We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addendum to my previous review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madison Marriott West
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Saint Francis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Addendum to my previous review”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

In July I stayed at this hotel and had a very unpleasant experience. Aside from giving it a scathingly bad review here at Trip Advisor, I also wrote to Marriiott's corporate headquarters. The response I received came within a week of my letter being sent, and according to Chris, the manager at the time, Mr. Marriott had requested he handle this issue personally. (I didn't even know there WAS a Mr. Marriott?!?!) His letter was sincere and extremely apologetic. He said new training and standards had been implemented based on my complaint.

He also contacted Priceline ( with whom I'd booked the room) and insisted they refund the total cost of the room. My account was credited within the week. Of course, it would have been easier for me to give a bad review and leave it at that. But because Chris took so much time and care to address my concerns and reimburse me for my stay, I felt it was only right for me to update my previous review.

Sometimes it IS worth it to register a complaint, because the person who ends up with your letter in his hand may be someone who truly believes in exemplary customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyancinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    146
    86
    33
    41
See reviews for
74
49
18
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you are planning a conference in Madison, consider going out a little from the main city and going to Middleton. Clean, friendly and very accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Great atrium hotel
Breakfast buffett extra but awesome and staff is very helpful

Love the property

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavinsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This atrium style hotel (was it an Embassy Suites in a previous life?) is a fine place to stay when you're in the area--right off the Beltline. On checking in, I was told there wasn't an executive lounge for breakfast, so my Marriott Gold status wasn't worth much. Other reviews here say there is such a lounge, on the 10th floor, so I'm a bit confused about that. Maybe because it was Saturday, and they usually close those on Saturday evenings? No big deal, we had breakfast the next day at a local diner that was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I’ve been staying at the Marriott Madison West 4-5 nights a week for about 2 months now on a long term project. It’s a bit above average compared to other hotels in the same category and I haven’t found anything better in the area as far as the major chains go. I spent a month in the Sheraton and switched after one night at the Marriott because it was so much better.
Best feature: Executive lounge on the 10th floor – Susan works there in the evening and is just fantastic. She’s fun, really cool, conscientious, and takes care of everyone who shows up. The evening hors d’oeuvres are generally excellent and sometimes awesome (peel and eat shrimp & crab legs for example – honest!). Sue’s got fantastic desserts and a full honor bar.

Other highlights: rooms are pretty good (big and clean), great atrium, excellent pool. On Wednesdays, the hotel manager has beer and brats on the patio.

Worst features: The elevators have been under construction (upgrade?) for the past few months – waiting for an elevator can be frustrating – expect to wait 5 min or so during morning rush.
Morning breakfasts in the Executive lounge – completely different customer experience in the morning vs. the evening. Scrambled (runny) eggs and oatmeal (soup) are served in “buckets” (really, buckets – wait till you see them, you’ll understand). They stopped offering cold cuts, so no meat. They do have doughnuts, bagels and English muffins, thought. The fruit is really good and fresh; fantastic raspberries and blueberries and good pineapple and melons.
The staff in the Executive lounge is pretty average – it’s tough to compare to Susan’s energy and friendliness, but sometimes the morning folks can be real downers or right down weird. There’s a pretty strong evangelical Christian thing going on at the hotel that can be a bit forward if you’re not comfortable with that. Some of my offshore team members felt really strange when they stayed at the hotel
Hotel restaurant – very mediocre. The food’s edible but so average that it makes the TGIFridays across the street look great. The hotel doesn’t do veggies much unless you count potatoes and iceberg lettuce…

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jecharbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It's hard to believe this is a Marriott property. I actually stay here several times per month but this last time will be my last. Although the staff is generally friendly & professional, their competence is questionable. The hotel gives the impression that it is too large for its operating budget. The linens are old and tired (holes in the sheets & duvet covers, limp towels, some with stains). I am a platinum member of Marriott and am always booked into a King room. This time, they put me in a room with 2 doubles. I immediately changed rooms and the TV did not work. I then plugged my laptop into the lamp and it made a loud "pop" and blue sparks came out. All of the power in the room was then knocked out. This is unacceptable, as the wiring in that lamp was obviously faulty. I was lucky my computer was not fried. The last straw came when I killed a large fly in the room with the first thing I could grab, which was the paper breakfast menu. I then crumpled the menu and threw it away. The next day, the housekeeper had removed the menu from the garbage can and placed it on my pillow. Outrageous. Anyone that would think this is acceptable service is out of their minds. I will not stay here again and do not recommend it for business travelers. During a single stay, I have never heard so many staff say, "I apologize for that". Sorry isn't enough, I'll be trying the Hilton Garden Inn next time. Good service speaks for itself and does not require apologies.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
84094
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Wish there had been other choices for breakfast that were cheaper than the restaurant. Also - atrium hotels - (many stories in a circle surrounding ground level lobby) - are problematic as when there are parties or events the sound wafts up from the lobby to the rooms.

They also need elevators to be repaired quickly. Many times I walked up five flights (I need the exercise) while waiting for the one lone elevator with others. They did make the freight elevator available in a pinch.

Additionally, wireless service needs to be free in room. It's a pain to have to pay $13 a day or schlep down to the business center to look at work email for free.

Room service and housekeeping was stellar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Madison West/Middleton
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Marriott West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Marriott West

Property: Madison Marriott West
Address: 1313 John Q Hammons Dr, Middleton, WI 53562-3502
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Marriott West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Madison Marriott West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Madison West Hotel Middleton
Marriott Hotel Middleton
Marriott Middleton
Middleton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing