We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little like time travel”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A little like time travel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks like something you would see in an old movie. Also, like something you would see in a museum. It is clean and well kept and has a classy kind of feel to it. I definitely felt better walking around the lobby in my business attire than in my jeans.

The room was very roomy and so was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. It did have a bit of an damp smell and the room was a bit clammy.

I really liked my stay here and felt special during it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tdiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for the amazing review! I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with others. The Pfister was built in 1893 and we have tried our best to maintain the old world charm. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will visit The Pfister again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    337
    85
    38
    26
See reviews for
390
702
74
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited the Pfister with our children for a one night stay. The hotel is extraordinarily beautiful, well located, and the perfect mix of old time elegance with modern facilities. The staff was amazing and attentive to all of us, including our children ranging in age from 15 years to 19 months. The children were even brought cookies in the evening. The Club Level Lounge was a special treat, with a great view and friendly staff. We will definitely stay at the Pfister again in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quacklacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I’m thrilled to hear that everyone in the family enjoyed staying at The Pfister and the use of the Club Lounge! I will be sure to pass along your remarks about our attentive staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with others! I hope you will visit The Pfister again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Luxurious hotel in the heart of Milwaukee. Best location, great accommodations, perfect for a weekend away with my husband sans children. We got room service every morning for breakfast and it was fantastic as well. I highly recommend this hotel, and Mason Street Grille attached to the hotel for a great dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinneSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway with your husband! Everyone needs a weekend break every once in a while. Thank you for taking the time to review and I hope you will make it back for another weekend getaway soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel because it hosted a fraternity reunion. We had previously stayed there 10 years ago so we knew what to expect, but the hotel surpassed our expectations. It is clean, the employees are very courteous, friendly, and helpful. The food is very good. The ambiance was perfect for our stay.

Room Tip: We had a suite, which was well worth the small additional price for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with others. I’m thrilled to hear that we were able to surpass your expectations and that you enjoyed your fraternity reunion. I will pass along your words to my team to let them know that all of their hard work is paying off. Hopefully, it won’t be another 10 years before we see you at The Pfister again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

great location, walking distance to the lakefront and the famous art museum and the third ward for boutiques and river for eat and drink places....but the hotel has the mason street grill that I reviewed and loved so you never have to knock yourself out leaving the hotel for dinner out.
I love the old section rather than the tower rooms....larger and very nicely appointed. everyone working at the hotel is there to help you.

Room Tip: I like the old section high
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim5906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experiences with others! The Pfister is in the perfect location to explore Milwaukee. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed Mason Street Grill and everything that The Pfister has to offer. I hope to see you at The Pfister the next time you are in Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Pfister Hotel is a historic masterpiece close to the painting masterpieces in the Art Museum a short walk down the street. The river walk is close by as well making the Pfister a great location. We stayed in the tower on the 18th floor and had a view of the lake. Upgrade and join the Club Lounge because it is worth it. You won't believe the drink prices at the honor bar.

Room Tip: High floors in the tower offer better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nailer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review! I truly appreciate you sharing your experiences and tips with others. The Pfister was built in 1893, and we have tried to keep all the historic charm that you were able to enjoy. I hope you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Pfister Hotel for a wedding . Our room was in the new tower and the amenities were great. A new stand up shower with a waterfall shower head, No tub here.
The room was very comfortable and our we had a great view of the lake and lakefront. The city was wonderful and our location was in the center of it all. My only beef was they charged for WiFI at $ 5.00 per night. This did not seem appropriate for a hotel of this class.
The staff was great, pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower that faces the lakefront. Rooms that have adjoining doors are a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the remodeled rooms! I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with others. I hope you will be able to visit The Pfister again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,524 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#16 of 56 in Milwaukee
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing