We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, funky and perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun, funky and perfectly located”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Metro during a short pleasure/family visit in August. The room (mini-suite) was huge and very cool; definitely one of the most unique hotel rooms I've stayed in. The property has a few rough edges, probably indicating that their last big renovation was a while ago, but nothing that really interfered with our enjoyment.

All the staff was super courteous and friendly, and the breakfast at the hotel restaurant was yummy, if a bit expensive.

The two best things about the Metro are the awesome roof garden/deck/lounge and it's perfect location right in the middle of a neighborhood bars, restaurants and nightlife, and also walking distance to the art museum and lake shore parks.

Room Tip: Go for the mini-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yokeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you Yokeho for sharing your experience(s) from staying with us! I will be sharing your comments with our amazing team as we thrive on hearing how we can continue or improve on our servies and amenities.
Our building is celebrating 75 years of service and 14 years as a boutique hotel this year; so we have the benefit of offering our guests large suites or space for their stay, and a roof top bar and deck overlooking the beautiful Milwaukee skyline from seven stories high!
Please let us know the next time you travel to Milwaukee!

All the Best,
Kris Willis, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    116
    62
    35
    27
See reviews for
44
193
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very well decorated, comfortable bed, big bathtub wih separate shower, nice bathroom, two TVs, great downtown location, quiet, responsive staff, great roof deck, very good bar and restaurant. Nice to be able to get a massage at the spa.

Climate control a little tricky, windows are dirty, rates are quite high. Closet is a bit small.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Welcome ITravelandEat Seattle, Thank you for your sharing your past stay experience. We know you have many options when choosing a hotel and we thank you for staying with us. We are excited that you enjoyed the location, staff, roof deck and METRO lounge and restaurant. We love to hear comments from our guests because it not only helps us deliver better service, but it also shows were we need to pay attention, correct and continue delivering to our guests a wonderful experience.
Please let us k now the next time you decide to visit us.

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Super friendly staff. We got there several hours before check in so they kept our bags safe, parked car so we could get to concert we had planned. We checked in hours later and our bags in our room already with turn down service. Room had luxurious robes & great aveda products. Bed and linens were awesome. Atmosphere of hotel was comfortable & intimate. Loved retro decor of lobby. Amazing restaurants all within walking distance. We had breakfast at metro cafe, sat outside..food yummy and service fast and pleasant.
I will 100% be returning when we head back to Milwaukee.

Room Tip: We had deluxe queen suite. Good size for couples get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you E P - On behalf of the entire Hotel Metro team, we welcome you back again soon while visiting in Milwaukee!
It is guests like you that make a positive difference in our teams work day(s) and ensure that we are doing our best to have our guests leave with positive guest experiences.
Please let me know when you are traveling back to the area so we can WOW you again with our outstanding service and amenities.

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

As frequent guests of the Hotel Metro, we always know that our stay will be wonderful. However, this time was even better than the last. My husband wanted to surprise me with a weekend getaway. Although the hotel was originally booked for the weekend, David, the Guest Services Manager, put us on a waiting list and called as soon as a room was available for a two night stay. David has always been so helpful each and every time we make a reservation at the Hotel Metro. It is no wonder he is in charge of the front desk!

When we arrived,we were greeted with friendly smiles. The valet promply took our luggage and parked our car. Our luggage was delivered to our room in no time. We were also impressed that the bellhop had carried it up by hand as there was a shortage of carts because it was a busy weekend. He immediatly asked if he could get us some ice and we were on our way to a relaxing weekend.

We stayed on the sixth floor where each room has a Pure Air Filtration System. The fresh air was quite noticeable as soon as you stepped off the elevator and on to the sixth floor. I must say it is a great addition to the rooms. If you have allergies of any sort, this is the floor for you!

Another great addition to the room was the Keurig coffee machine. What a wonderful treat to see! Both regular and decaf coffee was supplied in the room. There is nothing like a freshly brewed cup of coffee.

On Friday night we went to the Metro Bar and Cafe for $5.00 martini's and their Friday night fish fry. The martini's were wonderful, we both had several, and the service was great! If you are a fan of Friday fish fry, I would suggest the pan seared perch with potato pancakes. It was outstandiing. Not living very far from Milwaukee, we may be back just for that dish. It was so delicious!

Of course Zen on 7 was beautiful as always. They were featuring local artists work on Zen on 7 that weekend, so we were lucky to be able to view their talents.

The Metro cab is once again working on Friday and Saturday nights! Another great perk of staying at this hotel. It is a fun way to get to your destination if you have somewhere to go. Don't forget to tip your driver!

When we had to leave, the valet asked my husband, by name, how our stay was, and if he could retrieve our car. I thought that was so nice. It is great to be treated so wonderfully by this staff. We love the Hotel Metro and will always stay here whenever we are in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: STay on the sixth floor for a Pure Air room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Welcome Cheryl2nd, Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We love to hear comments from our guests since we strive to deliver memorable guest experiences from the minute you pull up to the hotel until the minute you check out.
We are thrilled that David gave you a warm welcome, as he is one of our many Rock Stars here at Hotel Metro!
I also appreciate your comments on our PURE guest rooms, METRO for martinis and fabulous fish fry on Friday nights and our Metro London Cab! Your mention of greatness in all these areas helps us to continue moving forward and step up to providing excellent amenities and guest service for future guests!
Hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and have no complaints whatsoever. The room was very big and well designed and appointed with a fabulous bath tub. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant/bar for dinner one night and found it to be equally good as the hotel itself. And if you are looking for a great downtown location with much within walking distance, this is your hotel.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel can get noticeable base sounds from a music club in the area. Ask about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Allison, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for the amazing review, Burney! Your patronage is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you enjoyed about your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I will be sure to pass your kind words to both the hotel and restaurant staff.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Allison Geschke
HR/Online Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed across the hall from son, and his family. It was very convenient for grand daughter to be across the hall from us, so that we could be close.
The staff helped me in directions on my way and a valet to greet me. Super friendly staff. Housekeeper Betty has worked here 10 years. Very kind, reliable, neat.
Katie and David at the desk were extremely helpful. I forgot my key to get to the rooftop terrace, jacuzzi,steam, workout room and shower, and within a few minutes, David was there with a replacement. This is definately a boutique type hotel. They can accomodate a toddler with room service for gluten/dairy free options. And they also can recommend nearby places to try as well. Also entertained toddler in beautiful Kohler tub. She exclaimed we were swimming!
I would stay again in a heartbeat. Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Hotel Metro.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and heard no noise above us. I was on the odd side of the hall, so view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Welcome Kitty 1854, Thank you for sharing your feedback. As an independent boutique hotel, our Hotel Metro team strives to deliver top-notch experiences during our guest(s) stay. Betty, David and Katy our part of our Super Star team and sharing how they WOWED you will help us continue to strive for that memorable guest experience.
We welcome you and your granddaughter / family to visit us anytime again soon while you are in Milwaukee so that we can continue to WOW you!

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We booked a deluxe king room for July 4 as we seen Iron Maiden at Summerfest & wanted to stay close by. In advance of our stay, I wrote manager asking for any upgrades as we were also celebrating my husbands birthday-she offered us the Spa Suite-has a jacuzzi. Upon arrival, was disappointed no where to park near by unless you paid a meter; therefore we automatically utilized their Valet (garage was only accessible thru them) for $25. Valet was friendly, fast & helpful-stored our bags/cooler since room not ready. Quaint little lobby-our spa room was not ready as we arrived early-since it was july 4, lots of bars/eaterys closed so we ate at their restaurant-Very expensive-we shared a chicken croissant, bloody mary and soda for $25. Rode trolley for $1 to use all day-nice to see everything around-TJ Maxx/mall down the street! Water St lots of bars. Didnt use the bikes as 105 outside! At 1:30 a spa PURE room was available-had a purifier in room-it was very small in a corner on 6th floor but we didnt mind. Fireplace & Aveda products-they turned down our sheets at night & placed 2 chocolates on bed. Keurig w/cups complimentary! Dont open the minibar frig unless you want to be charged-we placed our own water/wine in there & 2 weeks later noticed charges on our visa bill that we didnt use-they refunded us but be careful! Bed was so comfortable, 4 nice pillows & room very clean. Rooftop pond/sitting area gorgeous flowers-jacuzzi to hot to use roof bar not open but was too hot that day anyway. Instead of walking to lake we used their comp Euro Cab-driver was awesome-took our picture. We would stay here again but eat & drink elsewhere. Maid service was good about giving me extra conditioner for my long hair-excellent staff/service and most of all clean & comfy!!

Room Tip: If you want space-choose deluxe King room with separate areas. 6th floor is where rooftop is & j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Allison, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review, SkupieCD! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our amenities; such as the PURE suite, fireplace, chocolates, and Aveda products. We look forward to seeing you again! Feel free to contact me directly if I can be of further assistance to you in the future! Have a wonderful summer.
Thanks Again,
Allison Geschke
HR/ Online Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,794 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#10 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing