We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance and charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegance and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here immensely; the hotel is a classic building with art deco lighting and trim; beautiful Christmas decorations in the lobby; friendly staff; cozy lobby bar; comfy room.
The hotel hosts an artist in residence In the lobby. Location is convenient .

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bikerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes, safe travels, and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    325
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
372
681
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This place gets it right. Very cool art throughout the hotel. The entire hotel is a mini art museum in its own right.
Close to the real Milwaukee art museum. Friendly staff. Less Harley rallly and brewery tour crap; more old world European charm, elegance, sophistication. Classy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadworthy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We are so privileged to be in the presence of such an amazing art collection. And even more amazing is the stories around how the collection came to be. You'll have to be sure to ask about it next time you return,

We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes, safe travels, and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Beautifully decorated for the holiday season. We booked the bed and breakfast package and stayed in one of the junior suites off of the second floor mezzanine. The room was very nice and the noise from the mezzanine was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes, safe travels, and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you appreciate beautiful era architecture as well as the history, this is a must, especially during the Christmas season. So beautifully decorated for the holiday. Our room was quite luxurious with beautiful woodwork detailing. The bed was so comfortable with warm decadent bedding and pillows. I didn't want to leave. Thank you for preserving this beautiful and important landmark that Milwaukee has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twodoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share about your experience. We are all so very lucky to be a part of a place so beautiful and rich in history. The holidays are indeed incredible but we hope to welcome you beck before the next holiday season. Again thank you and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is the only hotel my father will stay when in town. We attended a holiday event yesterday and I brought an evening bag, a clutch. Mistake. I placed it on a shelf by the window as what lady wants to clutch a bag under her arm while circulating. After nine, we left. This morning I checked the car then called the hotel.

Eric in Security helped me while I described the small bag and its three contents: new Italian wallet, birthday present from Dad; old iPhone; and house keys. Yes, he had it!

My husband dropped me off on that block (I didn't have my drivers license and figured it was cheaper to pay for a cab home than parking, plus it was on his way). I did not get the name of the gentleman at the front desk who helped me negotiate my way to Security, Lost and Found. Thank you!

Eric was there and I'd brought my passport to verify ID. Not needed. He went into the back room and there was a gallon zip bag with my bag in it. I thanked him, and complimented him on the way things were handled. He told me that they have a process for found items. Of course everything was intact, glasses, phone, wallet and keys.

The bellman was helping someone so I took a moment and switched everything to my lovely Italian bag that has a strap that is perfect for trips and asked for a taxi. The attendant was wonderful as well, very attentive. One weekend I'd like to take a trip even if it's only to see the fantastic lobby!

Eric and Giovanna were wonderful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Milwaukee. I wrote a personal note to the GM and mailed it this afternoon.

Room Tip: I've not stayed here yet, but do have an example of their quality of service and would like to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Wow!! Thank you!! What a wonderful story and thank you for sharing it. We understand how things in life like this happen in take it ver seriously to make sure these are handled with the upmost care and diligence. And we certainly hope to welcome you back as well and play host to you mini-vaca. Again thank you and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

If you're in Milwaukee, you HAVE to stay here! There's a reason pro sports teams stay here. It's is first class from start to finish. The awe factor starts in the lobby! We will stay here on every trip without question.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much!! We are so thrilled to hear that you will be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back. We are host to a wide variety of guests but strive for a true "Pfister experience" for all. Again thank you and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our room was beautiful with an amazing view of the city and Lake Michigan! Very comfortable!!! We had my husband's Company Christmas party spanning the entire 7th floor. Great food and great service!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future, and hopefully for another holiday party. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes, safe travels, and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#24 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing