We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, cool vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Coal Valley, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value, cool vibe”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Seeking a comfortable hotel close to downtown attractions, we were delighted to find a great value at the InterContinental. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the performing arts center, a block from the Riverwalk, and a trolley ride ($1!) from the Milwaukee Museum of Art and the Public Market (both must-see attractions). The lobby exudes the look and feel of a chic club: good bar, live music, mood lighting, flowing fountain, original art, and plenty of seating for lounging and enjoying the vibrant atmosphere. The front-desk staff is first-rate: well groomed, courteous, professional. We were warmly greeted and received concierge-level service, including several recommendations for dining nearby and a coupon for breakfast at Kil@wat, the hotel’s excellent restaurant.

Our room was clean, nicely decorated, and relatively quiet for an urban setting; the small bathroom was well stocked with good-quality towels. The queen beds were very comfortable, providing a good night's sleep on better-quality sheets and pillows. For extra convenience, as others have noted, we would suggest adding a microwave and a fridge as standard amenities. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially the unbeatable senior rate. Plus, we received recognition as Platinum Elite Rewards Club members, and our Rewards Points were posted promptly. Highly recommended for a visit to the Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    323
    200
    68
    47
See reviews for
153
407
52
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental so I could participate in the National AG triathlon championships. I had expected a well-appointed room with all of the amenities that would allow me to control my diet before the event - at least a microwave and a small fridge. The staff - always pleasant and trying to please - said they could secure me a fridge but they had already allocated their limited number of microwaves. They also told me that there was no pool or jacuzzi on site - but I was free to walk the 1/2 mile to their sister hotel to use their pool. Come on! Not to be completely dismissive, the hotel's location is great, just off the river walk and close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms that are north facing get a lovely view of the river and the art museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear James L,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad you to hear that you liked the location of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel in the area. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We had one night in the city before leaving for home and decided to stay here. Very good choice! Arrived in the city early in Sunday, the front desk was very accommodating with early check in and said they hoped we liked the view...what a view! Room on the top floor overlooked the riverfront and adjacent park. Nice clean hotel with very friendly staff, good food and drinks in a great area close to theater, arts, riverfront and food.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It is always delightful when someone takes the time to write a positive review. Thank you for mentioning so many of our attributes. I hope this experience brings you back to us the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nothing to to write home about. The location was really good, but the rooms were rather bland and sterile, lacking at all in personality.

The restaurant had good food (I only had breakfast though) but it was rather pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IggyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am happy you found our location to your liking, and delighted you were able to visit our restaurant where you enjoyed a good meal. We are always looking at ways to improve and appreciate your help in giving us this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location, easy access to river walk and 3rd street old world area, but room was in need of refreshing, older fixtures, no fridge or microwave. Beds in 2 bed rooms are only full size not queen? One of our beds squeaked, neither were that comforable or plush. Staff seemed indifferent, pleasent enough but not that welcoming and no thanks for staying with us. We asked about a non-hotel place to grab a quick breakfast and he claimed there really wasnt one, but a quick walk about found George Webb's on 3rd st which had a nice egg, hashbrown, bacon, toast combo for about 6.50....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear desertfox1,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Whilst we are pleased with your positive comments with our location, we regret to know the inconvenience our accommodations and the service you received have caused you. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in town for a family wedding. Even though there a slight problem with my reservation, the front desk staff made every effort to make it better. Very close to all the attractions we wanted to see and the Pabst Theater. Nice bar too...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kphillip66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I know it's impossible to always have everything go right. Reputations and Guest satisfaction is often remembered for the effort when things go wrong. Our commitment to service excellence seems to be on target. Thank you very much for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the InterContinental in early July during Bastille Days. The location of the hotel was perfect for access to many restaurants, walks along the river walk, Old World Third Street, and to the Cathedral Square festivals. It also provided quick access to major highways for trips to Brewer Park or day trips from Milwaukee.The staff could not have been more professional or accommodating. The only thing keeping me from giving this hotel a "5" is the well-worn and dated décor and furnishings in the halls and guestrooms. I'd recommend a stay at this property as long as you don't expect the fresh, up-to-date looks sported by many other InterContinental facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrostyTexas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It sounds like you had quite a complete stay visiting many of the sites this area is known for. Thank you for all the positives on the staff. It reinforces our training and commitment to "Service First."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,879 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 56 in Milwaukee
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3125 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing