We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hilton Customer Care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“First Class Hilton Customer Care”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I feel that I must write to congratulate the staff of the Hilton Milwaukee River for their splendid customer care during our recent stay (23.10.13). Having come from the UK on business, and in the middle of a busy US tour, we very highly appreciated the care which we received. On arrival, we were invited to share entrees in the bar, which was a thoroughly inclusive event, made possible by the flamboyant but discrete hosting by the lady bar server. This atmosphere was both welcoming and accepting, and soon had us chatting to other guests in a very friendly but not imposing way. This doesn't really happen in the UK and was an unexpected pleasure on a business trip.

I personally very much enjoyed the timber rich décor, which complemented the views of the healthy looking river, very effectively. The dinner was excellent and the server had a very keen wit for no extra charge - another delightful bonus.

On the following day, we were served at breakfast very ably by Dani who made it her personal business to ensure that we ate well, and also were very well directed to our business meeting. In fact Vance, delivered us to the meeting on time which was also most welcome since we had never ben to Milwaukee before. Dani also ensured that we were charged at the correct rate for our stay and I would like to commend her and Kathy the Rooms Manager for this service.

I do not often stay at Hilton Hotels. but if they are all like this one, I will be booking them more often in future business and leisure trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so very much for providing your insights and your comments following your recent stay with us at the Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as for the similar commentary about our award-winning restaurant, The Anchorage! All very much appreciated!

We do consider our Hotel and Restaurant to be quite unique fixtures within the local hospitality and dining community, and I am pleased to read that our combined efforts were well-received.

We are very proud of two of the items that you touched upon.....our dedicated staff members in all areas of the Hotel, and our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage. Both elements have been closely synonymous for our Hotel's success and in earning the compliments from our patrons!

The Anchorage has prided itself on very high standards, formal protocol, culinary diversity, and a unique setting in its 40-year history. A dedicated staff in all aspects of The Anchorage, from the waitstaff in front to the chefs in back, all combine efforts to make dining here a very special experience. The same holds true for the hotel staff members also, striving to create a warm environment for our guests.

We also completed enhancement projects within the hotel and restaurant to both our aesthetic decor, giving us a more contemporary look while accenting the wonderful oak that is themed throughout our complex.

From The Anchorage and their popular evening reception, to staff members like Dani and Vance who create memorable hospitality experiences, we all look forward to welcoming you back from the UK very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    190
    97
    42
    28
See reviews for
166
132
46
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Milwaukee River Hilton is your all around hotel for family or business in the Milwaukee area. Right down the street from the Bayshore Mall complex which has EVERYTHING you can find in downtown Milwaukee. Say hello to Vance in the morning at the door, or have a drink in the evening from Jill in the bar. Enjoy their wonderful restaurant cuisine. And trustt me - the Room Manager Kathy will make sure your stay is great! The staff at the Milwaukee River Hilton will treat you exactly like they want to be treated!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Russell M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you very much for commenting on items that we here at the Hotel are very proud of.....our location, our staff, and our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage!

Guests appreciate our unique setting along the river banks that still offers convenient access to both Downtown Milwaukee as well as to the great attractions locally here in Glendale such as the Bayshore Town Center. Our entire staff also works hard to create an ideal setting for both our business and social travelers.

Lastly, The Anchorage has re-established itself as a dining icon for the area, soon to celebrate its 40th anniversary! (The Anchorage also has its own Trip Advisor listing for your direct staff/culinary comments as well.)

I'm so very glad that to read that you are well-treated during your stays with us, and look forward to offering the same for your future visits!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Rooms are Clean and comfortable, but bathrooms could use some updating. Great breakfast and friendly staff. We enjoy the pumpkin decorating contest every October! The Minyans got our vote. We have tried all the hotels close to Whitefish Bay and Hilton wins hands down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, both on our Hotel as well as our Pumpkin Decorating Contest! (It's an annual event that creates teamwork and artistry with our staff members, as well as conversation and intrigue for our guests!)

The Hotel and our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, are fixtures for the entire Northshore communities, encompassing the likes of Glendale, Shorewood, and Whitefish Bay. We are also convenient to all of the business and social offerings of Downtown Milwaukee also!

We thank you for commenting on our housekeeping and restaurant staffs, as their efforts really shine for our guests.

Hope to welcome you back again soon, ahead of the next pumpkin contest!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this hotel. Incredibly clean and quiet. It is about 40 years old and shows some age, but all of that can be overlooked by the fantastic customer service. Everyone from the front desk, to the housekeeping staff to the maintenance folks all make sure they acknowledge you and want to be sure your stay is going well.
Only negative is the elevator is very slow.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us!

We do take great pride in the collective levels of customer service and cleanliness that we provide our guests, be it in the Hotel or in our restaurant, The Anchorage. In all departments, guests state that they feel like they are 'at home'!

The hotel and The Anchorage are about to celebrate its 40th anniversary. We have done moderate remodeling to accent the original classic looks of our unique facility, such as new wallpaper and carpeting to highlight all of the natural oak that is coveted by other facilities!

We hope to welcome you back again!


-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Charles Mo
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We always enjoy our visit to the Hilton Milwaukee river, Vance is so nice as is front desk staff always welcoming us back. I certainly hope you are there in May and beyond!!

We look forward to our visits and of course Sandy Brian and Ray exceed in customer service!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrie Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and your return visits to our unique Hotel! All very appreciated!

We are very proud of our Hotel, our wonderful location, and our signature restaurant, The Anchorage. But we are most proud of the levels of customer service shown by our entire staff, including those at our Front Desk and Bell Stand. (Nice to read that Vance is slowly becoming a sort of customer service icon to those he encounters!)

Please come again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The quality of the rooms were that of a Red Roof Inn not a Hilton. If it wasn't for the area being sold out because of the Lacrosse Tournament we were in town for, we would have left to stay somewhere else. The first room was dirty, the carpet was stained everywhere and there were holes/tears in the carpet and the closet door was completely off center. I requested to be moved due to the poor conditions and the over amount of noise from the unit next to us as they were having a party and being very loud for the time of night it was. The second room was no better. Spider webs in multiple corners of the room, wallpaper tore and hanging off the wall, wallpaper coming off the walls in a straight line, the bathroom door was warped and the floor around the tub was gross. Something really needs to be done about the rooms and the cleanliness/upkeep. Secondly..I left my pants in a drawer of the first room (338) and the following morning I realized as I went to finish getting dressed I had no pants. I called the desk...they had me on hold for over 5 min and then came back to ask me if they could call me back later. NO. I had to leave and couldn't because my pants were in the other room. I can't believe they asked to call me back after leaving me on hold for so long. Seriously...It was a bad weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Tinamarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your time and comments following your stay with us.

As was done on other online forums to which you provided similar commentary, we do apologize, and have done so directly to you repeatedly by other members of our staff, regarding the circumstances of your stay with us.

Many of our other guests, including those affiliated with the same Lacrosse tournament that brought you to our Hotel, complimented us on the services they received, on the levels of customer service shown to them by our staff members, and of the overall quality of our Hotel and award-winning restaurant, The Anchorage.

Our Hotel also has received very high marks from our overnight and dining patrons on this very Trip Advisor site, where we take great pride in working hard to earn these marks. Both our Hotel and our restaurant also have earned the 2013 Award of Excellence from Trip Advisor as well.

The condition of your particular guestroom was certainly not up to our collective standards. I did thank our Front Desk for making the correct decisions in relocating your room as best as we could during a busy weekend session, as well as admonish our Housekeeping and Maintenance staffs for the gaffes that allowed an out-of-order room to be placed back into general inventory, and was subsequently checked-in for your stay.

This room is certainly not indicative of our entire Hotel, as we have made substantial enhancements to our property over the past few years.

I sympathize with your inconveniences that weekend, and assure you that corrective measures on all applicable fronts have been done.

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It has a beautiful view of a river from the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was a bit pricey, but was excellent and the staff helpful. The banquet facilities, staff, and food was beyond my expectations. The ease of check in and checkout was surprising. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jzekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel, and in particular, the dining and catering capabilities shown by our signature restaurant, The Anchorage!

Many events hosted here at our Hotel can trace their success to the quality, attentiveness, and setting of our facility and The Anchorage. We are quite proud of their efforts, and are glad to read that they were well-received!

The Anchorage also has their own dedicated Trip Advisor listing so they can be formally recognized as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
#29 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing