We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't miss this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
“don't miss this hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The Iron Horse is a great destination all on it's own. It's like no other hotel you've been to - fun, sexy, classy but without being stuffy. It has a loft type feel and great decor. The staff is very personal and attentive. The new Route 66 Sunday brunch at Smyth is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spin_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    204
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
158
701
62
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Once again my wife and I enjoyed another stay at this wonderful hotel. We can't decide what we like best, the atmosphere, the rooms and amenities, the staff, the restaraunts, its too hard to choose. The only easy choice is to stay here whenever we are in Milwaukee. Excellent place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We went for a weekend and enjoyed the personal attention, cool surroundings, great bar and bar staff. We liked the way the hotel was constructed - the rooms are large, well appointed. We never felt rushed our entire time there. Nice place to chill

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This was my second stay at The Iron Horse and I left just as impressed as I did the first time. The staff is outstanding, the rooms are fantastic and the bar and restaurant are great. Top notch all across the board. I wish every hotel was this good. If I'm traveling to Milwaukee there is no way I would stay any where else.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richtgbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This was the third time my husband and I have stayed at the Iron Horse. The last visit was during the summer when we travelled with other family members . This time we went alone and again, had a wonderful time. The hotel staff is remarkable and remembered us when we walked into the lobby. The staff does not wear name tags and at first I questioned that practice. But I have come to understand their philosophy; if they give excellant service, you will remember their names. And I do..........Corey, Constance, Michael, Erika, Allie, Troy, just to name a few who made our weekend memorable.
The check-in process was swift and our luggage was taken to our room as we immediately went in to Smyth, their first class gourmet restaurant. The thing I like the best about Smyth, is although it is fine dining at it's best, one does not have to dress for the occasion. The service, delivery, presentation and quality of our meals were outstanding. While we are not big drinkers, I did enjoy several cocktails over the course of the weekend and found their liquor to be top shelf. I am rarely able to find chartruse and should have known they would have it. Our room was as we expected and better. The beds are very comfortable and I find that I sleep better there than I do at home. The linens are similar to what we had in Germany, with a comfy duvet and plenty of pillows, both firm and soft. Room service was prompt and couteous. We used the workout room during our stay and found the equipment to be as good as the YMCA we belong to at home. It felt good to work out prior to starting the day, which included meals at the hotel and other fine establishments in town. I know that we will go to this hotel again, summer time is especially fun when we can use the yard, their outdoor bar and sitting area. For a staycation in Milwaukee, the Iron Horse is the place to go!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I travel to very nice hotels all over the country for work and this is the nicest, hippest place I have been to. They have done a great job with getting the right vibe going and making it a gem. The front desk is minimal so you fell like the room is more like your condo than a hotel room. The welcome cocktail was perfect. The bar and library are just right. We ate at the restaurant and the food and service were excellent. Stay at the Iron Horse, eat at Smyth and then get out on the town and enjoy Milwaukee.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMurph82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Not wanting to go out on an expensive all you can drink New Year's evening, my husband and I decided instead on a nice getaway to Milwaukee for 2 nights. From the first moment we found the Iron Horse online, we could tell from the amazing photos of the rooms that it was going to be the right place to spend some quality time. We were completely in when we discovered that they allowed dogs!

We had no idea that being able to bring our dog meant that there would be a sign welcoming our dog(!), that the library room would be so quaint with a wood-burning fire and that breakfast in the library would be so pleasant, that all the staff would be so inviting and that the staff would be so wonderful!

I didn't give 5 out of 5 stars on location as the property is not in walking distance of anything and for value as the room was fairly expensive.

We would highly recommend the Iron Horse Hotel as we felt most welcomed!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,794 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
887 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#10 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing