We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend getaway”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Even though we live in the MKE area, we like to "getaway" every once in awhile. We have stayed before at the Metro, the last time was probably around 10 years ago. It never fails to meet or exceed our expectations. Very quiet and spacious rooms with very accommodating staff. Check in was seamless and we had never stayed in a king deluxe suite so we were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and especially the bathroom. We have always had a king spa suite. Bed was very firm and comfortable. We slept very well both nights. The hotel is within walking distance of everything downtown MKE has to offer.
Also the front desk will put you in a room facing either Milwaukee St or Mason St. These rooms do offer a view of the city but Milwaukee St does tend to get a little loud near bar time if you are staying over the weekend. If you don't care about a view, then ask for an inward room. It will be much quieter but the rooms look into a parking structure.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for an inward facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank civicnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy D, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Civicnation, thank you for taking the time to review us! I am so pleased that you had another excellent experience with us, and we live up to your expectations for your "staycations" in the area. Our Deluxe Suites are one of the best kept secrets in the area- I'm glad you had the chance to stay in one this time around. We hope to host you again in the future, and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    117
    63
    35
    27
See reviews for
44
194
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had an awesome time at The Metro! We had a tight budget for our honeymoon night so we were glad to be able to afford a jacuzzi tub, fireplace, and a king size bed. The service and food was courteous and yummy! We highly recommend this hotel to people of all ages!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy D, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Bonnie K, thank you so much for your review and for choosing Hotel Metro for your stay. Congratulations to you and your partner, we're honored to have had the chance to celebrate with you, and hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had our wedding reception at Hotel Metro this month. We couldn't have asked for a better location, staff, or hotel to host such an important day for us. Jon Prill was a significant asset to our wedding reception planning. He brought a lot of knowledge to the table, was easy to work with and fast to respond to any questions. The food and service/banquet department was excellent. We received quite a few compliments on the food that was provided or the wedding as well as the services that the Banquet staff and bartenders provided. This was a great venue, we had pictures taken in the hotel as well as with the London Taxi which we look forward to seeing. The rooms in this hotel are such wonderful rooms. I would recommend this hotel for a drink, dinner, event and or just to stay the night at. Perfect experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you Dane M. for writing a TripAdvisor comment - Congratulations on your wedding and the Hotel Metro staff wishes you both much happiness!
Thank you for choosing Hotel Metro for you celebration and allowing us to be part of your special day - I have passed along your comments and gratitude to our staff and Rock Stars mentioned.
We strive to provide the best hospitality service and accommodations for celebrations such as yours and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this site.
We look forward to many more celebrations in your future!
Congratulations!

Sincerely,

Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Hotel Metro is a historic hotel that has been upgraded. Stayed in the sixth (top) floor in a king suite. Large living room/lounge area is separated from bedroom by a 3/4 wall that curves for nice effect. Bed was comfortable, whirlpool bathtub and a shower. Hard to regulate the temperature (had to open the windows on a frigid Milwaukee January to get the temp below 73 for sleeping). Staff was friendly and efficient.

Dining was underwhelming. Ordered takeaway breakfast burrito from the cafe downstairs one morning... not recommended (way too greasy).

Good value and good location.

Room Tip: Stay on sixth floor. Great rooms and gives access to Zen spa. No room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear JTSeattle - Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Hotel Metro is part of Historic Hotels of America and the room size is amazing since we were first an office building! I also appreciate your comments on the heating as we are putting in new thermostats in all of our rooms, and we are targeting the troubled areas as of today! Also, our restaurant team in METRO can use your comment on the breakfast burrito to find resolve on creating a great product, and if they will add it on our new breakfast menus coming out this first quarter.
Thank you again for choosing Hotel Metro in downtown Milwaukee! Please let us know how we may assist you prior to your next stay at anytime.
Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We LOVED our stay at Hotel Metro. This place has character. The room was large with a living room/lounge type area with a tv, two comfy chairs and a coffee table in addition to the fridge which was well stocked. The other side, separated by the 3/4 wall other users mention also had another TV. The bathroom was big and stocked with Aveda products. The tub was large and easily fit two people.

The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Everyone from the door guys, front desk to the cleaning folks were very nice and made sure we had everything we needed.

As we stayed New Years Eve, we especially appreciated the extra mile Hotel Metro took to make sure we were able to have a good time. We found complimentary champagne in the room, then were informed of the vintage car which would drive us anywhere within a few mile radius for free. That was fun. We also appreciated check out time being pushed back to 2pm.

On top of all this, the hotel is conveniently located to almost anything you might need or want to do. For us, it was a short 5 minute walk to the Pabst Theater. I feel like we got a great experience at just the right price. We'll definitely stay again the next time we find ourselves in Milwaukee.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Jenny H.,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We understand you have many choices when staying in downtown Milwaukee and we are excited you chose Hotel Metro!
When you come back to stay with us, our vintage London Cab runs guests to local entertainment venues on select days and then during the summer to all our amazing festivals and events!
(we also have complimentary bicycles during the summer months for guests to use, first come first serve to tour our lakefront and housing areas!)
Please let us know how we can assist you in your needs or amenities for your next stay anytime! We look forward to having you stay with us and thank you again for choosing Hotel Metro.

Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very nice room but not much of view in our king suite. Well appointed, nice bed, good pillows.

Room had a spa tub that may have accomodated two. Resonably priced for a dowtown hotel. Staff was friendly and check in was efficient.

Ate a late night snack in the dining room and service was efficient and the food was good.

Overnight valet parking is $27.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgbartsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you rgbatsch for your great TripAdvisor review on Hotel Metro! We appreciate guest(s) like you that take the time to tell us when we are doing a great job!
Your review will be shared with our Rock Star employees so that they understand we made a difference in a positive way to our guests!
We look forward to having you stay with us when in the downtown Milwaukee area in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 729 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Hotel Metro is a quality 4-star hotel that is well suited for a business traveler or someone enjoying the Milwaukee nightlife. I was in Milwaukee on business, and chose the Hotel Metro for its central location. I was not disappointed. All of my meetings were within walking distance of the hotel. Valet parking is available at a reasonable rate, and the lobby is very comfortable and inviting as a meeting point.

My room was very large. The hotel makes great use of a 3/4-height wall to great two seperate and distinct spaces within the room. The livingroom area has a comfortable couch and two chairs, along with a desk, honor bar and flat screen TV. The bedroom area has a king-sized bed with flat panel television nightstands and plenty of storage for clothes and personal belongings.

The bathroom is very large, and has a tub that is easily twice the size of a standard bath tub. There is a seperate shower. The vaniety has ample space for toiletries.

The free wi-fi boast a strong signal and high speed access to the internet. The wi-fi is among the best I've found in any hotel. Strong signal throughout the room and in/around the hotel.

I have stayed at the Pfister Hotel; the Hyatt and InterContinental in Milwaukee. I prefer the Hotel Metro to those hotels.

The Pfister centrally located and is the most grand and elegant of these hotels, but is almost double the nightly rate of the Hotel Metro. To me, the difference in accomodations does not warrant paying the extra cost. Hotel Metro is the pick over the Pfister based on value.

The Hyatt is comparably priced, but not centrally located. Also, the Hyatt rooms are tired and in desperate need of updating. Hotel Metro is the pick over the Hyatt based on location and comfort.

The InterContinental is comparably priced, but does not offer the comfort or optimal location. The InterContinental rooms are small, and some of the rooms need updating. The InterContinental is located near the Marcus Center, but is too far from the business district (especially in the cold Milwaukee winter). Hotel Metro is the pick over the InterContinental based on location and comfort.

I plan to stay at the Hotel Metro on my next trip to Milwaukee, and would encourage others to do the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank STP1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris_Willis, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Happy Holidays STP 1606!! Thank you for writing an awesome TripAdvisor review for Hotel Metro and the team!! We understand you have many choices in downtown Milwaukee when visiting and we look forward to your next stay with us.
I wanted to give you a little information on our 3/4 walls in our suites since you had complimented on how well we used it! Hotel Metro was designed in 1937 as an office building. The curvature of the northwest corner main entrance had a big architectural influence when capturing the art deco elegance throughout the hotel. The smooth curves are used throughout with the front desk, the walnut and chrome pillars in the lobby and METRO, the glass entrance immediately inside the front entrance and the 3/4 walls that were added to create our guest suites.
We look forward to your next stay with us and if you would like additional information, please ask for myself or any of our Rock Star staff can give you historical 'tidbits' on Hotel Metro and what makes it so amazing.

Sincerely,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing