We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably worst night's sleep ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed 24 May 2011

If you learn one thing about this hotel it is that the atrium design of all rooms wrapping around a open core together with hard reflective surfaces means every noise in public areas travels loud and far. On Sat. night, several very loud and young sounding voices flooded the atrium core with screaming and yelling well into the night. Had fits falling asleep until I decide to turn A/C fan on high to drown out the noise and that was at nearly 1am. Why the hotel staff never intervened is a mystery.

Internet access in rooms is $9.95/day (gosh that's not $10!). Not mentioning there is a cost on Hyatt website and merely that there is access is mean spirited.

Exercise facility is not grand but there are a variety of 10-12 LifeFitness machines. Plenty of towels on hand.

Upholstered chair in room unlikely to fit any body type but misc pillow on bed used for back support while seated. Desk chair nice.

Had to ask 3 times to get light over bedstand table replaced. I hate having to perform room inspections upon arrival :(

Toilet seat in room ridiculously low. Don't understand why, but anyone with mobility issues may have a difficult time standing up.

Very convenient location to several public arenas but generously speaking this is on west edge of downtown not in downtown area. Plenty of vacant lots and closed up storefronts in the neighborhood. Be wary of accessing parking garages when prior to or just after an event as you'll be lines to get in or out.

Lastly, an item to sum up why good but not great - on elevators, the selection light for the lobby floor was burnt out or malfunctioning on the left side of one and possibly two elevators. How many employees and most importantly managers must ride that every day and yet never bother to get it attended to.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_LGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

Very good facilities for mid to large conference events. All rooms overlook a large atrium space where you can gauge conference events from just outside your room. Decent restaurant in the main lobby with very helpful and friendly staff. Location is not bad either, close to many of the bars on Water Street and 3rd, unfortunately unless you are staying in Milwaukee for the weekend, the downtown is dead until Thursday/Friday.

Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is a great downtown property to stay at. Across the street from US Cellular stadium (Bucks NBA). It has affordable rooms; very trendy design. Fitness center is great! Affordable valet parking; on-the-ball staff. Bathroom was a little tight (small) for me, but I can live with that. Only a few blocks from the lakeshore. I'll return here!

Room Tip: any
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pverda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I feel as though I could almost copy & paste a review from a few weeks ago while staying at the Hyatt Regency in Minneapolis. Again, we caught a great deal on Priceline for a weekend stay while covering a concert in Milwaukee. This is a standard Hyatt Regency - nice, clean, mostly up to date full service hotel. Yes, this is a full service hotel - so you won't find free breakfast, free internet, parking, etc. But you will find a great property, professional staff, lovely rooms & GREAT beds. Our check in was very efficient & the request for a king room was issued with no problem - which I always appreciate, understanding that when you Priceline a room, you often take what you get. Kudos to the staff for not treating us any differently than a walk in customer.

The common areas are great & the atrium design (much like an Embassy Suites) could allow for some noise, but we enjoyed it. The lounge area was nicely updated & a fun place to grab a drink or snack. Unfortunately the full service restaurant is entirely closed at this time - which also lent a bit of a "dated / neglected" feel to the property despite rooms & common spaces being updated. No fear though - you are in the middle of downtown Milwaukee with lots of great eating/drinking/nightlife options within easy walking distance.

Like any full service hotel, parking is a little on the pricey side. We found an easy ramp adjacent through a skywalk for about half the price of self park. Also, internet is a bit pricey in the rooms but free in the common areas which worked for us. In fact, from the front half of our room facing the atrium we were able to pick up the free WIFI from common areas =) One note for families / kids - there is no pool at this property.
Overall if you can catch a good rate at this property it is a nice place to stay in the heart of downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaGuy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I recently stayed at the Hyatt for a Brewers/Cubs baseball game. The hotel is only 4 miles from the stadium and is in a GREAT location. It is close to the interstate.

The river is within view from the room and is very pretty to look at. Water Street (the heart of Milwaukee and the nightlife) is only a few blocks away. Well within walking distance.

Pros: Good views, close to the river, close to Water Street, close to Miller Park, close to Miller Park, speedy check-in, small bathroom.

Cons: You could hear the running water and movement from the room above. $20 for self-parking and difficult to locate your car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up for the best view.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIP7844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Upon arrival, the bell hops were absolutely charming...Front desk employees were
in a "conference" with each other and acted bothered by having to check us in. No smiles there! Then we noticed a table with cookies, fruits, soft drinks and water sitting in front of the business center. We headed over, and, because there was no sign, nor anyone working or standing by the station took a cookie and walked on to the elevator.
One of our group walked over and by this time a hotel employee had appeared behind the table and told the guest that the refreshments were set out for a team and not other guests!
We all had purchased the "Club" membership which allowed us to enter a club room
on floor 18 and there seemed to be endless cookies. We spoke with some other
guests who were also shooed away by the employee. If only certain elite atheletes were
being treated to these, you would think the hotel would have put the table in a side room or placed a sign on this stash of goodies! We began to realize that the only friendly
employees were bellhops and cleaning crews. We have always stayed at Hyatts in other cities, and have not noticed such raw treatment of guests...The room was extremely small and the bathroom was tiny!!!!!
Hilarious that there was complimentary water for $3.00 a bottle in the room!
Then we went to the "Club Room" for refreshments and the employee working there
was frazzled and unfriendly too.
We won't go back...there are too many other wonderful hotels in Milwaukee that welcome guests with open arms and do not snap at them! We paid too much for this to hear an employee snap at guests for taking a cookie or an apple. There were not many guests staying during our stay, so one would think they would be treated well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hope2Enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I have stayed at this Hyatt a few times and never had a problem with the hotel. The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. The location is perfect for downtown Milwaukee. Very close to the sports arenas and many restaurants all within walking distance.

Last visit was a very large comic book type convention that caused a lot of caos on the second floor. The rooms all open up to an open air type set-up overlooking the lobby and the noise from the convention would sometimes be a bit much, but it was a one time issue and other visits have never had a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,901 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,095 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Address: 333 West Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203-1507
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: £84 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee is the premier hotel and meeting center in downtown Milwaukee with all the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining. A magnificent 18-story atrium welcomes you to 481 guestrooms, including 18 suites, complete with high-speed wireless Internet access. Business travelers can enjoy easy access to many of downtown Milwaukee's most exciting sites and prominent businesses making the Hyatt Regency an ideal setting for business or pleasure. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, numerous restaurants, sports arenas, museums and the theatre district all within walking distance. With more than 26,000 sq ft of T1 equipped function and meeting space is perfect for any occasion. When it's time for dining, enjoy American cuisine on site in a relaxed atmosphere at Bistro 333, or experience Bar 333, where craft beers and cocktails are our specialty. Unwind in our new Hyatt Stay Fit 24 hour fully equipped fitness facility. Hyatt Regency Milwaukee...Experience a unique combination of amenities and unsurpassed service, as only Hyatt can deliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing