We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, perfect, perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Iron Horse Hotel provides the sort of experience that leaves you wondering why you'd stay anywhere else. Yes, it's more expensive, but it is so worth every penny.

We were spending the weekend in Milwaukee, taking in a Brewers game and Summerfest, something we do almost every summer. Usually we'd try one of those hotel pricing sites and look for a nice place (4 stars) with good reviews and pick the one with the lowest price. This time, we tried a new tactic - just go for it!

The Iron horse is perfection in all ways. A very attentive staff, extremely comfortable rooms with great amenities, fabulous bars and, we hear, the food was also great. (We wanted to explore the Walker's Point area and we did not dine in the hotel.)

The location of this gem is one of the best attributes. We walked almost everywhere, discovering terrific restaurants and bars in the neighborhood, and even a microbrewery with an amazing tour (MKE)! We also took in the Harley Davidson Museum which is a just a 5 minute walk across the bridge. We are not motorcycle people, but the history of this company and it's bikes are really cool. After a long day or night of walking, we returned to our hotel, enjoying a drink in "The Yard" or at the bar indoors - both have fabulous bartenders who make amazing cocktails and really know their craft.

We did not bring our dog, but the Iron horse is pet-friendly and it was a treat for us to chat up the various dog owners and their furry friends. Perhaps the beagle will join us next time!

You'll see lots of Harley's and their owners at the Iron Horse and the vibe can only be described as unique in the best possible sense. An upscale yet fun, anything-goes home base from which to explore an up-and-coming neighborhood.

You can spend less and decide that the hotel is not really part of the travel experience - we've done that and if you're not spending much time in your room it's a legitimate choice. But in our view, the hotel is part of the experience, and the Iron Horse turned our typical weekend in Milwaukee into an an amazing adventure we will not forget.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sheree R-

Thank you very much for your review and I must admit that I am a little jealous about the trip you just concluded. It sounds amazing and you really took in a lot of what Milwaukee has to offer. The Iron Horse is a proud ambassador of the city and we are proud to call Walkers Point our home. We hope that next time you will not only be able to bring the beagle but also find some time to dine with us. Thank you again for taking a chance on the Iron Horse. We hope we have gained a loyal Milwaukee traveler. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist with in the future.

Cheers!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a week in Milwaukee; my husband loved the idea of the Iron Horse hotel; I wanted the "other" No 1 hotel, so we split our stay between both! The decor was hard edged and hip; our room was very comfortable [albeit with a very noisy fridge] and its location at the front of the hotel meant no train noise at all; I enjoyed the H2O+ bathroom products. Everything was pretty much as we expected in a big hotel: a bar with good food and drinks, a lobby with large comfortable chesterfields, a souvenir shop and excellent breakfast [at an additional cost]. The hotel is almost a destination in itself, located in an historic industrial quarter. Our unwelcome surprise was the hotel's accounting procedures. We advised at check-in that we would pay our accommodation with a debit card, and the desk staff were OK with this, but requested a credit card to swipe for security only. The next day we discovered that the full amount of our accommodation PLUS one hundred dollars for each night [security on the mini-bar!] had been deducted from the credit card. It took our bank five working days to restore these funds. The Iron Horse desk staff told us this is standard practice, but we are seasoned international travellers who we regularly pay with a debit card, and have never experienced these "hold"/ security costs before or since, including when we checked into the other No 1 hotel in Milwaukee!

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel to avoid train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneMeg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear MelbourneMeg_12-

Welcome to Milwaukee. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for choosing the Iron Horse for part of your stay. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us including the decor and comfortable room. I am disappointed to hear about the credit card authorization experience and apologize for the inconvenience. Glad to hear that all has been resolved with your bank. Please let me know if there is ever anything that I can assist with.

Best Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

First time dining at the Branded lounge and it was absolutely divine. A deliciously made cocktail by a friendly bartender behind the counter and when we moved over to a table the waitress was equally as pleasant. Ordered the tacos and freshly made fries with their homemade ranch dressing which was absolutely to die for. The atmosphere was laid back, unique and very nicely put together. I was very impressed for my first visit here! Keep up the good work. :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Indyqueen4405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Indyqueen4405-

Thank you for dining with us. I am glad that you found Branded to be comfortable setting with great food and drinks. I will make sure to share your story with our team. We hope to have you back again soon and please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.

Cheers!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked this hotel based on the trip advisor #1 rating for Milwaukee. First, the hotel is not downtown or convenient to take a short walk to downtown to a restaurant, event, etc. Second, we discovered it is near active rail tracks when we saw a note on our night table with ear plugs saying the presence of the trains added to the experience of this uniquely designed hotel...trains in proximity to a place that you are trying to sleep is never a good thing. Third, the second night we were there we were out all day only to return at midnight to find four room had not been serviced that day. Fourth, most hotels today in this rate bracket will deliver a newspaper to your room and have a decent gym with some weight machines. This hotel does not have either. Fifth, given the location of the hotel when you get back late in our case after a Brewers game it would be nice to be able to,have a drink and some food. Unfortunately the bar and kitchen close at 11 pm so you need to plan to,go someplace else downtown. Lastly, the design of the hotel and rooms is very unique, hip, etc. in a good way but the modern bathroom sinks look good but are so shallow the water splashes on you as you use it.
On the positive side a uniquely designed hotel that is very "cool", the staff is very nice and when I complained about the fact our room was not serviced they made an adjustment to my bill.
Finally, this is clearly not the # 1 hotel in Milwaukee. There are many other better choices for followers of trip advisor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Glenn Y-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Iron Horse Hotel. Customer feedback is the fastest way to improve our guest experience. I am in receipt of your feedback and am hoping that we can discuss this in further detail in an effort to regain your trust and ensure an environment of consistent improvement at the Iron Horse Hotel.

Best Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just returned from staying at the Iron Horse for one evening. Overall, we were blown away by the uniqueness of the property. The restaurant and bar are both sensational. The weather didn't permit for using the patio - but it looked terrific. Be sure and read about the artwork (including the denim flag). We also enjoyed the library and plaques throughout the hotel. The rooms - gorgeous (surprised by no bath tub tho)! Our big hiccup was upon arrival. We booked the reservation through the hotel a month prior for our anniversary. When we went to check-in, the front desk said we didn't have a reservation. I called home to retrieve our reservation confirmation (silly me for not bringing it with) and the front desk stumbled to find it. Eventually someone else helped and I was told our reservation was cancelled that day. Nobody said by whom, and it certainly wasn't us! The women apologized and upgraded our room. A few minutes after getting to our room, we received a lovely bottle of champagne and a note apologizing and wishing us a happy anniversary. So gracious. The next morning, however, we received our bill with a charge for the full rate of the upgraded room (almost double the rate of our original reservation). The bill was corrected but we were disappointed and annoyed by the situation. On the flip side, the valet gentlemen couldn't have been nicer! The property is special and we will gladly return in the future, with our reservation confirmation in hand!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Debbie G-

Thank you for visiting the Iron Horse Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your visit with. I wish the weather would have allowed for a visit to our patio as I know you would have enjoyed that also. I am disappointed to hear about the reservations shortcoming but proud to see that the staff responded property to rectify the situation. I would be happy to discuss any further details with you directly. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist with a future reservation.

Best Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

With so many awards and distinctions, this upscale inn is a motorcyclists dream! We even built our "Lakes & Libations" tour around it. The close proximity to the Harley-Davidson Museum, local distilleries and many breweries the city is famous for is perfect. The nightlife is lively with many restaurant and music venues that dot Milwaukee's beautiful skyline. The staff and cleanliness exceeds expectations. Recommended this inn many times with never a complaint.

Room Tip: The corner guest rooms are large and have big windows overlooking the city.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RydeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear RydeGuide-

Thank you for riding your way to our front door! I am very glad to see that you had a positive experience with us and that we met the needs of your bike tour. I agree that our hotel has thought of every detail to make the Iron Horse equipped to handle all sorts of guests, but especially bikers. We are proud to be a part of the Milwaukee culture that you were able to enjoy during your trip and we hope that you come and visit us again soon.

Until Next Time,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is probably my 7th or 8th visit to the Iron Horse, and they've never let me down. This visit was a mix of business and pleasure and I'm happy to write another rave review of the property and the amazing level of service we receive every visit. From reservation to check out there is never a flaw with our stay. The rooms are well appointed, the location is ideal, and the atmosphere and experience are second to none. Every year we book more and more rooms during our stay so that our friends can join in the experience. This year we were a group from Texas, Georgia, and Illinois. Some "newbies" and some "veterans" of the property. I've become somewhat of a travel celebrity with my friends for recommending we stay once again at the Iron Horse. Thank you for another great experience! We will definitely see you again when our feet hit Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Floors 3 and higher offer more peace and quiet, but there are no bad rooms in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mr. Clinton J-

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Iron Horse Hotel. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experiences that you have had here with others as well and bringing new friends with you during each visit. I am very proud to see that we are your choice when you have a free weekend. Please let me know if there is ever anything we can do for you, or your friends, while you are in Milwaukee. Thank you again for your visiting and we will be looking forward to your next trip.

Safe Travels

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,948 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#8 of 56 in Milwaukee
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,666 reviews
Historic Third Ward
The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: £145 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing