We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pfister Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Milwaukee West(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Iron Horse Hotel(Milwaukee)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
US$155
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,047)
Filter reviews
2,047 results
Traveller rating
1,519
359
96
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,519
359
96
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmason street grilltower roomblu loungehistoric sectionnewer towerclub accessart collectiontop floorlobby loungebeautiful hotelold world eleganceclub levelolder partlake viewdowntown milwaukeeclassic hotelgrand old hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,339 - 1,344 of 2,047 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My family and I stay here for a night and wish we had more time to spare just there, wondering through the huge Victorian Art Collection they own and that is on display in each and every floor of their two towers. Not just that, but they also have an artist and a writer in residence, keeping the many stories and history of the hotel for us to acknowledge and for future generations. We stayed and what seems to be "Julie Andrews" favorite room and the concierge share with us great stories about our room. We got the package that includes use of the lounge in the top floor of their newest tower; the hors d'oeuvres offered there and the breakfast were superb. The hotel is conveniently located, allowing you to walk from there to the city's best museums.This is the kind of place you wish you could call "home"!

Room Tip: Old tower, 7 & 8 floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We always try to stay here when visiting Milwaukee. The staff is always top notch, the hotel is beautiful and we love the added feature of the concierge lounge. Definitely worth the price of the upgrade and well worth it. We love this hotel!!!

Room Tip: We love Room 230. It's just off the grand staircase & is nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor again. We are so very happy you enjoyed your last stay with us. We are always looking for new ways to give our guests the best experience and so thank you for the positive feedback about our new club lounge addition. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very nice hotel and the ambiance in the lobby is beautiful. If you don't want to go far, the food and entertainment is right there. Everything else is within walking distance. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftwashguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It makes us really happy to know you were comfortable and well taken care of during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to Henry Maier Festival Park. The property is also within walking distance of the Art Museum and the Children's Museum

The lobby is elegantly beautiful. This historic hotel has retained all of it's classic charms while maintaining the most modern of amenities. The artwork that adorned the lobby and public areas of the hotel would be reason enough to book a stay.

The staff was polite and friendly. They offered us tips on how to get around Milwaukee and were helpful with any questions we had.

The pool on the 23rd floor offers great views of the Lake and of the festival grounds.

The lounge located near the lobby was the perfect place for drinks while in between events. For those hungry for a delicious snack I highly recommend the fruit and cheese tray. In the menu it describes the tray as servings for two people. When we received the tray it was enough to easily feed four people.

The room we stayed in was well appointed with a separate living room from the bedroom. The living room also offered a sofa bed. The heating and cooling of the room was difficult to control. When the AC was on the room would turn frigid. When the AC wasn't on it would warm fairly fast. The bed was uncomfortable. The mattress was rather lumpy. My wife and I kept tossing and turning throughout the night.

In the end, this stay was average even though we were surrounded by luxury. The shortcomings of the bed and room temperature really impacted our overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband recently surprised me with a night stay The Pfister! We were married almost one year ago and at that time we couldn't decide if we should stay here or at the Intercontinental downtown Milwaukee. We ended up staying at the Intercon the night of our wedding but I secretly was disappointed that it wasn't the Pfister! Although the Intercon put us up in a really nice room, had champagne in our room with a really nice card, The Pfister just cant be compared. It is in a class of it's own. Everything was great from check - in to check - out. We had dinner at a local restaurant and came back to the Lounge inside the hotel for a drink which was great. We also had brunch at The Café within the hotel and that was equally fantastic. If you are looking for a place away from home that is classy, over the top luxurious and has great history, The Pfister is for you!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 'historic' side on the second floor. Although it's close to the lobby and common areas, it was very quiet in the room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We're so glad you were able to celebrate your anniversary at The Pfister after all! Your kind words about our staff and amenities are well received. We look forward to welcoming you back year after year, as you and your husband celebrate many anniversaries to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews