We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent one night stay - downtown Milwaukee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent one night stay - downtown Milwaukee”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the InterContinental Milwaukee. I had a King room, and I liked the private sitting area separate from the bedroom. It was nice to relax, mix a cocktail, and watch a little TV without having to do so in bed. Room was very quiet, didnt hear anyone on the floor. Also bed was very comfy and the room was clean. Check in-out was very easy. Hotel was accomodating with directing us around the city. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor to get a good view of downtown Milwaukee
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
This is exactly the review we all get excited about receiving. I am delighted that everything was to your satisfaction, and we will certainly look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    316
    194
    64
    43
See reviews for
148
398
51
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
365 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

There are two things I really love about this hotel and many more to really like. The decorating throughout the hotel, meeting rooms, lobby, bar, and rooms is beautifully done in a modern blonde-wood, very clean styling, making the whole atmosphere elegant and enjoyable. The second thing I really liked was that the service was attentive and friendly throughout (although there wasn't table service in the bar, but I have legs, I can walk up to a bar to get a drink). Other things I appreciated were the value and the location, close to several very walkable areas, including an easy walk to the lake. Beds were comfortable, the shower was hot and high, and the view was pleasant. The Zen Den is a great and fairly quiet place to have a drink, while the lobby bar rocks with live music and crowds enjoying the wares of the chocolatier. For me the only cons, easily overlooked, was that my very nice room (600) was close to the ice machine so there was a little noise from that, and maid service was not very thorough during my stay with used glasses left sitting out and the bathroom unswept. As I said, I loved the hotel enough to overlook these little things and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 00, such as 600, are beautifully appointed but close to the ice machine. On the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for all the positives you shared about us. It is always refreshing to see ourselves through someone else's eyes. As for the "little things," it will be brought to the department's attention as we strive to offer the best in every area; and frankly, these reviews assist us in helping make that happen. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Intercontinental in Milwaukee but I was there on business so I cannot comment on the value of this hotel because my room was paid for. To make things simple and easy to read, I will break down this review with a "Pros" and "Cons" section to get an idea of this nice hotel.

Pros:
This a nice 10 story hotel right in the heart of downtown Milwaukee. You are right on (or right off) the river-walk in Milwaukee and you are nearby many restaurants and bars in the city. There are also a few bars and restaurants on the property and a full menu for room service. I can't comment on the quality of any of the food because I did not eat during my stay, I can say they looked nice in terms of decoration and ambiance and they were busy almost every time I walked past them. The rooms are a decent size and have a small living room area with a sleeping area with a tv in both areas. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and attentive, this was a plus during my stay.

Cons:
The bedding is not up to par for a 4 star hotel in my opinion. The pillows and mattress were nice but the comforter and make-shift duvet cover and sheets need to be replaced. Also, the bathroom is very plain and very basic. The shower is ok but after a shower the drain would take 5-10 minutes to drain the water fully. Lastly, and this wasn't a huge deal, the A/C worked way better in the living room than in the bedroom portion. There would be a 5 degree difference just walking down the hallway. I like to sleep in cooler temperatures during the summer months and the bedroom would just not get as comfortable as the living room.

All in all, I did enjoy my stay at the Intercontinental and it was not a short one. The bathroom bothered me the most and the bedding could be improved but I would return to the Intercontinental but I would suggest a different room. It's a good location, nice hotel, great staff, and has everything you need in a downtown hotel. If you are traveling to Milwaukee on business or leisure this place suits both. Give Intercontinental a look.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNVikings2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I appreciate the time it took to write this review. Thank you for mentioning the staff as they are the heart of our hotel, and it is always good to have positive things to share that get noticed by our guests. I do hope you notified someone about the shower. We also have added new linens to our stock so our guests can enjoy those nice pillows and mattresses better. We hope the next time you're in town we will have the pleasure of your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is an excellent value. The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean and the price is very competitive. The staff was very friendly and the hotel bar was also very convenient. One of the notable cons is that the room does not have a mini fridge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
So happy you enjoyed the bar and liked the service provided from our staff, as well as, the comfort of the room. We do keep mini fridges for our guest who would like to have one. Simply ring the front desk and they will be happy to have one delivered. Thank you for your patronage, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
338 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel has a great downtown location, nice rooms, and friendly service. I stayed here for a couple of nights on business, and I was very satisfied overall. The next time I'm in Milwaukee, I'd be happy to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJoelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
The next time I'm in Milwaukee, I'd be happy to stay here" is the best endorsement we can ask for. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Only negatives are the parking is pricey at $25 per night since it's in a non-hotel owned garage and there is no pool for the kids. They do have a pool access with a relationship with the Pfister Hotel, which is a short walk away. We used hotels.com and got a great rate, so might be worth checking the discount hotel sites.

Staff was friendly and it is conveniently located near food & the arenas.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
493 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely stay with a great view looking over red arrow park and city hall! My sister and her husband surprised us with an overnight downtown as a stay-cation ! Then, the hotel surprised us with adjoining rooms and a nice upgrade! The room was definitely designed with the business traveler in mind but it was comfortable and the bathroom was huge with a nice glass shower (but no tub). The lobby is chic and service very friendly! It's a little strange that there isn't a spa or hot tub which would may have given this hotel five stars. Parking at $32 a night is a little spendy for Milwaukee but not outrageous.

Room Tip: Corner luxury king was spacious with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CzechMate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3125 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing