We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Would not Recommend” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not Recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

I stayed here for 2 days with son. I would not advise staying here. The price was ok, and good location (very close/walking distance to mall, and Museum.) The free parking was nice. Service was terrible (phoned for extra blanket did not rec'v). Room none too clean. My camera went missing from the room. Phoned the housekeeping supervisor and hotel manager. Both said they would get back to me. Left another 2 messages that were never returned. Watch your things closely if you stay here. I guess you cannot expect the staff to be honest when the management is not. Shame on them.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — digital camera was taken during housekeeping
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lhtinwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsweiler, Asst. GM at Ramada Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 22 April 2008
Ownership response to: “Would Not Recommend” review. Both the Room Attendant and Donna, the Housekeeping Manager searched the room as soon as they were contacted by the guest and could not find the camera. Donna, the Housekeeping Manager, told the guest at this point, “That she would call the guest back if anything turned up later”. The guest called and talked to John Pena, the Operations Manager and he called the guest back after he found out that the camera could not be found. The Room Attendant that cleaned the room has worked at the hotel for 7 years and has always been honest. The hotel has always had a very good record in returning lost items. The hotel has electronic locks, which have been known industry wide to reduce employee theft in rooms and in our case has virtually eliminated theft on the part of our employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    140
    235
    190
    163
See reviews for
149
184
61
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RoadTripper504
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

If you'e looking for a reasonably priced place to crash after a night out on the town or after a Bucks/Brewers/Marquette game this is an ideal place. Nothing that's going to blow you away but nothing that's going to disgust you either-2.5 stars is about right. And when you factor the price, free parking and location it gets a bump.

Pretty clean but older.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripper504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

I stayed at the property for business and let me tell you this is the worst place that I have stayed at all year. The rooms were dirty and had cigarette burns in the chairs. The "Air Conditioning" would work for a little while and then start pumping out heat for some reason. Every morning there would be a car in the parking lot that's car alarm would go off between 6 - 6:30AM. The only plus to this hotel was the parking was free, I can see why because everything else was terrible.

  • Liked — Parking was free
  • Disliked — Everything else was terrible
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler4Work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

near Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2007

Stayed here with teenagers in April 2006 for a national competition. The other coach booked these rooms because of the excellent prices and close proximity to the competition site (whose hotel was out of our budget). The hotel itself is safe and convenient, if perhaps a little dingy. There was a biker convention in the hotel at the same time we were, making the restaurant a little crowded, so we ate out (and Milwaukee has plenty of great restaurants!). Kids did get tired of being panhandled every time they walked past the Greyhound station. A decent buy for the money, with plenty of free parking and a convenient location, but you might want to check out a couple of other places for comparison.

  • Liked — Inexpensive and convenient location
  • Disliked — Sort of dumpy
  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnONymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

This property is located right downtown. Other reviewers have mentioned the bus depot, however that was across the street, and I didnt have any problems regarding noise. The room was excellent, with a brand new pillowtop mattress. The tv was a 27 inch model with an expanded selection of channels. The wireless internet worked seamlessly. There is an outdoor pool, excercise room, restaraunt, and little bar.

The thing that impressed me the most was that I left my phone charger in the room. Two days later as I was passing back through town I stopped to see if they found it. It was right there waiting for me, in a little plastic bag with the room number and date written on a little piece of paper. Saved me $20!

For the $89 plus tax rate this is a good choice if you need to be in downtown Milwaukee.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Chitraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2006

Since we paid $50 a night on Priceline, I didn't go into this hotel stay expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised! The room was clean, bed very comfortable, lots of hot water, staff was helpful and the free parking was a big bonus. We were on the 6th floor facing the rear of the building and therefore didn't hear any of the Grayhound noise others complained about. The location was great... right off 94 and within a mile of tons of excellent restaurants (try African Hut on Old World 3rd!) and bars. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2005

We stayed at Ramada Downtown Milwaukee when visiting in August. We had a great experience! The room was spacious and the staff was very helpful. Free parking was a big bonus downtown. The hotel restaurant served a great dinner not typical in hotel restaurants. We will stay at Ramada everytime we visit Milwaukee!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#36 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milwaukee Downtown
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
#41 of 54 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 633 W Michigan St, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown, in the heart of downtown Milwaukee, is known for its exceptional value, family friendliness, and outstanding customer service. With onsite FREE parking and close to freeway ramps for all Interstate directions, it is within walking distance to the Convention Center, the performing arts and cultural theatre district, Harley Davidson Museum, the IMAX theatre, the Milwaukee Public Museum, the Shops of Grand Avenue, and Marquette University. Ramada is near everything the city has to offer. Minutes away are great attractions, including Potawatomi Casino, the Milwaukee Brewers' Miller Park, the famous Calatrava Art Museum, the beautiful Domes of the Mitchell Park Conservatory, the Milwaukee County Zoo, and Wisconsin's exciting State Fair Park. Along the nearby lakefront shore of Lake Michigan is ethnic Henry Maier Festival Park, the home to Summerfest, Polish Fest, and German Fest, to Festa Italiana, Mexican Fiesta, and African World Festival, to Irish Fest and Pride Fest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ramada Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Milwaukee City Centre Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing