We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely dissappointed”
Review of Devils Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devils Head Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merrimac
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We have a group of friends that get together every year for 4 fun days of golf. The minute we pulled up to the resort we could tell we were sold a bag of goods. We are used to staying in the Brainerd, MN area for our golf trips where the golf courses are in great shape and the resorts are top notch. Needless to say Devil's Head wasn't even close. As other reviews state the rooms are embarassing! The stench in the hallways is almost unbearable. The golf courses appear run down and in need of some attention. It was difficult to tell the fairways from the rough and a majority of the greens were in tough shape. We wondered if they even owned a mower!
The only good thing to share is that the bar staff was outstanding. After diner each night we stopped for a night cap and found a couple of the bartenders to be engaging and fun.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

I have posted a dozen or so photos of the room in the "resort". The photos speak for them self. Do not make the mistake of trying the "fine dinning" experience. I've never had a rib eye steak that lacked any flavor at all like this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 737flyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The condominiums unlike the lodge hotel rooms are top notch!! Granite counter tops in kitchen and baths. Units are huge and if you go to the devil's website they have a 360 view that describes it perfectly with photos. The lodge is rundown and the food mediocre, however we cooked our own meals and let the kids eat at the lodge. The ski lessons were fantastic and the daycare for the little guys was nice bright and looked out at the slopes. Wireless in the condo was very fast and easy to log into.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_of_four-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I booked the most expensive room this "resort" had available, the two suite with Jacuzzi.

I knew something was wrong the instant I entered the "Inn" property. It reminded me more of a 1950s low-rent housing slum then anything else. The carpets are horribly worn out and the elevator is out of some black and white movie.

But the room....Nowhere in the US except the MidWest would our room be listed as a two room suite. The carpets were so dirty and worn out we were afraid to take our shoes off. Small and very old couch complete with holes, and bed cover that we were afraid to touch. Asked to be moved, and after 2 hour wait were moved to the Central lodge room with two double beds. The hallways in the Lodge smell horribly putrid, each level with its unique sense of ancient rot, mildew, and dampness. Using the lower-level hallways, hold your breath, it is that disgusting.

As we were unpacking, my girlfriend saw two WASPS, yes WASPS on her bag and on on the bed. We fled. Do not stay here, do not even think it. Stay at a Motel 6. You will have far greater luxury and better accommodations then this Devil's Head "Resort".

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I agree with the reviews that say this hotel is worn out and in dire need of some renovations. Our stay here was pricey, and the accommodations were poor. Our television (which I had to watch most of the day due to a skiing incident--my fault) had only a scarce amount of channels and was incredibly small and dated. The walls are paper thin, as well. The breakfast buffet at Dante's did not have many options either. For what you pay, one would expect maybe hot pancakes or an omelet station (they have neither). The lobby and hallways smell like an old musty ashtray as well. On the positive side, they did have an entertaining band the evening we arrived. Other than that, expect zero luxury for an expensive stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I_Love_Traveling_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Where to begin...a group of friends decided to plan a weekend ski trip and we reserved 2 rooms in the inn ahead of time. We probably paid over $2,000 between lodging, rentals and a 2-day lift ticket between all of us--not a cheap trip. Skiing was actually fun and we were all at different levels so there were a lot of runs to choose from. The nightmare began after we were done skiing and having a few overpriced and watered-down beverages (served to us by a girl who looked like she wanted to fight us). We ate at the buffet. The buffet was "pasta & pizza" and we didn't even see a pizza until we were about to leave. The pasta was cold and the rest of the selection was fried food. Not impressive.

We were having such a good time just being together that we overlooked the bad dining experience and ventured back to our rooms to call it a night. The rooms smelled and weren't very clean. We went to bed around 10:30 because we wanted to wake up early the next morning and hit the slopes. We had 2 rooms that were adjoining and we left the door open so we could chat with each other. Around midnight, a drunken girl was wondering down the hallway yelling various names at the top of her lungs. This went on for a good amount of time until I finally just drowned out the noise and went to sleep. About a half-hour later, I was startled awake by someone jumping on my bed and laughing uncontrollably. IT WAS THE STRANGER WHO WAS WANDERING THE HALLS! She had pushed open one of our doors, which didn't close correctly and didn't lock--when we thought it was! This girl was in our room, with everyone asleep, for a good amount of time without anyone knowing! Luckily we woke up and called security. The security man had the gall to not believe that the girl was not with us (because we appeared to be about the same age) and it took us yelling at him to take her away. We couldn't believe it! Therefore, the rest of the night we were unable to sleep. The next morning we politely went to the front desk and told them our story. The angry woman at the front desk, Veronica, acted astonished and disappeared for about 15 minutes to "check on it" and claimed she sent security up to check out the door and said there was nothing she could do because it looked fine and there was no manager on duty. Much to our astonishment, she NEVER sent anyone up to the rooms because the rest of our party was up there waiting. My friend then called down to the front desk and called Veronica out on her lie. She then proceeded to yell and call my friend names. When checking out, a manager was the one who helped us (there were actually 2 on duty and Veronica lied to us about that too). The manager acted upset and told us he'd take care of it.

There were plenty of families with young children on our floor and if the situation was a little different, something major could have easily taken place and no one on staff would have cared. My advice: stay at one of the local Days Inn or hotels nearby if you have to come to this place, it will be so worth it. If you have children, don't take this chance!!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Srose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

While the skiing at Devil's Head is really nice, the price they charge for their ski/lodging packages is way out of wack for what they provide. Two nights lodging will cost two adults $400-$450 above the cost of the lift tickets included in the package. Facilities are poor (dingy, dank, smelly)--which I could tolerate at a lower cost. And the meals included in the package I could do without. Though you get a "free" dinner, you pay a gratuity automatically calucated based on menu that lists every meal at $25 or more. (Perkins serves better dinners for 8 bucks; the superpretzels in the ski lodge make a better meal). Next time I want to ski Devil's Head, I'll stay at a hotel nearby. It won't be quite as convenient, but again, 2 adults save a minimum of $200-$250 and get much nicer accommodations. Savings go up w/ more people in your party since hotels charge rates per room and the resort charges per person.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunLifeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrimac
8.2 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
8.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
10.7 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
16.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
970 reviews
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devils Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devils Head Resort

Address: S6330 Bluff Rd, Merrimac, WI 53561-9737
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrimac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merrimac
Price Range: £71 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devils Head Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Devils Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devils Head Hotel Merrimac
Devils Head Resort Merrimac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing