We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
643 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Upgraded old style hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good points
1. Very close to the convention centre. There is a skywalk linking the two on the 4th floor.
2. The lobby has many of the original features and it does not feel like the standard hotels that are characterless
3. Many of the rooms have been recently refurbished.

Bad points
1. Although the room was average size there were two beds inside for 1 guest so around a third of the space was unusable.
2. Loud and intrusive air conditioning unit. It is a pity that the air conditioning units were not upgraded to more quieter ones during the recent refurbishment
3. Loud toilet flushing. Toilets flush like the ones on airplanes and because the soundproofing between rooms is not the best, you hear in your room the noise every time your neighbour flushes their toilet.
4. You have to pay for internet access. Speed is OK if you want to just deal with emails. Access is for just one device even if you have paid for internet access, unless you pay twice.
5. The duvets do not have replaceable covers. They place a sheet under and above the duvet but the result is by the morning you are often covered by just the Duvet without any cover – very questionable hygiene experience.

Would I stay here again? For sheer convenience I would stay at the Hilton or Hyatt if I was attending a conference in Milwaukee – it is such a luxury to be able to walk from your room to the lecture theatre without stepping outside. Personally I will try the Hyatt next time to see if it is better than the Hilton. I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello MMmd,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback here on TripAdvisor. We value all input from our guests both good and bad. We certainly will take all of your points into consideration when we regularly re-evaluate our services for our guests.

Thank you again for your honest and candid feedback. I'm happy to see that there were many components of your experience that you found rewarding as well.

I sincerely hope that the next time you visit Milwaukee, you consider staying with us again.

Best,

Dustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    713
    276
    145
    61
See reviews for
330
427
109
896
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A beautiful lobby greets you and very efficient staff is available. Rooms are comfortable. Room service was timely. The HHonors breakfast had a better buffet than most. The scrambled eggs were good and a nice selection of fruit. Something for everyone was available. I liked the room set aside for HHonors, very relaxing for mornings or a glass of wine in the evening.

Easy to walk to downtown areas and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pella, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a downtown hotel with real charm and character, yet modern conveniences. The staff is friendly and professional and having 2 restaurants, plus a Starbucks right inside the hotel is really nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has great service, and is within walking distance of shopping and restaurants, and directly across the street from the City Center. There are also a few restaurants within the hotel that are nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Dineen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILLIAMSBURG MI, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great hotel with walk way access to the convention center and fast elevators with very little wait time. There were well placed escalators to the walkway both in the hotel and the convention center. We ate in the bar because the menu and the food was so good and competitively priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi William,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. Happy to see that you found the location convient and the bar menu delicious and affordable.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best,

Dustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful old-world hotel - attended a wedding which was extravagant! All the food served was excellent. Staff, very attentive, friendly, helpful. Location was okay - have to walk a ways (4-5+ blocks) for nice lunch or cocktail - outside of the hotel bar/grille and cocktail lounge.
We had a corner room - small - like most older hotels, but comfortable - quiet - room temp was easy and effective in adjusting. Shower made loud pipe sounds which likely woke up neighbors - sorry! Parking just down the street - not even a half block - $25 per night. Amtrack Station - about a block away. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: corner rooms are tight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shwanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed for a week for a trade show at the convention center. Everyone was helpful and friendly. The Chop House was upscale and very good. We were able to walk to the art fest on the river in about 30 min. Also saw an air show. Sat outside of the Harbor House for a great glass of wine and food. The nights were very cool but the day warmed up nicely. (June is a nice time of year there) Upper Floor had great views on on the East side.
The only thing missing in the room was a small refrig. and the bathroom was kind of small.

Room Tip: Upper floors East side can see the water in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,856 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,590 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,082 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Property: Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing