We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has great service and is first rate. I stayed in the older section but it was nice and updated with all the modern conveniences you would need, I would defitiently choose this hotel again and feel certain you will like it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the historic side of the property. We take pride in preserving the historical character of the building while offering modern conveniences. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    329
    85
    36
    25
See reviews for
375
688
69
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently, I stayed at the Pfister Hotel for the first time and I will definitely return. The hotel is in a great location and the service was wonderful. I loved the blend of history and modern amenities that this hotel had to offer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pfister! We are so glad you enjoyed your first stay and we hope it won’t be you last! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant-Valkaria, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Being a Milwaukee native, I never had too many chances to stay at a local hotel. But, since moving, I no longer have a place to stay. In town for a graduation and family event, which coincided with my birthday, I was surprised with a two-night stay at the Pfister. Club lounge access included. What a treat.
From our arrival to departure, first class and friendly service at every turn. Valet service was prompt. Our turn down service and night-time treats were wonderful. It was magnificent. The room was large, comfortable and the view of the lake superb. As a business traveler I know great service when I see it, and see it I did.
Hopefully I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the great review! Milwaukee natives have always played a part in making the Pfister Hotel special. Which is why we are thrilled when natives are able to stay and enjoy the Pfister experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you’ll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was exceptional!
Classic historic old hotel with very comfortable new tower attached.
Weekend brunch was amazing and a tremendous value.
Lost a pair of shoes and staff somehow found them.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: High floor in tower was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the weekend brunch. Have safe travels and we hope you’ll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice place with specious rooms and great service. Is a very good location for walking to all of the spots around for food and entertainment. They have very good upper bare and restaurant on the location. I would recommend it to any one how likes the old style.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ROBBIER1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the great review! The Pfister Hotel is located in the perfect spot to experience downtown Milwaukee and all that it offers. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and bars. We hope you’ll visit them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Ok check in room not ready advised they would call me when ready THEY did not. Great stone massage great club room worth the money but this room verse the iron horse no comparison. More to be determined staff nice bellman great location great but we shall see if overall package works.......wish my room was better over priced for what I paid

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank filet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Hotel is in excellent shape and the Mason Grill is very good. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the facility is centrally located in the City.

Regrettably, there were two negatives to my visit which cause me to question why I paid $200 for my room. First, I checked in late and was assigned to a 4th floor room overlooking the alley. Beginning at 3:30 AM, I was serenaded for 40 minutes by the trash removal choir in the alley below; trucks, dumpsters and personnel. Not even the plus pillow top mattress could drown the noise. Second, the in-room coffee was a absurd. I did not expect - and have not encountered in similar level hotels - the no brand 4 cup coffee coupled with the sugar/creamer/sweetener bag, all reminiscent of what I expect to find at Comfort Inn or similar 2 star hotels. Why adorn the exterior of your facility with signs advertising Starbucks if the quality of the coffee in your Hotel rooms is generic?

Despite these issues, I would return to The Pfister.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and/or on the outside of the building, away from the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJIG106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Here at the Pfister we strive for customers to have both old world charm and modern conveniences and customer service. I apologize for the negatives experiences that you had while staying with us. I will share your thoughts with the team. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences; it is from reviews that we are able to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#10 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing