We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

You can't beat the location of the Intercontinental. It is near the bars and restaurants on Water Street and Old World Third Street. It is one block from the River. The hotel is very nice and the parking garage is connected to the hotel. All of the employees that we encountered were very nice and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attkica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    312
    190
    61
    39
See reviews for
142
395
48
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent here one night for business, the hotel is new and stylish, the service is perfect, and rooms are big and comfortable. Great value for money, and location, and even had dinner at the bar - surprisingly good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel has got a great location in downtown Milwaukee, very close to the various performance venues such as the Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Center, Pabst Theater, etc. It's also very close to the Riverwalk, which is a nice walkway up and down the river. There's a lot of nice restaurants and shops in the area, I recommend you check out the Historic Third Ward, especially all the great riverfront restaurants. The hotel itself is large and fancy. Our room was nice, had a separate seating area that separated itself from the bed by the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and being set away from the hallway, was quiet. It was also clean. We were on a higher floor, had a view of the roof and other taller buildings in the area, nothign to write home about. As with most downtown hotels, most things were not free, including the parking ramp. We used reward points to book this hotel, but for the price they were asking, I'd rather stay a little farther from town for a better rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschuh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Seeking a comfortable hotel close to downtown attractions, we were delighted to find a great value at the InterContinental. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the performing arts center, a block from the Riverwalk, and a trolley ride ($1!) from the Milwaukee Museum of Art and the Public Market (both must-see attractions). The lobby exudes the look and feel of a chic club: good bar, live music, mood lighting, flowing fountain, original art, and plenty of seating for lounging and enjoying the vibrant atmosphere. The front-desk staff is first-rate: well groomed, courteous, professional. We were warmly greeted and received concierge-level service, including several recommendations for dining nearby and a coupon for breakfast at Kil@wat, the hotel’s excellent restaurant.

Our room was clean, nicely decorated, and relatively quiet for an urban setting; the small bathroom was well stocked with good-quality towels. The queen beds were very comfortable, providing a good night's sleep on better-quality sheets and pillows. For extra convenience, as others have noted, we would suggest adding a microwave and a fridge as standard amenities. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially the unbeatable senior rate. Plus, we received recognition as Platinum Elite Rewards Club members, and our Rewards Points were posted promptly. Highly recommended for a visit to the Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental so I could participate in the National AG triathlon championships. I had expected a well-appointed room with all of the amenities that would allow me to control my diet before the event - at least a microwave and a small fridge. The staff - always pleasant and trying to please - said they could secure me a fridge but they had already allocated their limited number of microwaves. They also told me that there was no pool or jacuzzi on site - but I was free to walk the 1/2 mile to their sister hotel to use their pool. Come on! Not to be completely dismissive, the hotel's location is great, just off the river walk and close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms that are north facing get a lovely view of the river and the art museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear James L,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad you to hear that you liked the location of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel in the area. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We had one night in the city before leaving for home and decided to stay here. Very good choice! Arrived in the city early in Sunday, the front desk was very accommodating with early check in and said they hoped we liked the view...what a view! Room on the top floor overlooked the riverfront and adjacent park. Nice clean hotel with very friendly staff, good food and drinks in a great area close to theater, arts, riverfront and food.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It is always delightful when someone takes the time to write a positive review. Thank you for mentioning so many of our attributes. I hope this experience brings you back to us the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nothing to to write home about. The location was really good, but the rooms were rather bland and sterile, lacking at all in personality.

The restaurant had good food (I only had breakfast though) but it was rather pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IggyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am happy you found our location to your liking, and delighted you were able to visit our restaurant where you enjoyed a good meal. We are always looking at ways to improve and appreciate your help in giving us this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing