We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, clean, well-equipped cabin - great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Buckhorn Lake Cabin in the winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Buckhorn Lake Cabin in the winter
Buckhorn Lake living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Buckhorn Lake Cabin in the winter
Buckhorn Lake
living room
kitchen
Master bedroon main floor
master bedroom lower level
bedroom lower level
bedroom in loft
dinning room
family/game room
cabin in the summer
nearby hike
canoing on lake
tubing on the Black River
Buckhorn Lake
nearby fishing
nearby hike along the Black River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Merrillan, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bonniez84...
Villa Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, clean, well-equipped cabin - great for family vacation”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Buckhorn Lake Cabin was exactly as advertised - clean, comfortable and extremely well equipped (especially the kitchen) for our family vacation which included 11 adults and 2 babies. We loved the area and especially enjoyed going to Wazee Lake to swim in the afternoons. Leah was great to work with and very responsive to any questions. We did not miss tv or electronics and enjoyed talking and playing games together. Lots of great memories made.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well-equipped kitchen which enabled us to make and eat all of our meals together
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mama532
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful serenity and family time”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a beautiful cabin in a very quiet location. At first having 7 kids I was concerned there would not be enough to do, but Leah put my mind at ease. She was always quick to answer questions. We had more than enough room and having no tv or Internet was a big bonus. We read, played games, did day trips everyday, and enjoyed many many ping pong games in the basement. Firepit was lovely, target outside our boys shot at with their bb/air soft guns,bikes, basketball,and so much more. Kitchen had all I needed. We did not use the water access across the street, but it really is not necessary there are so many lakes and bodies of water to play on. We went hiking,tubing down the black river, to Lake Wazee, then rented jet ski on another lake, spent a day at the awesome community center in Black River Falls, and went to and indoor outdoor waterpark with an awesome skating park that the boys could scooter on, and lastly enjoyed horseback riding . Nothing was more than a half hour away. You can't beat the beauty, price, location, serenity, and peacefulness of this home . Oh and we may have had a few nerf wars so forgive me if you find darts 10 years from now. (Our kids ranged from 7-14

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie L
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Family Getaway”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Warm & welcoming, spacious and fun filled. Our family of 11, ages 9 months-60, had a wonderful time enjoying the cabin. The keyboard was my grandson's favorite. He also enjoyed sleeping up in the loft!

The fireplace was cozy and the furniture comfortable. The cabin is filled with books and games and other fun stuff. My granddaughter enjoyed the Lincoln Logs!

Although we did not explore the area, I know how beautiful it is because I live little over an hour from here. My kayak club comes up to the area to kayak Hall's Creek and the Black River. Spectacular beauty and great kayaking!

There is ample parking and everything is well lit. We would definitely come again for a family get together! Leah was extremely accommodating and very prompt with any questions I had. I also felt the price was very reasonable. We plugged the address in our gps and it took us right to the driveway... No problems!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a unique place...filled with interesting games and books...just like home.
Liked least: Only complaint would be no kindling or small wood for fireplace...next time we would bring our own. And only 3 pieces of wood by firepit in back. I think not a problem on owner's side...just a miscommunication with local caretakers.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It makes me smile how our cabin has become a center for families of all generations get together and create life long memories. Leah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DGSoxfan
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent Family Retreat”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Nice big place with plenty of room, 3 levels, lots of elbow room, fab patio stretches out around 2 sides of house, exc. fire pit. Canoe and kayak worthwhile, although not at the site - a few blocks away, not a long distance to take them to, but fun. Comfortable, peaceful place, with water across street and down access drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Orleans
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing