We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cork & Clever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Airport
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cork & Clever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Okay so I am staying in this Hotel and they have a Great Restaurant and Bar which was amazing my Bartender was Kasey she was outstanding this is the kind of Bartender you want always and I got to meet the Chef Dennis he made the most Amazing " RUBEN " get there and try it thanks to these two they made my stay Excellent !!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a great comment on our restaurant and
lounge. I will share your comments with the employees. We are not the typical Hotel
restaurant. You should try our Holiday Brunches. They are great. The next one is
Thanksgiving.. Spend a weekend at the Clarion Hotel. We have great rooms
and a friendly Front Desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    117
    95
    46
    24
See reviews for
106
122
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is literally across the street from the airport and right next to the I94 on ramp. The service is great. The room was very spacious, but smelled a hair musty. Got free drink coupons with dinner in the restaurant. Dinner was very good. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. With our remodeling going on, we can only get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Clarion Hotel Airport on S. Howell Ave. is by far the closest hotel to Milwaukee's Mitchell Int'l. Airport; it's within walking distance and one could walk the few blocks if only there were sidewalks to walk on~! But the Clarion runs a free shuttle van to and from the airport, so there's no problem getting there and back. It's a decent, basic business class hotel with good wi-fi (I didn't use the business center); and it was good to have a refrigerator in the room (which I used) as well as a microwave oven (which I didn't). The only problem in my room was that the heater was so loud that it was hard to sleep with it on, so I had to turn it off in order to fall asleep. The nice thing is that the windows in my room opened and had screens on them, and had it been warmer weather, I'm sure I would have opened them. I can't really comment on the complimentary breakfast, having come down too late to really take advantage of it, but it looked very basic, though the muffin I had was quite good. There would be no reason to stay here except for its close proximity to the airport, but if you need to be close to Mitchell International, this is a good bet. On the other hand, if you want to see the city and you don't have a car, stay downtown, because taxicab fares downtown could run you $30 or more each way. I was staying here for an event -- my high school reunion -- which was held in the big ballroom downstairs, which was a standard facility for such events; the food was decent if unremarkable. Other than the loud heater, a decent place to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have views of anything interesting, but you're better off with a room on an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savvyworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel using Priceline for a business trip. It was not cheap, in fact I paid $20 more than I normally do when staying at the Sheraton in Brookfield. When checking in I requested a room close to an entrance. The front desk went to great lengths to inform me (THREE TIMES) that "because of your room price level" this is the best we can do. I then had to walk about a mile to get to my room. It appeared that they went out of their way to punish me for using Priceline. As if they WOULD have gotten me a room closer to an entrance if I had paid a higher rate. Here's a tip for you, hotel people: I try out hotels for the first time using Priceline. If I get great service and it's a great hotel I will specifically re-book directly with the hotel for future trips. But if it's not good I don't return. The room I had was recently remodeled and comfortable. If it were not for the attitude of the staff I would return. As it is, I won't. A simple request of getting a room that I didn't half to walk a mile to get to should have been simple to provide. The room I received was about as far away as possible. If you are going to do that to people, DONT tell them three times that it's because they used Priceline. I didn't save that much money to justify such a snooty attitude.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thebirdguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Clarion airport hotel is an older property, with some updated rooms. I was lucky to have one of the updated rooms, and overall had a good night's rest for a two night stay (with just some noisy people returning from a wedding held at the property). The price was good, using Bill Shatner's favorite web site, but I would not have wanted to pay regular price.

the room upgrades were nice, but the hotel needs more than just the upgrades to some rooms. For example, the upgraded room had nice fixtures in the bathroom, a nice TV, desk, etc. Yet the HVAC system appeared to be from the 1960's. A window AC unit permanently installed in the wall, with baseboard heating. I am glad I didn't stay in the summer with that AC unit, which was not up to a Clarion standard, something you would expect in a smaller motel.

B'fast was coffee/tea and donuts, plus some fruit. One morning the donuts were joined by some muffins. Looked like they ran to Dunkin Donuts. If you just need something close to the airport, there are other options, but this is OK.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikojm, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Ndalum,
Thank You for staying with us on your recent visit to Milwaukee. We are in the middle of remodeling rooms and our halls start next week. On your next trip to Milwaukee I am hopeful you will be able to try our Restaurant for breakfast if you are looking for something more than our pastries, juice and coffee in the morning.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
412 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our flight was cancelled last minute and we were put up by UA at the Clarion Hotel. The staff was extremely accommodating and understanding of our predicament. We had a room on the first floor, which I am NOT a fan of, but we couldn't hear anything but ourselves once we closed our door. The room was a bit small, but not as small as some 2Q rooms I've stayed in. The biggest complaint I had was that our room smelled. There was a damp underlying smell when we walked in our door--it was the smell of dirty socks. It didn't go away when we turned on our fan and assailed us every time we walked into our room. I wish I could say it was our dirty laundry from a 6 day trip, but I know it wasn't. Other than that, the hotel was fine!

Room Tip: Plan on getting something at the airport....they only offer coffee, juice and donuts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahbears_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikojm, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Hannabears-Mom,
Thank You for staying with us on your short delay in Milwaukee. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping staff to reach our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. We are in process of remodeling rooms and our public areas to also keep our guest satisfaction towards the 100% goal. Next time you are in town I hope you will have a chance to try our Restaurant for Breakfast, lunch or Dinner.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently held our wedding here and could not have asked for a more perfect venue. I had a picture in my mind of what I wanted and Rindy helped make every detail come true! If anything went wrong... I had no idea. We had the night of our lives and will absolutely make sure we tell everyone that if they're trying to pick a venue to look at the Clarion. 5 star service from start to finish! Everything was AMAZING!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
I am happy that we made it possible for you to have the PERFECT wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#25 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Airport
Address: 5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207-6114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a full-service hotel facility located conveniently across from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, just minutes south of the Downtown/Lakefront districts, and from Interstates 94/43. Featuring 180 tastefully-appointed guestrooms and suites, nearly 18,000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet space, and spacious, complimentary open-air parking, The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a premier choice for both the business and social traveler coming to Milwaukee! Guest amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, complimentary WI-FI, dining in our acclaimed Cork 'N Cleaver Restaurant and Lounge, long-term parking options, a 24-hour business center, a deluxe indoor pool complex, and complimentary 24-hour health club access to the on-site Sweeney's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing