinds of dry cereal, packaged oatmeal, toast, would of liked yogurt & banannas. Staff was friendly & around. There is a nice looking indoor pool but no time on this trip to enjoy. Is right off of the main road. Gas station, McDonalds close by. Would go back.

Room Tip: No Elevator so if not on 1st floor will ahve to climp stairs inside main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaKBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Besides mechanical issues, like the hallway door not locking, our family experienced our worst nights sleep EVER! The person staying in the room above us walked all night and kept turning the water on and off to the point that our family of four could not rest comfortably. When we brought the issue to the general manager and owners attention they refused to offer any sort of compensation, they were rude and began a personally attack which is when we decided to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in Wisconsin. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmml_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitijoa, General Manager at Badger Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
The guests who stayed did not lodge a complaint to the front desk about any of these problems. instead she wrote a letter and gave it to the front desk at checkout.. We contacted the guest and tried to work with her on a resolution. We offered a free night stay, or a 50% refund. They said no! So they took revenge and wrote an inasty review of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrill hotels

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We arrived at this hotel late in the evening, with a half-flat tire after a long drive. It was a blessed relief. The staff accommodated our request for extra towels and blankets (3 teens). The room was modern, well-maintained and clean. The hotel has a nice pool room with hot tub and sauna. It has nice common areas for sitting and talking, and they are isolated from the rooms so noise doesn't carry. The hotel has a bar attached; it's patrons seemed to be parents from a traveling ball team. I don't know if food is served in the bar. The breakfast offerings could be enhanced. The rate was fair. The neighborhood is fine with shopping and chain restaurants nearby. Good in-room wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbuskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This was supposed to be a King Jacuzzi Suit. The room was the same size as a normal room, no microwave (as advertised on their website), the hot tub didn't work, the AC performed sub par keeping the room too warm and muggy, and the management was very rude. I will likely never stay at another Super 8 ever again. I can't believe they can charge extra/suite rate for this room. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FallCreekDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

The hotel was OK, but needs some updating. The beds were not comfortable and pillows were the awful. Breakfast in the morning is very limited.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler770043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2006

Although the room was clean and the service was friendly and helpful, I thought it overpriced for a very basic room with two double beds in it. Also, I was quoted one price when I booked the room, but when I went to check in, the rate was 7 dollars higher. The bed was only marginally comfortable and the blanket was skimpy, or was tucked in too far under the mattress, but at midnight I didn't want to have to take the bed apart to see what the problem was.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Wordyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrill
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Merrill
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
15.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
21.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
21.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
18.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Hotel

Property: Badger Hotel
Address: 3209 E Main St, Merrill, WI 54452-8957
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Badger Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Badger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrill
Super Eight Merrill
Merrill Super 8
Merrill Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing