We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Name - Still Great Value”
Review of Badger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Badger Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This is the old Super 8 in Merrill WI. I had a clean, comfortable room for a great price. Staff is friendly, and check-in is easy. The Badger is well located just off the freeway, a few steps from great eateries like the Pine Ridge, which has the best breakfast in town, Culvers, and McDonald's. And the Badger has a great lounge, with beer, food, and big-screen TV.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valuemgr140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Badger Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

For the price-range, this was a nice hotel. We were part of an overall larger party who used several rooms between us. All of the rooms were decent - clean with all functional appliances/features/etc., It's 'old-school' as you may expect, complete with Zenith CRT-TV's. Still, a nice enough space.

Coffee/Tea/Hot Water is always available in the lobby, also where the free breakfast is served. Note - The breakfast is VERY minimal (though they do have a waffle-iron), so you may want to plan to supplement elsewhere.

The building feels secure, with side entrances requiring a key-card swipe to get in, and the front desk in the lobby always staffed. Staff were very polite and helpful, as well.

The pool was a bit chilly, and the hot tub was less-than-hot, but still enjoyable. The sauna needed to be turned on about 30 minutes before we wanted to use it to warm up, but that wasn't a huge issue for us.

No real complaints, and I'd definitely stay here again if I needed to be in the area.

NOTE: Train passes nearby in the wee hours of morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennaAndJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed Aug.18 while in Merrill for a family reunion. Our 3-generation family had 2 adjoining rooms on the first floor with 2 doubles in one room and a queen in the other. The hotel is decorated in mauves, green and blue and looks like the 80's. But it is not worn at all. The place is immaculate. I've never been in a cleaner hotel. Had a pool and free breakfast but we didn't utilize them as we were out with family. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No elevator so plan to climb stairs if you're on the second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had a king bedroom. It was very clean and reasonably priced with AAA discount. The night clerk was very friendly and explained all the services available as well as pointing out their bar and grill. Fridge, microwave, extra sink, coffee maker and wireless internet were all included. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was a great find! Looking for an overnight on our way north. Friendly and reasonable. Our room was toward the back upstairs and looked out over woods and was quiet. Nice, clean room with a little fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink. The king room had a recliner. I would recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Badger Hotel in Merrill was a Super 8 but left the former Franchise to facilitate some changes in how they service the customer. This very well priced Motel is clean and friendly. Also has a bar and grill with Pizza made by the owner. I will be checking that out tonight and report back.

Room Tip: The pool area is spotless. Very well attended to.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blue48mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked a king, non-smoking room a few hours in advance. The big selling point was that the Super 8 room, with my AAA discount, was over $30 less than AmericInn across the street, and AmericInn didn't hav a room I wanted. On arrival, The night attendant was very courteous and explained all the services available. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was a good stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valuemgr140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrill
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Merrill
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Merrill
46 reviews
15.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
466 reviews
18.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Hotel

Address: 3209 E Main St, Merrill, WI 54452-8957
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price Range: £55 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Badger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Badger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrill
Super Eight Merrill
Merrill Super 8
Merrill Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing