We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Stay”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed at the Pfister Hotel for our special day with the I Do I Do Package. I was greatly surprised not only with the value of adding the VIP package, but also with the service and attention that was giving to us by the entire Hotel Staff to make sure it was the best stay possible. Thank-you Pfister Hotel and Staff.

Room Tip: Add the VIP Packages - Will pay for itself in Parking alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words! Here at the Pfister we do our best to make sure that we give you the attention and service that you need in order to relax and enjoy your stay! We recently opened our new VIP lounge, and have several packages that add great value to your stay! We hope that you visist the Pfister again soon and we wish you the best!

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,394 - 1,400 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We celebrated our anniversary there, and it was a grand, romantic venue for our celebration. We only wished we had been able to get a seat at Blu, but it was so busy we went to the lobby lounge instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel is wonderful.
The suites are very large with a full sitting area and nicely equiped nbedroom.
The amenities were as would be expected in a boutique hotel, wit the onbly drawback being that there was no pool. This is an important requirement for me and I wasn't able to find a hotel at this level with a pool in Milwaukee.
Otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yacovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Hotels like the Pfister won't be built anymore. The grandeur of the lobby, the ceiling paintings and turn of the century antiques are unique and truly amazing. If you couple this with friendly and professional service and good quality food, live piano music and fresh flowers you have a first-class hotel. Of particular value is the VIP club package, presently at 40 USD, which includes overnight parking, internet, and access to the club lounge on the 23rd floor serving breakfast, cocktails (self-serve) and hors d'oeuvre. All of these benefits would cost you much more than 40 dollars and is well worth it if you have a car (25 USD / night). Try and stay in the old wing with high-ceiling rooms.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have been to the Pfister a number of times and have always come away happy. This last time was well beyond the usual. I had the opportunity to use their Well Spa for a multiple of different treatments including the hair salon and the massage. Both left me feeling "pampered". From there, I enter into the main lobby and the elegance and old fashioned traditions just added more pleasure to my experience. The staff is welcoming and friendly, helpful to a fault. It was the best hotel visit I have ever had, and I have been traveling for over 30 years.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What comfort, elegance, service, and environment! We stayed in the old section but i am sure the tower is great too. I mentioned at check in that it was my husband's birthday. When we returned to our room a chilled bottle of champaign was waiting!

Room Tip: We upgraded when we checked in to a suite. $50 more with a wonderful breakfast and some drinks inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephrahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I'm often torn between older historical hotels and new contemporary, modern hotels. The fact is, I can't pick a favorite. This is a wonderful hotel. Rich in history, polite and reserved in manners. Very well maintained and the staff very accommodating. We had the smallest king they had; larger than we thought - a nice sitting area besides the main bedroom area. Lots of marble, traditional carpeting, art work and brass if you appreciate that type of décor. Very nice main floor bar with piano - top floor bar with night music - nice city view. Valet parking, indoor swimming pool, a couple of restaurants and most all services that you can expect in a top hotel. Nicely done Pfister Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike16Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,770 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#30 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,726 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#8 of 55 in Milwaukee
970 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#14 of 55 in Milwaukee
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: £115 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing