We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Hotwire at a fabulous rate for a last minute getaway to Summerfest. This place is huge! The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a recently renovated room that was clean and comfortable. Hotel was convenient to Summerfest Shuttle ($1 roundtrip) Would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearsdomin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Front Office Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

It's great to know our recently renovated areas are being well appreciated! We look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Hilton was very accessible from the highway and parking was convenient. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. I would stay at this hotel again for business or leisure. Special features were the "old world charm" that was preserved from the original hotel but modernization was done so everything was functional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Front Office Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

At 86 years old, it is wonderful to have a piece of history still standing in Milwaukee for everyone to enjoy! Thank you Marilyn for enjoying it with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel is great. Very clean. Extremely courteous staff throughout. The rooms were just what I was looking for. Quiet, neat and nicely laid out. In the hub of the city with many opportunities to get out and find something enjoyable to do. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for a congress at the attached Wisconsin Centre. The hotel is huge with some Art Deco features. But overall the hotel fittings need a bit of an uplift. Big plus however is that the staff are super friendly and helpful. I did enjoy my stay there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank az72az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Hilton downtown Milwaukee this past weekend for a bachelorette party. It was in a great location as we walked almost everywhere, and cabs were all over the outside when we needed one. Front desk staff was really friendly and helpful and the rooms were really nice. Bathrooms are really small, but not a big deal to us. Was a perfect choice for the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good points
1. Very close to the convention centre. There is a skywalk linking the two on the 4th floor.
2. The lobby has many of the original features and it does not feel like the standard hotels that are characterless
3. Many of the rooms have been recently refurbished.

Bad points
1. Although the room was average size there were two beds inside for 1 guest so around a third of the space was unusable.
2. Loud and intrusive air conditioning unit. It is a pity that the air conditioning units were not upgraded to more quieter ones during the recent refurbishment
3. Loud toilet flushing. Toilets flush like the ones on airplanes and because the soundproofing between rooms is not the best, you hear in your room the noise every time your neighbour flushes their toilet.
4. You have to pay for internet access. Speed is OK if you want to just deal with emails. Access is for just one device even if you have paid for internet access, unless you pay twice.
5. The duvets do not have replaceable covers. They place a sheet under and above the duvet but the result is by the morning you are often covered by just the Duvet without any cover – very questionable hygiene experience.

Would I stay here again? For sheer convenience I would stay at the Hilton or Hyatt if I was attending a conference in Milwaukee – it is such a luxury to be able to walk from your room to the lecture theatre without stepping outside. Personally I will try the Hyatt next time to see if it is better than the Hilton. I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton however.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hello MMmd,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback here on TripAdvisor. We value all input from our guests both good and bad. We certainly will take all of your points into consideration when we regularly re-evaluate our services for our guests.

Thank you again for your honest and candid feedback. I'm happy to see that there were many components of your experience that you found rewarding as well.

I sincerely hope that the next time you visit Milwaukee, you consider staying with us again.

Best,

Dustin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A beautiful lobby greets you and very efficient staff is available. Rooms are comfortable. Room service was timely. The HHonors breakfast had a better buffet than most. The scrambled eggs were good and a nice selection of fruit. Something for everyone was available. I liked the room set aside for HHonors, very relaxing for mornings or a glass of wine in the evening.

Easy to walk to downtown areas and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,111 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,722 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: £77 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing