We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Best part of our stay was leaving. Hotel was run down, but with right management, could have been alot better. There was a certain oppression I sensed in being there, and while it was mid-range in cost, the towels were threadbare and the beds were not as comfortable as many. They did try to be pleasant, so no problem with the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2015
Hello Tillary,

Thanks for Review our Hotel.

We considered your comments and did action on it, as result we changed the Towels and comfertable Beds also LED TV we just installed in all the Rooms.

I hope you will give us a chance to fulfill your expectation.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here three nights due to a family commitment in town. Thought I'd save a few bucks and went for the low rates. Unfortunately you get what you pay for. The continental breakfast was sadly lacking - cold cereal, toast, and day old danish. The bagels were dried out and sorry looking. The room was all right, but the bathroom was not clean. Even after a cleaning, it was not cleaned thoroughly. The walls were quite thin, and we were "entertained" by the nightly activities of our next door neighbor. The pool was closed, so we couldn't even use it. I will spend a few extra dollars next time and upgrade to a nicer place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2015
Hello,

Thanks for Review our Hotel.

We will consider your comments and will take action on it.

From last few months we are updating our Hotel, which will fulfill expectation of our customers.

I hope you will give us a chance to fulfill your expectation.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is my second time staying at this property and it's the rate that brought me back. We try to make a weekend visit to some of our favorite Northern Wisconsin bike trails every summer and it's worth it for me to stay away from the tourist areas, drive in for the day to hike, bike, mini-golf or whatever, and return to our motel in the evening.

The Econo Lodge is convenient to the freeway, right next to a grocery store, gas, and fast food. It's quiet and has an indoor pool and whirlpool at a rate 40% lower than comparable hotels further north.

I don't expect too much from Econo Lodge, and this is a middle-ot-the-pack property for that chain. The desk clerk was efficient and friendly. The outside entrance door does not latch properly, so anyone could enter without a key. I didn't consider that a big deal in Merrill.

Our room was relatively clean, although I saw the need for a vaccum behind the nightstand and desk. This occured while I was looking for an available electrical outlet, of which there are very few. The lights could have been a bit brighter. One bed had a mattress that was OK, and the other bed needed replacement. The towels were relatively new. Everything in the room was in working order, if a bit dated or worn. The "flat screen TV" was actually an old picture-tube model (although technically the screen was flat).

Water pressure in the shower was very good, but the hot water was insanely hot, more so than I've encountered anywhere before. It took a while for hot water to reach our room , so they may have been trying to make up for a lack of supply. We never heard noise from other guests or the nearby businesses.

The pool appeared to be properly maintained. It was a bit cool but not bad. The whirlpool ran from good to a bit hot, and we only saw one other person using it the whole weekend. The reivew form asks about a fitness center, but there is none.

Breakfast was the bare Econo Lodge minimum: coffee (no decaf), 2 cereals, bananas, juice (orange only), bagels (1 kind) and bread (white only). I took one bite from a dried out danish and tossed the rest.

For accommodations alone I might have rated this 2 stars, but for this chain at a low rate they merit 3.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsofDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2015
Hello,

Thanks for Review our Hotel.

We will consider your comments and will take action on it.

From last few months we are updating our Hotel, which will fulfill expectation of our customers, such as LED TV, Beds and Cleaness.

I hope you will give us a chance to fulfill your expectation.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

so ive stayed at alot of places all over and i found this to be reasonably priced and hassel free staff i usually go in pretty tired and like to b left alone...i slept well the cleanliness was ok not great but certainly not the worst....yup i'd do it again....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101katra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2015
Hello,

Thanks for Review our Hotel.

From last few months we are updating our Hotel, which will fulfill expectation of our customers.

I hope you will be happy on next stay with updated services.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just like all others I thought the staff was very helpful and nice. The rooms were clean and the beds were great. However, our room was not "furnished" with a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, or hair dryer. With three kids the fridge was needed during the 90 degree day. The pool and hot tub were dirty, could not let the kids swim. Internet access was unavailable or limited. Plus the signs say this is a smoke free building but multiple times the hallways were filled with smoke. We will not be staying here again. There are nicer places at just the same price just down the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2015
Hello,

Thanks for Review our Hotel.

We will consider your comments and will take action on it.

Yes, Our Hotel is 100% Smoke free but when customer did smoking out side and come inside carry smell of smoke. Anyway we have hall freshner in hall so now no smoke smell at Hallway.

From last few months we are updating our Hotel, which will fulfill expectation of our customers.

I hope you will give us a chance to fulfill your expectation.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I made a mistake with a reservation booking at this hotel and the staff was amazing in helping me fix MY MISTAKE. Emily an employee at the hotel was as I said amazing. She helped me fix a reservation error I made when booking. Next time I visit Merrill, WI I will be staying at this hotel and recommend others to stay here too! When you have an staff so dedicated you know your visit will be nothing but perfect. I would just like to once again say wonderful customer service and thank you for all of your help. I look forward to visiting this hotel and the wonderful staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bre490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for commenting about our staff service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed at ths hotel twice and both times have been awsome. the staff are very friendly very helpful. the rooms were spotless. the pool and hot tub were very well taken care of. these people know how to treat their guests. i go to drill weekend once a month in merrill and this is the only hotel i will stay at. and the only hotel i recomend to people and fellow soldiers. also the price was the best. very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for posting your review, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrill
0.3 mi away
Badger Hotel
Badger Hotel
#3 of 4 in Merrill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
18.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
22.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Rothschild
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
21.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
15.3 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 200 South Pine Ridge Ave., Merrill, WI 54452 (Formerly Pine Ridge Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Ridge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing