We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved by the Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Madison
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Saved by the Front Desk”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I purchased the room through an online discount travel agency. When I was ready to check in, the hotel didn't have my name. I started to panic, but the gal at the front desk went above and beyond to contact the agency and get the issue straightened out. We we able to get our room after all and really appreciate her help. We stayed in a room that had yet to be remodeled and it was still nice and very large. My only suggestion would be to remodel the indoor pool, as well. It was very small and only 4 ft deep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Milwaukee River. It's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalen L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Kathy,

Thanks for your review of your most recent stay at the Milwaukee River Inn. We're glad your experience was up to par with what you expected and we're so happy to have helped you sort out the issues presented booking with a third party. Though we are undergoing a major change in our building, management, and ownership, our guests and their needs are still our top priority, and we're happy to hear that we were able to show that to you. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    191
    100
    42
    28
See reviews for
169
135
46
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We used to love coming here when it was a Hilton property, but it remains under construction with dust and noise, narrow ground halls , understaffed, and a front desk that just says, " Sorry about that"! Definitely Not a value!
We will be looking elsewhere , as this is evidence of things to come.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conraddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalen L, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Conradd,

Thank you for writing a review about your most recent stay at the Milwaukee River Inn. We apologize for the troubles that you experienced with your most recent stay. As we remain under construction we take these comments seriously and want you to know that we are going to be a superior full service hotel flying the Holiday Inn flag and under new ownership and management. We invite you back, once the construction is finished, to experience our hotel and let us show you our commitment to customer service. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Milwaukee River Inn has an indoor pool and a small intimate 24-hour fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas and a computer station is located on site. There is a 24-hour business center on site. Dining options include a restaurant on property, however, there are plenty of options in the surrounding community including a select variety of shopping boutiques, The Bayshore Town Center and quite a few attractions. There is complimentary self parking and my favorite, it is a smoke free Property. The rooms here at this property were very spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable with the pillowtop bedding. I travel with a lot of luggage and the room allows me to set up my personal belongings with the comfort of no clutter in my space. The staff were helpful and very friendly. There was construction with remodeling and renovation upgrades to the hotel but once it is done, I can tell the hotel will earn its status with five stars. I am very choosy about where I stay and try to do research on all my hotels before making reservations. This hotel has occurring changes at this time, however, I recommend the stay here and I plan to visit again. I so look forward to see the completion of the renovations. I write reviews for all my visits to hotels and restaurants. So I have no problem with issuing out truthful compliments or complaints of services at I received at an establishment. My reviews are worldwide.

Room Tip: Be specific as far as where you would like to stay. Rooms on the south side of the building are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindySQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalen L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
LindySQ,

Thanks for your review of your most recent stay at the Milwaukee River Inn. We are experiencing a major change in our building, management, and ownership, but our guests and their needs are still our top priority, and we're glad that you were able to receive the very best we have to offer. We very much look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

While it's true one must overlook many things going on at the Milwaukee River Inn during remodeling, we experienced many good things also. The beds were clean and very comfortable. We found the staff to be polite and very helpful. The highlight of our stay was the bartender, Brian, who not only entertained us, but served our very delicious dinner right at the bar! We also had excellent food and service by Sarah at breakfast in the Anchorage. Can't wait to see the finished product after the remodeling is complete!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevknu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalen L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
bevknu,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay at the Milwaukee River Inn. Though we are undergoing a major change in our building, management, and ownership, we still hold our guests and their needs as our top priority. We're glad to hear that Brian entertained you well and that you enjoyed your meal at the Anchorage Restaurant. We're also happy to hear of Sarah's exceptional service; and, your good breakfast. We look forward to the chance to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I made reservations in February for two rooms for the 4th of July weekend. At the time I made the reservations this was a Hilton property. We had stayed here before and loved it. A few weeks before our trip I went to my Hilton account to double check my reservations and saw that it had disappeared. I called the hotel and was told it was no longer a Hilton property but it was in transition. They looked up my reservations and confirmed the rooms and rate were exactly as I had made them.

When I arrived on the 4th we saw that there were major renovations being made. I wasn't told of that when I had called. We start our check-in at a make shift desk and were given the paperwork to sign. The rate was $50 more per night than what we booked the room for. We pointed this out to the clerk (I believe his name is Ty). He said that we need to "prove it". Excuse me? I have to PROVE it? How about asking in a more customer friendly way. We said that we called a few weeks earlier and everything, including the rate was accurate. Again, he said he needs proof and can't just take our word for it. I said that it appears that our friends who were also staying there had already checked in. We had the exact same rate that they had because we made the reservations at the same time. He said that wasn't good enough and he still needs proof. We were on our motorcycles and didn't have the printed material handy. We started to dig through our bags finding the "proof". I have always used my Hilton account as a confirmation, but the information was no longer available online. A polite woman who worked there must have overheard the conversation because she came out and immediately fixed the issue. She said she knew which rate we had received.

After check-in we realized we were not given our breakfast vouchers. I went back to the front desk and Ty didn't apologize or speak in any way. He just started filling out the vouchers and handed them to me.

I don't know if I will go back - at least not until the renovations are complete and not speak with the man who originally checked us in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalen L, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Lizzzg,

Thank you for writing a review about your most recent stay with the Milwaukee River Inn. I am so sorry for the troubles that we experienced during your visit. As we acknowledge the Hilton did not inform individuals on the transition it was their goal for the smooth transition. We are under-going a multi-million dollar renovation and we are committed to retaining the customers from the Hilton to experience an even better hotel then previously. Please visit us again to see our new front desk staff and their commitment to our customers. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attica, Indiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

arrived at 2:00 in the afternood august 2nd-younger girl at desk said our room was not ready--other people were told the same-asked 1/2 hour later if room was ready she said no-asked again at 3:00 she said it was ready i forgot to tell you-room is dated badly- we had a river view room-not worth the extra money--room was clean but no itinerary at all in the room about the hotel or restaurant--we did eat at the restaurant at 5:00-we were the only people in there--waitress{blond gal} was very nice and did a good job-food is expensive but very good! the location was close to downtown which is really nice--but until the remodel is done i would not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalen L, Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay with us at the Milwaukee River Inn, we are committed to customer excellence as the hotel is under new management and ownership. While this transition is difficult, in we are exciting for the contemporary style that our guests are asking for. We hope to see your in the near future once we fly the Holiday Inn flag at the end of November. Thank you again for your review and understanding our transition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It's difficult to truly rate this hotel becaue it is under construction and in transition from a Hilton to apparently a Holiday Inn. I stayed here for business at a client's recommendation but it was not the caliber of hotel I would typically stay in and I would not stay here again. One thing that irritated me is that most of the tv stations were unavailable and even though they advertised HBO, it was unavailable. This is a mediocre hotel at best. Perhaps once the renovations are complete it will be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalen L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I apologize that your stay was not to your expectations. Yes, we are going through an extensive renovation which will make the property brand new from top to bottom. In regards to the cable, we did have an issue on one of the evenings and I am so sorry that it happened to be the night you stayed with us. I can assure you that the issue has been addressed and we are currently updating the cable in all the rooms. We hope that you will be back following the renovation to see the amazing transformation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,472 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing