We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like a Rock Star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Walker, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“Felt Like a Rock Star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My family crawled out of packed SUV after a 6 hour drive and were welcomed with big smiles from the Valet to the Front Desk. Everyone was very helpful and accomadating. I needed a newspaper for my mother at 10pm someone opened the gift shop. We needed plates and silverware for birthday cake, no problem room service brought them right up. Everyone should take customer service lessons from the Pfister, they made my family feel like rock stars! Thank you again Pfister, we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Well, if you felt like a rock star, that means we did our job well. We are so happy that you received, in the words of a rock star, "Satisfaction." We cannot wait to have you again with us, hopefully sooner than later.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    329
    85
    36
    25
See reviews for
375
688
69
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Pfister is our go-to hotel in Milwaukee, whether we're in town for business or pleasure. We learned the hard way after our first stay to request a Tower room because the rooms in the old part of the hotel can be cramped and noisy. Otherwise, the historic lobby is beautiful and has a great bar - an excellent meet-up spot - and the dining room is grand. Sunday brunch in the dining room has scaled back somewhat since we first started coming here and is not a great value given the more limited selection now. Room service has always been prompt and delicious with enormous portions, and other service is also quite good. I've also had several good meals at the Mason Street restaurant. Blu bar upstairs has a beautiful view and caters to a younger crowd than mine at nights. The only thing I miss at the Pfister is a minibar, though there are a few snacks provided for a price in the room. All in all, a fine hotel that we continue to return to often.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel can be small and noisy. Request a Tower Room, but one that is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
376 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

had a great time at this hotel...within walking distance of river walk and a mile from the Public museum which we did walk to. Beautiful lobby and rooms were very nice. Good Ethiopian restaurant around the corner (to be later reviewed). This hotel reminds me of the Lenox Hotel in Boston. I am impressed. The staff was also great and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Happy to hear that your found everything so convenient and local in the respect to the hotel. Please don't hesitate to visit Milwaukee, and the Pfister Hotel again soon.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago, and honestly I'm writing the review now because I STILL think about the bed in the room we stayed in. My boyfriend, sister, her boyfriend and I went to Milwaukee for a few days to visit my brother. My brother arranged the rooms, as I had never been to Milwaukee before and I had no idea what was a good part of town, let alone what a good hotel would be.

The hotel is gorgeous. The lobby is lush; it sort of reminds me a bit of the over-the-top grandeur of the Overlook hotel in The Shining. Complete with bronze lions at the base of the curving staircase leading up to the rooms (don't worry there are elevators too). We were in what looked like an older part of the hotel; the hallways were dated, but again, in a sort of luxuriously old way. The rooms, however, were in no way dated. We had a sort of little alcove where our room door and my sister's room door was in a recess in the hallway, so we were somewhat secluded from the rest of the hall. We had a King room, and it was amazing. Our room was a corner room, so two of the walls were windows floor to ceiling. It wasn't a gigantic room, but it was tastefully (and lushly) furnished, complete with the most comfortable pillowtop mattress I have ever in my life slept on. Seriously, I actually made inquiries when we left as to where they go their matresses.

There were comfy bathrobes, the bathroom was fantastic, and everything just had that air of being a bit higher class. The big, heavy comforter on the bed was amazing, and everything was spotless.

I honestly don't remember eating at the hotel... But we did eat not too far from there (Carnivore), which was also fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel. The only reason it's not 5 stars it's because it's pretty expensive. But I'd say if you can spend it, it's worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LabMonkeyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Wow, seems like we may have made a lasting (resting) impression on you. I am so happy to hear that you had an amazing rest and enjoyed the hotel so thoroughly. I really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience in such a detailed manner with other travelers. Thank you so much, and we really look forward to having you with us again very soon.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
371 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a beautiful historic hotel downtown, and I definitely would stay here on any visit to Milwaukee. The rooms are tastefully decorated, well appointed and very comfortable. I highly recommend it.

The only thing that went wrong, and only on this second visit, is that room service consistently messed up our orders. They messed up our breakfast twice and dinner once. They kept writing off the charges, but it was a bit odd and annoying that they could not seem to get it right.

Room Tip: The hotel is circular, so all rooms have outward-facing windows. The ones with lake views have part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
What a truthful review. Thank you for mentioning how you enjoyed the hotel. I do apologize that you experienced some issues with you in room dining experience. We can humbly admit, that we too run into bumps in the road, and we appreciate that you voice your opinion to us, and let us know so that we may remedy the issues as fast as possible to ensure your next stay is perfection. We look forward to having you back with us, and thank you.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is what hotels were and should still be. A truly wonderful experience. The hotel is a throwback to elegance of another era. We stayed in a king suite in the historic portion of the hotel. The room is spacious and comfortable. Amenities are of the best quality.
You have to visit the lobby lounge. Have a cocktail by the fireplace and enjoy the great service and atmosphere.
I can't recommend this hotel more highly. The best hotel in Milwaukee. No offense to the Hyatt or the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splisken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for the spectacular review, we really love hearing that our guest love the old world charm of our hotel. Surprisingly enough, we will actually be celebrating 119 years next month. Please do visit us again soon, we would love to have you.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Wow! What an amazingly wealthy city Milwaukee must have been at one point in time! This hotel is a testament to that bygone era of astounding prosperity.

The valet/bellman is a very nice and solicitous chap and Tracy on the front desk is a delight. Their hard work and their dedication to good customer service was obvious throughout my short stay.

Be warned that there appear to be maintenance issues in some of the guestrooms, but as long as you can live with them, then you should be happy enough with your stay at the Pfister. Try to get a room in the original section of the hotel as opposed to the tower unless you desire a room with a view or you need the extra silence that one can get by being a bit higher up in the air.

Self-parking in the garage across the street from the hotel, in the building with the Irish pub Blackthorn on the corner, is $10 per day less than parking in the hotel's garage. If you don't mind using a ground lot or parking a few blocks away and walking to the hotel, then you can score parking for even less than either the $15 demanded by the garage across from the hotel or the $25 for self-parking in the hotel's garage. I paid $10 per day, but had I walked another block or two, for a short four or five block walk to the hotel in total, I could have enjoyed $8 daily weekend parking in the garage where the Wells Fargo bank is located on the corner of Wisconsin and Water if I recall correctly. The front desk informed me that you can't park on the streets of downtown Milwaukee overnight without risking being ticketed or towed. Something to remember in the event that you decide to stay at the Pfister or another hotel in downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Yes, Milwaukee in it's golden era was a very wealthy city indeed, and local tycoons gave us great historic gifts, which we still cherish today. Such as the Pfister Hotel, which was a gift to the city from Guido Pfister a local leather tanner. With this appreciated comes age, and as you mentioned, we are doing some extensive renovations to the historic building as we speak, to keep the grand dame in tip-top shape.

Please do visit us again soon, and thank you again for your review.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing