We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO LONGER A HILTON HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NO LONGER A HILTON HOTEL”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is being switched to a holiday Inn property, and is going through building changes right now. The hallways are old-looking, fixtures, carpet, and other things need replacing which is I guess why they are overhauling the place. Room seems nice enough and clean though except for some mildew in the bathtub and some wallpaper issues.

Probably would have stayed somewhere else had I known that they were switching to a different hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan7288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for your comments!

New ownership of the property is beginning the transition to become a magnificent Holiday Inn property, building upon our past successes such as our noted restaurant, The Anchorage, our dedicated staff and service levels, the prior enhancements such as new carpeting and wallpaper, and our river-side locale.

A larger lobby with river views, an expanded ballroom, a refurbished restaurant with an expanded patio, and totally remodel guestrooms will all be included in these next few months!

We look forward to being a part of your lodging and dining needs as these enhancements progress!

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    195
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
170
140
46
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was very comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful and the buffet was excellent for breakfast. The check in/out procedure was smooth. It was an enjoyable stay even though we were not in our room very much. We had a nice view of the river from our room. It was a good room for the price and we will return to this hotel if in this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbatzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your comments that positively referenced a number of our amenities, staff, and services.

We take great pride in the levels of customer service, cleanliness, the ambiance of our location, and the quality of our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, that we extend to our guests!

We do look forward to welcoming you back here again for your area travels!

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very pleasant and comfortable room. Clean throughout the hotel. Food was excellent, service exceptional. Very friendly and polite staff. I have stayed here more than once and am always impressed. Staff goes out of their way to accommodate guests. There are plenty of choices on the menu, all top quality. The hotel has a nice atmosphere overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for providing your comments following your stay with us!

The items that you referenced...great food in The Anchorage, very clean property, and friendly service-oriented staff members.....are items that we are also very proud of!

We greatly appreciate your continued patronage, and as we make renovations to our entire facility, look forward to your next visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First, as everyone else said, the staff at this hotel is absolutely great. Everyone really tries to be nice and the Hilton feels like a family run hotel. Unfortunately, the good things stop here... This was without a doubt the saddest Hilton I've ever stayed at: everything was very worn, tired and it smelled. The only good thing about my room was the bed, which was comfortable and I got a good night's sleep. This hotel needs a total overhaul of the rooms and common areas. Staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments!

We appreciate your praise of our staff, as they truly are the backbone of our unique Hotel.

Our property has made a series of renovations and improvements in the recent past, and look forward to much more in the coming months as a new owner assumes control. Our property is beginning the transition to become a magnificent HGI / Holiday Inn property, building upon our past successes such as our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, our dedicated staff and service levels that you positively referenced, and our river-side location.

A larger lobby with river views, an expanded ballroom, a refurbished restaurant with an expanded patio, and totally remodel guestrooms will all be included in these next few months!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back with the great changes!

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Charles Mo
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My party stayed at the Hilton and continued to comment on how wonderful the staff were no matter who they spoke too. One commented I would stay here next time in town.

It was perfect - I hope the new flag, retains this wonderful team!! After the rooms are redecorated. Please don't mess with the Anchorage & Bar!!

Special Thanks to Karen, Kathy Vance and the always friendly front desk staff, housekeeping, maintenance and security.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrie Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Even though the hotel is older, it is well kept and clean. The day we were there it was raining and the view to the river would have been nice in better weather. I'd stay there again and will when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This Hotel is very clean and the staff is pleasant. The Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was very good with a vast majority of choices. The patio was nice but a little cold to be sitting out just yet as it is spring in Wisconsin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank car-cet348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, as we agree with you on all levels!

We are proud of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, proud of our staff members and their diligence towards cleanliness and customer service.....and, yes disappointed that the spring was so cold that our Patio was chilly most of the season!

That means you will have to come and visit us again.....this time in the summer!

-- Michael Dietrich
Director of Sales & Marketing
Milwaukee River Inn & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,586 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing