We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Style Elegance and Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old Style Elegance and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We've stayed at the Pfister several times and love it more with every stay. It's beautiful and comfortable and the service just can't be beat. The staff is so friendly and helpful, if you ever do have a problem they fix it quickly and with a smile. And I mean every member of the staff you encounter, from the front desk, valets, housekeeping, to the room service people. Will, the guy who took my room service orders, was a sweetheart. The food is excellent--in the lobby bar, the cafe, the Mason Street Grill and room service. Room service breakfast came with a beautiful pink rose on the table. Make sure to have a drink in the Lobby Lounge (and gape at the gorgeous painted ceiling), and also Blu if you can. The view is great and the room is so comfortable. Delicious cocktails.

The rooms have old fashioned elegance, and while some people may see a bit of wear and tear, to me it just adds comfort. The rooms are spotlessly clean. One word of warning- all suites, though they be classed the same, are not identical. Last year our suite had the bathroom between the bedroom and living room with closing doors on each end. Last weekend we had a suite with a bathroom inside the bedroom. This is somewhat inconvenient with three people.

Last year I did use the spa and it was fantastic. The pool is nice with a great view of the city, but I do wish they had a hot tub. All in all, this is one of my favorite hotels and it's actually worth a trip to Milwaukee just for a little break at the Pfister. It does get really crazy on Saturdays because of weddings, so if you possibly can, stay on Sunday or during the week. The atmosphere is much more relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBelleChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you so much for that amazingly detailed response. I am personally happy to hear that you were comfortable in your surroundings. Please do visit again soon, we can't wait to have you.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    325
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
371
681
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The renovation of the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee, WI is amazing! The collection of Victorian art is one of the best in the world. But more exceptional than these two previous statements, the staff is the best we have ever encountered! It is a wonderful experience to be their guests.

Room Tip: We had a king suite on the second floor and it was perfect for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSKWilmette_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
That is what we love to hear! Your comments speak volumes to us, and make us want to continue that amazing customer service that we wish every guest that walks in our doors to receive. Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have your group with us.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Pfister is the epitome of old-world elegance in a cookie-cutter world of hotels. Unique and beautiful. We stayed in the "old" or historical part of the hotel. Just beautiful. Our room was huge, well-appointed and loved the black and white bathroom and walk-in closet. Staff at the hotel were friendly, courteous, eager to make our stay the best possible and that included everyone from the front desk staff to the bartender at the hotel lobby bar to the building services staff in the hallways. Loved the drink the bartender came up with when I asked for an after-dinner drink and didn't know what to order. The Nutty Irishman was awesome! Loved having Starbucks and a snack in The Cafe, as well as breakfast. Saw some local celebrities and a NBA star. You just never know what you're going to see or experience at the Pfister! Can hardly wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay in the old or original part of the hotel. Try to get a room that does NOT face Wisconsin Avenu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSmithMenomoneeFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you so much! It's always great to hear that guests really enjoyed their stay. We strive to convey our historic elegance and luxury, just as Guido Pfister imagined when he broke ground over 100 years ago. Please do visit us again soon.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Pfister is our favorite hotel in Milwaukee and we went there to celebrate our birthdays. The manager stopped by our room to check on us, found out it was our birthday, came back within a few minutes with bottle of champagne, dessert plate with lit candles, while she and her staff sang Happy BIrthday to us! We had a wonderful breakfast at The Cafe also enjoyed Blue for beautiful views of the city and wonderful wine. Location is great where there are several places to shop and stop for a cocktail. We look forward to our next trip back!

Room Tip: take the upgrade option to a suite. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
That's just awesome! We love hearing back about these personal experiences that guests have. So happy that you enjoyed your birthday stay. Come back anytime, not just for a birthday!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Pfister has an old world elegance combined with a new age level of service. The hotel lobby is very beautiful and the rooms are nice and beds are very comfortable. The location is great as well because you can easily get to the East Side, Third Ward, Summerfest grounds and downtown all by walking or a short cab ride. Their breakfast is outstanding and their spa is very very nice too. Pool on the roof is wonderful and you cannot beat the views and bar at Blu!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Sounds like you made your rounds while you were here. Thanks for pointing out some of our great facilities, very much appreciated. Looking forward to having you with us again upon your next Milwaukee visit.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel has impeccable service in a gorgeous setting. Blue is a fantastic place to overlook the city while enjoying a drink. It is always a pleasure to stay at the Pfister. We will be back next year.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chicagogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Well we agree, we can't wait to have you next year either, looking forward to it! Thank you for the great review!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have been to the Pfister Hotal many times, it is our usual haunt when we come to Milwaukee. This hotel is Grand in the best way. Everything from the lobby to the rooms to the professionalism, service is fantastic. Once in a while, when there has been a minor glitch (which is quite rare), it is handled immediately and professionally. All of the staff at the Pfister treat you as though you were one of the family. Every time we go there, we make more friends.

Also, associated with the Hotel is the Mason Street Grill, simply and excellent restaurant which also has "kitchen seating" so you can watch the chefs if you want.

Another excellent aspect of this hotel is the "Well Spa", also associated with the Pfister. We have utilized their services many times and have never been disappointed.

Also....you never know who you'll run into at the Pfister! (I'm not telling....)

Room Tip: The Pfister has two sections, the "Tower" which has newer rooms, and the "other"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We look forward to all your future visits!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#24 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing