We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again, amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
438 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Again, amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I travel a lot for business and pleasure and this is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. It has a "vibe" like no other hotel I have ever stayed at.

It is a rustic yet very comfortable space and even though I never travel with my dog [wish I could} it is a pet friendly place. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtravelerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear intrepidtravelerfla-

Welcome back! Thank you for the kind words about that hotel. As such a frequent traveler your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am glad that you enjoy the "Vibe" that we try to create. We look forward to having you back to the Iron Horse, maybe next time your dog will be able to join you.

Safe Travels!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    204
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
158
700
60
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had an incredible stay at the Iron Horse Hotel this last week. Nice people checking you in, helpful door guys, delicious vittles down in the bar, strong Wi-Fi in the room, and my very favorite part? That "rainfall" shower. Man, that thing was THOROUGH in washing down this carcass. Lots of room to move in the room, too. And, softest sheets north of Chicago. All in all, had an incredible visit and appreciate the hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDC_Road_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear DDC_Road_Crew-

Welcome to Milwaukee!! Thank you for choosing the Iron Horse Hotel. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The showers are my favorite part of the rooms as well!. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel upon a recommendation from a friend. We were blown away by the "Industrial meets Americana" decor and feel of the entire hotel. The staff was amazing. The food in the bar and the breakfast in the library was excellent! Our only regret was that we could only stay 1 night! We WILL be back for the Iron Horse experience time and time again!

Room Tip: The view of Harley Davidson museum and downtown Milwaukee was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Gina C-

Thank you for choosing the Iron Horse Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. I am very proud to see that staff made a positive influence on your stay. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our bar and our breakfast however I agree we have more to offer and would love to have you back for an extended stay. If there is ever anything I can assist with in the future please do not hesitate to ask.

Until Next Time,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

From the time you walk into this VERY cool hotel you feel the vibe. Awesome decoration, Friendly, attentive staff, great food and terrific bar with great pool table. This perfectly located hotel is a Can't miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Myron K-

Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am proud to see that the Iron Horse not only fits your eye but that our staff meets your expectations as well. It would be my pleasure to help with any future reservation needs. Please do not hesitate to ask if there is anything I can do.

Cheers!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a beautiful, historic hotel. Probably one of the best boutique hotels around! The decor and ambiance is second to none. We stayed before taking an early flight out of Milwaukee, so we didn't get to enjoy it as long as we would have liked. But, we will definitely go back. We didn't eat there, but did have some drinks and snacks at the bar. The bartenders were very friendly and helped us find a few things to do around the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw4453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear JW4453-

Thank you for choosing the Iron Horse and I glad to hear that you had safe travels. I am happy to that you enjoyed the overall ambiance of the hotel. A lot of work and effort goes into everything that we do and I am proud to see that we were "great" in your eyes. Please let me know if there is ever anything I can assist with the future. Hopefully during your next trip you will be able to spend some more time with us.

Cheers!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent a lovely long weekend here in March 2014. Our Alaska got married. Everyone was so very welcoming, from the time we got out of the taxi. Our room was ready early so we were able to check in before lunch. The room was large & testefully decorated. The chairs were comfortable enough that we could actually sit in them to read! We love a firm mattress & ours was perfect. We loved the lobby& he flavored water & sat in front of the fireplace in the library to read one afternoon.
The bar was a nice gathering spot for friends & family from all over. They even have dog biscuits & water for the 4 legged guests.
Thanks to everyone who made the weekend so special for our family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margiemm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Margiemm54-

Dear Margiemm54-

Congratulations! Weddings are a very special occasion and I am glad that the Iron Horse Hotel was able to provide a memorable experience for your family. I will make sure to share your experience with our team. If there is ever anything we can do to assist in the future please let us know.

Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Milwaukee. The hotel is beautiful. It has a modern industrial feel but is also very warm. The decor is amazing...the same atmosphere as a luxury boutique hotel in New York. The service is impeccable from the minute you valet your car, to the desk staff and bar/restaurant staff.
In the warmer months you can sit out on in "the yard" on a soft couch and have delicous drinks and food and take in downtown Milwaukee.
I stay for business, but it is great for any occasion.I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimber2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Kimber2014-

Dear Kimber2014,

Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure to share them with our team. A lot of work goes in to ever guest stay and I am very proud to hear that you had a “Milwaukee’s Best” experience. Just thinking of "the Yard" season brightens my day. This winter has been too long. We look forward to welcoming back both you and the warm weather to IHH very soon.

Cheers!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing