We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience while passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I needed a place to stay for the night while passing through Milwaukee so we could take our son, who lives there, out to dinner. The price was right, the facility very attractive and the service was appreciated. We weren't there long enough to get a good feel for everything, but the complimentary breakfast because of our AAA registration was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank H2392GWdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thanks for your comments following your stay here! Glad that you happened upon us while visiting your son.....hopefully not the last visit either!

It's always nice to read that the combination of our staff, presentation, and customer service levels made for a pleasant stay, as we are very proud of these aspects for our hotel! Additionally, we do offer a variety of different room packages and discounts, depending on group membership and/or the season, where items like breakfast passes could be included.

Should you and your wife need to visit a homesick (and hungry!) son again, we look forward to welcoming you back! Please try our restaurant, The Anchorage, for that trip!

-- Michael Dietrich
G.M. / Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a good hotel for the person who just needs lodging in the Northeast of Milwaukee. Nothing fancy. Nothing extraordinary. Everything clean and appealing. The neighbor hood is not what it once was so they hired guards to watch the parking lot and roam the hotel. Only problem is the guards read newspapers, eat or watch tv in the lobby, do everything but guard. Leave nothing in your car. There are break-ins in the free parking lot

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for providing us with your comments after your stay, as they all assist us in both maintaining our high standards or making corrections as warranted.

We are very proud of our levels of customer service and responsiveness, and that begins with our Housekeeping Staff. Their great effort assures our guests of clean, comfortable accommodations during their travels.

We are also proud of our location, which in Glendale places our facility in the midst of a medical office park and within striking distance to the nearby Bayshore Town Center Mall and to Milwaukee's Downtown district.

Our facility in no means is in any questionable or unsavory areas. Like with virtually ANY area of ANY city, negative elements may arise. Thankfully, they are few and far between here! And common sense would also dictate that no one should ever leave valuables in plain view of a locked car. Anywhere. Not just our hotel.

I did address the guard situation with the private company that assists us in the overnight hours. Since we contract with them, they assured me that they would be making immediate corrective changes based on your observations.

This all said, we do hope to welcome you back very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Now full disclosure I love the people from the mid west they are down to earth , honest and fun to be with . I used to work for a company in Green Bay and that when I was first exposed to these folks when I lived in the UK . So the hotel is ok , but any deficiencies are make up by the great local people running the place. It seems many of the hotels in this state were built in the 80's and have been patched up and upgraded in small ways to keep up to code . The Hilton is the same way , slightly rough around the edges ( peeling wall paper areas , stained window treatments , bronze taps in at he bathroom etc) but the rooms are clean and warm and homely . You get all the normal Hilton benefits but no club room so a voucher for a free drink at the bar. The lift comes straight out of the 80's and makes me smile because it's pumping out loud happy music all the time . It's like my son coming home late a night , I hear the music before I hear the car , same for the lift. Beds were comfortable with a duvet , they do give you mouthwash which non of the other brands tend to do . Overall a reasonable experience I would stay again

Room Tip: I had a room facing the parking lot , but these rooms are so old they are all well insulated a part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you very much for tasking the time to provide your comments about your recent stay with us!

Of the many facets of our operation that we are proud of, highlighted by our acclaimed restaurant The Anchorage, we receive many accolades about our personable staff members. From the front desk to our housekeepers to our restaurant personnel, they all combine their efforts to create a pleasant and memorable stay for our guests. And I’m glad to read that they were positively noted by you during your visit!

We are also always looking to improve both our levels of customer service, as well as the physical condition of our Hotel setting. The Hotel, along with many other areas of the facility, did receive various enhancements such as new hallway carpeting and wallpaper, new flat screen TVs, and select new furniture all designed to accent some of our signature features like solid oak trimming. (We didn't want to ruin aspects of the facility that have made us an area icon for nearly 40 years, including in The Anchorage itself!)

Should your travels bring you to the area again, we hope to welcome you back and be of continued service!

-- Michael Dietrich / G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The best people in thw world work here. Great food,great bar and great rooms. It is close to freeway,downtown and shopping. The view of the river is wonderful. Great patio for dining in nthe summer.The restaurant has a huge menu and the Chef will make just about anything you could want.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank marlene_clough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you so very much for the comments and compliments about our Hotel!

Very appreciated, as you covered all of the primary areas that we are quite proud of.....our dedicated staff, our signature restaurant The Anchorage, and our convenient location! In fact, The Anchorage (soon to celebrate its 40th anniversary) also has its own Trip Advisor listing for your direct comments about our cuisine, chef, and ambiance!

We all look forward to having you stay and dine with us again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The restaurant has the best hotel food I've experienced in a long time. The staff was excellent in ensuring that any issue is resolved immediately. It's not the fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay and dining experience! All very appreciated!

From our award-winning restaurant, The Anchorage, to our levels of customer service provided by our staff, I am very proud of what our unique facility offers to our guests. In fact, these two features, our staff and The Anchorage, are regularly noted by our guests!

The Anchorage certainly is not your typical ‘hotel restaurant’, and will soon celebrate 40 years of dining excellence for the area. Widely appreciated for its unique and fresh seafood entrées, we have also added Allen Brothers steaks to strengthen a revamped menu.

The Anchorage also has its own dedicated Trip Advisor listing for your comments, especially as you have noted that it was the best hotel food that you have experienced in a while. (I’m sure they will appreciate these comments directly on their listing!)

For the hotel side, we are always making improvements and enhancements, recently adding new wallpaper and carpeting to our public area corridors.

We thank you again for your comments, for your culinary accolades, and do look forward to welcoming you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I would heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling. It is in a great spot. A few miles south is downtown, easily accessible, and a few miles north is one of the neatest malls/shopping districts my wife and I have visited in a while. The Hilton has always been one of our favorites and the one in Milwaukee on the river was no exception. From check-in to check-out we were extremely satisfied with the entire stay. The staff were very helpful and provided a welcomed stay we will not soon forget. The restaurant in the same complex served great seafood and the portions were delightful. The wait staff were very helpful in explaining several items on the menu as to preparation. The prices at the restaurant were very comparable to fine dining establishments anywhere we have chosen to have dinner in any city. Milwaukee is a fabulous city with a phenomenal downtown. I would recommend a visit to Milwaukee and the Hilton on the River to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank duke-duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for providing your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay and dining experience! They are all much appreciated!

From our award-winning restaurant, The Anchorage, to our unique location along the Milwaukee River to the levels of customer service provided by our staff, I am very proud of what our facility offers to our guests. Our facility in fact is regularly noted for these two dominant traits of customer service and The Anchorage.

The Anchorage will soon celebrate 40 years of dining excellence, and is widely appreciated for its unique and fresh seafood entrées, in addition to a new menu now that features Allen Brothers steaks.

Our location also affords guests the convenience of being very close to Downtown Milwaukee with its numerous attractions, but without the typical issues of downtown pricings and parking. We are also less than a mile away from the Bayshore Town Center Mall, giving our guests shopping and entertainment options less than 5 minutes away from the Hotel! And even more convenient with our complimentary shuttle!

We thank you again for your comments, for your recommendations, and do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I feel that I must write to congratulate the staff of the Hilton Milwaukee River for their splendid customer care during our recent stay (23.10.13). Having come from the UK on business, and in the middle of a busy US tour, we very highly appreciated the care which we received. On arrival, we were invited to share entrees in the bar, which was a thoroughly inclusive event, made possible by the flamboyant but discrete hosting by the lady bar server. This atmosphere was both welcoming and accepting, and soon had us chatting to other guests in a very friendly but not imposing way. This doesn't really happen in the UK and was an unexpected pleasure on a business trip.

I personally very much enjoyed the timber rich décor, which complemented the views of the healthy looking river, very effectively. The dinner was excellent and the server had a very keen wit for no extra charge - another delightful bonus.

On the following day, we were served at breakfast very ably by Dani who made it her personal business to ensure that we ate well, and also were very well directed to our business meeting. In fact Vance, delivered us to the meeting on time which was also most welcome since we had never ben to Milwaukee before. Dani also ensured that we were charged at the correct rate for our stay and I would like to commend her and Kathy the Rooms Manager for this service.

I do not often stay at Hilton Hotels. but if they are all like this one, I will be booking them more often in future business and leisure trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you so very much for providing your insights and your comments following your recent stay with us at the Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as for the similar commentary about our award-winning restaurant, The Anchorage! All very much appreciated!

We do consider our Hotel and Restaurant to be quite unique fixtures within the local hospitality and dining community, and I am pleased to read that our combined efforts were well-received.

We are very proud of two of the items that you touched upon.....our dedicated staff members in all areas of the Hotel, and our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage. Both elements have been closely synonymous for our Hotel's success and in earning the compliments from our patrons!

The Anchorage has prided itself on very high standards, formal protocol, culinary diversity, and a unique setting in its 40-year history. A dedicated staff in all aspects of The Anchorage, from the waitstaff in front to the chefs in back, all combine efforts to make dining here a very special experience. The same holds true for the hotel staff members also, striving to create a warm environment for our guests.

We also completed enhancement projects within the hotel and restaurant to both our aesthetic decor, giving us a more contemporary look while accenting the wonderful oak that is themed throughout our complex.

From The Anchorage and their popular evening reception, to staff members like Dani and Vance who create memorable hospitality experiences, we all look forward to welcoming you back from the UK very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
#32 of 56 in Milwaukee
633 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: £72 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing