We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Airport
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I expected more”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is tired. It's dated and worn but in a good location to the airport. My room is sparsely appointed and has a 70's feel. My chairs are so spring worn I can't reach the table that serves as a desk. I called the front desk for an office chair and, after a search, was told there were none. So now I have 3 pillows in the chair so I can reach the table. Not a bad hotel but I won't be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am sorry to hear about this. Please accept my apologies. Please contact me at the hotel, and I would like a chance to rectify this.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    121
    99
    61
    34
See reviews for
113
132
36
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The rooms were great, clean, and comfortable. We stayed here after Oshkosh Air Show, and there was no better place to rest at than this hotel and then pick up some delicious food at the hotel bar. Chris is great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matttfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the comments. We look forward to seeing you on the next visit.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a return trip for me and there are many things that I like about this location. One is the on-site restaurant/bar Cork and Cleaver. This is good choice for food and drinks, including the free cocktail vouchers. The king bed was very comfortable the A/C unit was new and operated great.

On the downside this location is in need of a makeover as ti is just showing its age some and out of date, but it is pretty well kept.

The room also included a voucher for a free breakfast in the restaurant which I didn't have time to use so I took advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast.

I would return again when in this area of Milwaukee or flying into the airport.

Room Tip: Third floor room away from the airport was surprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MessNmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for the comments. We have just completed a renovation of all the hallways, and a portion of the rooms. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had an enjoyable stay for a 3 day weekend while attending Germanfest. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Summerfest park using Hwy. 794. Booked the hotel on Priceline, and they gave us a double-bed room on the first floor which had been recently renovated. The hallways have also been recently updated, so the comments about the hotel appearing run down no longer apply.

The reception desk staff and housekeeping staff were all courteous and friendly. Didn't really get to sample the free "breakfast" in the lobby, because there were several large groups staying there, and they pretty well cleaned everything out by 8:00 AM. There is a Denny's restaurant right up the street, and a Perkin's restaurant about a mile away, and plenty of fast food places nearby.

The room was very quiet, with no airplane noise from the airport, unless you open the window. Mitchell Airport does offer a viewing area to watch the airport operations, with a radio station you can tune into to listen to the tower communications.

The only negative I have about the hotel is that, like all other hotels in the Soviet Republic of Wisconsin, they do not offer smoking rooms, so you have to go outside of the lobby to smoke.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxydrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your remarks. As you stated, the Clarion has just recently finished a large renovation throughout the hotel. We are very happy you noticed and commented on that. Thank you again, and look forward to your next stay with us.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The staff is courteous, and very helpful. Place is clean and efficient. Cannot say enough good things.
Would return when back in Milwaukee.
Food was outstanding...portions were huge.
Thanks to housekeeping and all staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eflaisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate all the good things you stated about the Clarion. We try to take pride in all aspects of the day at the Clarion. We look forward to your next visit.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Food,accomodations, staff, etc. we're great! Would highly recommend this hotel. The chef, serving staff, front desk staff, etc. were great. I have never felt as comfortable at a hotel as i have here! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks. We were very pleased to have your conference stay at the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center. We look forward to your future stays.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and found everything to be okay except for our smelly room. Fortunately, we could always open a window and give it a good airing. Unfortunately, with the window open you will have substantial airplane noise in the early a.m. Management did offer another room and did try unsuccessfully to solve the problem. My mistake in not taking them up on their new room offer.
Their free continental breakfast was very basic. Nothing hot and a very limited selection of fruit and yogurt.. No cereal.
We didn't try the restaurant because of the major lack of patrons.
Okay for the price but I wouldn't hurry back.

Room Tip: Avoid any room with a rank smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I apologize for the odor problem with the room. I would ask that you please contact me directly at the hotel, 414-481-2400 so we can discuss this further. We would like to come to a resolution so that you would be willing to stay at the Clarion again.

Thank you
Joel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Milwaukee Airport
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Milwaukee Airport
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#23 of 56 in Milwaukee
227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Airport
Address: 5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207-6114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a full-service hotel facility located conveniently across from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, just minutes south of the Downtown/Lakefront districts, and from Interstates 94/43. Featuring 180 tastefully-appointed guestrooms and suites, nearly 18,000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet space, and spacious, complimentary open-air parking, The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a premier choice for both the business and social traveler coming to Milwaukee! Guest amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, complimentary WI-FI, dining in our acclaimed Cork 'N Cleaver Restaurant and Lounge, long-term parking options, a 24-hour business center, a deluxe indoor pool complex, and complimentary 24-hour health club access to the on-site Sweeney's Gym. The swimming pool is currently under renovation, alternative swimming options are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing