We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd come back here....”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I'd come back here....”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The other reviews say it all. This truly IS a great place to stay - comfort, style, and very friendly staff! Sharde a nice, big room with a friend and never bumped into each other. Appreciated free WiFi. We each had a massage at the Spa and had good massage therapists. Enjoyed a nice drink at the bar (again with very friendly waiter) and a delicious dinner at Smythe, where I recommend the spareribs - especially on a chilly evening!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drivemecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    211
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
169
744
64
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed there because we were traveling a total of nine hours and didn't want to make the trip in one day. We picked the Iron Horse because it had a lot of great reviews and It looked, from the pictures, pretty cool. The only thing that scared us was that, from the website, it looked like it was geared for bikers. I was wrong. This place was amazing! From the moment we got their to the moment we left... it was one of the best experiences of my life. The staff was friendly and acted like they loved their jobs. The room was so beautiful and modern. I loved the bathroom, it was so modern. The view was amazing. The restaurant down stairs was delicious, and the bar downstairs was great too. I really hope that I can revisit this hotel one day.... the whole experience was amazing. Oh, and the train was right outside our room, which was unique..... It was cool to have a train right outside our room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreesandtictacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel after our wedding and got the romance package. The room was awesome, very clean and well stocked. We ate at the bar restuarant and the food was very good. I would recommend the iron horse to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjjr2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer, WI
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We LOVE the Iron Horse Hotel. This was our second stay there, and it's still perfect. It's the place to be. We love the antiques all over the place, the library, and of course, the bar and restaurant. The rooms are great also. Very unique decor--top of the line--and the most comfortable beds anywhere. And the staff is helpful and happy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterMercer_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Such a unique and fantastic hotel. Myself and four colleagues stayed here for more than a week as part of a business trip to Milwaukee and it was such a brilliant experience. The hotel was such an integral part of our great experience in Milwaukee. Loved: the friendliness of the staff, the unique rooms, the side bar in the evenings, the breakfasts, the walk to local cantinas and the Third War.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aphroditemmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Our stay was excellent! Setup for the Harley enthusiast, since traveled from Lexington,Ky on a motorcycle it was fantastic! Food, service, room was top notch!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Iron Horse takes you by surprise on your first visit. You expect the standard offerings of a nice hotel, which the Iron Horse has. However, the context is refreshing. They have taken an old warehouse and turned it into a quality hotel. The result is a modern, well run hotel with a very relaxing atmosphere. I usually avoid hotel restaurants but you'll want to try one of their restaurants. The word around town is they have excellent food. Milwaukee has other good choices but the Iron Horse has become my number one choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timberwolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,856 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing