We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Stylish Hotel”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique, Stylish Hotel”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in early September and absolutely loved it. Similar to the entire area, they've taken an old building, refurbished it and gave it a great style.
The style is very rock/biker feeling but with a cool, fashionable edge. The service is populated by young, hip but nice midwestern people. The breakfast is great and is situated in a study room like atmosphere.
The rooms are quite sizable with high ceilings. Further, I bumped into the Manager on the elevator who was very nice in genuinely asking how my stay way and my background.
I've lived abroad and traveled throughout the world so please don't think I have a good benchmark but this is one of the better hotels I've stayed in the world primarily because what they are offering is different and quite special.
Highly recommend to pay the extra money if you are in town to stay at this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtoSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hello NJtoSH!!

Thank you for being a guest of the Iron Horse. We welcome feedback from all of our guests but it was great to hear from someone who has had such a robust traveling background. The Iron Horse takes great pride in providing an experience that you could expect in major destination. I agree with you that our team, made up of many Milwaukee/Mid-West personalities, which make us unique when compared to other hotels.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and if your travel leads you to Milwaukee we will be here to welcome you back.

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
The Iron Horse Hotel
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    211
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
169
744
64
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After a week of 'business' hotels, it was fun to spend a couple of nights at a proper boutique hotel. The Iron Horse is a gorgous place. My room was beautifully furnished, with a lovely rainfall shower in the bathroom. Size of the room was large by European standards, but probably average by American! Little finishing touches were great - earplugs in case you wanted them, a complementary margarita upon arrival. I dined and breakfasted in their restaurant - the food was great, though a little on the pricey side. Any niggles? The free wifi didn't have great reception in the bedroom - this only mattered because I was trying to keep in touch with my family back at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear BelJCG-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Iron Horse. We are currently in the process of improving our Wi-Fi access, and I apologize for your connectivity issues. Before your next trip to Milwaukee we should hopefully be in a better place from a Wi-Fi standpoint. We really value your feedback as it the fastest way to better our guest experience. Thank you again for visiting the Iron Horse and we hope to be your hotel choice for your future trips to Milwaukee.

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at the Iron Horse on Nov. 3 for our Anniversary.
The hotel was a wonderful find and the staff was amazingly gracious and helpful.
It was clear form the start that this is a hotel for grown-ups, which is what we were looking for. We love our 5-year-old daughter, but we were looking for a night away from her and any other kids.

When we checked in, we were offered a complimentary welcoming cocktail. The decor was dark wood, natural light and motorcycle inspired.

We checked into our room, but were disappointed to find it was right above the lobby lounge area. No problem. The person at the front desk not only offered to switch our room.

We took a walk to the Third Ward shopping district, but spent most of our time in the hotel. The hotel surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary, which was a nice touch.

We decided at the last minute to have dinner at the Smyth and the food was excellent.

The Route 66 Brunch at the Smyth the next day was the highlight, with dishes from several restaurants along the famous highway. One suggestion: the made-to-order dishes could be smaller, to allow for more sampling. the order of tiramisu pancakes was a full breakfast entree all by itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyld312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Sharyld312-

I am very glad the Iron Horse Hotel was able to be a part of your Anniversary Celebration. Our staff takes pride in providing personalized service and enjoys being a part of special occasions. I am also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a meal and brunch from Symth. The Route 66 brunch is constantly changing and improving, and your advice about the smaller made-to-order dishes will be shared with our food and beverage team. Thank you for choosing the Iron Horse Hotel, and we hope to see you again soon!!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 times while interviewing for job. The rooms are quite contemporary
and lovely. Per the name, they cater to motorcycle riders with perks for them such as
special parking, etc.
They love dogs of all sizes and even have a water dish on the floor at check-in.
The restaurant is excellent and we enjoyed all our meals there.
The ambiance of this hotel is upbeat. I overheard one of the hotel employees tell another
that the fragrance you smell in the lobby was created specially for them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyspiritmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Gypsyspiritmidwest- Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and I hope that all went well with your interview process. The Iron Horse, being dog friendly, is one of our favorite parts of the hotel story, and we welcome dogs of all shapes and sizes. It sounds like you share our passion for dogs. I hope that during your trip to Milwaukee we will see you, and possibly your pet, again!!

Best Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautiful hotel with wonderful service. My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight last year and I've been overdue sending in a review. Our room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed felt huge and was extremely comfortable also. We also enjoyed cocktails at the outside bar before and after our dinner reservations downtown. My only complaint is that you can no longer make reservations for one night as there seems to now be a minimum stay. Which is too bad, as a visitor from Chicago, I usually only visit 1 night. (ps. my stay was July 2012, however, tripadvisor doesn't offer that date)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynder78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
NicoleSkillings-

Thank you for taking the time to share your Iron Horse Hotel story with us. I am very happy to hear that Jake, Kati, and Jacob were able to take great care of you while you were getting settled in. I apologize for the delay in the process. We take a lot of pride in our outgoing and proactive service, and it was fun to be able to share your experience with our team members. I am glad that you felt comfortable in your guest room, and you did not need your sleeping bag. Thank you again for your review and we will see you during your next trip to Milwaukee!!

Best Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoe, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time on our wedding weekend three years ago and have tried to stay here every anniversary. This year we tried a different room level and it wasn't the same as we remembered. When Natasha at the front desk found out, she didn't just accommodate us, she made sure we had a really special anniversary. The environment is amazing, the food is great, the staff is incredible. This is a place you won't forget and one where we will come back every year! Thanks Natasha and the Iron Horse!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

on October 26th we spent the evening at the Iron Horse hotel, upon arrival , we were greeted by a friendly valet, we proceeded to the front desk were we again greeted by friendly staff who gave us a complimentary cocktail.. check in was fast and painless and in less than 5 minutes we were up in our room. the room was great, large, clean and very comfortable. We deiced to head down to the bar for a drink and again got a friendly welcome from our waiter Travis. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and a appetizer, all were great. Later that night we had dinner in Smyth, which was excellent from the appetizers to the main course to the dessert along with excellent service by our waiter Frank.
Room was quiet and peaceful all night long, one of the quietest hotels I have been in a long time. check out the next day was quick, painless. we really felt like the staff enjoyed the fact we were staying there.

Room Tip: corner room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobraracer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,855 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing