We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE AT THE IRON HORSE, SMYTH RESTURANT”

Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Walker's Point
Cross street: 6th Street
Description: The quintessential experience in Rustic-American cuisine. From individual dining to groups of all sizes - lose yourself in the comfort of the finely appointed dining room, the warm and friendly service, and the beautiful Iron Horse Hotel.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AN OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE AT THE IRON HORSE, SMYTH RESTURANT”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A friend of mine was in town and I decided to try SMYTH. I had eaten there some years ago and I heard a few friends mention that the food and service were really great. And they were right! My friend owns a resturant and manages others, so his judgment in regard to our shared experience was a great confirmation of my own. SMYTH is outstanding. It was one of the best meals I have had in Milwaukee. I had bone in rye eye and he has venison. We both has the Kale salad. The food was execeptional and our waitress, Jennifer and our hostess, Jasmine was first class. I am really impressed and my friend was thoroughly pleased with where I choose to take him to dinner

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    87
    38
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous hip hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Could have been in Chelsea are of NYC . Hip atmosphere. Great fabulous large loft style rooms. Great vibe in the bar and throughout the hotel! Absolutely loved staying there! Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Manager at Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. Very happy to hear your time with us was a great one. We look forward to having you back soon. If I can assist you in any way please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at jcotton@theironhorsehotel.com

Cheers

Jason Cotton
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveller in UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ate for breakfast”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Classic, solid US breakfast and coffee. Friendly staff, reasonable prices. Liked the simple menu, would have loved to eat for dinner but no time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeekingLocalFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Director of Food and Beverage at Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear SeekingLocalFood

Thanks for sharing your experience. Sorry you couldn’t stay for dinner but this just gives you another reason to come back. If I can ever be of any service please reach out to me at jcotton@theironhorsehotel.com. See you soon!

Jason Cotton
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Food was amazing, excellent wine list... Staff very knowledgable and helpful... No need to go anywhere else for dinner if your staying at The Iron Horse

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank debbies087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Director of Food and Beverage at Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Debbies087

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. Very happy to hear your time with us was a great one. We look forward to having you back soon. If I can assist you in any way please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at jcotton@theironhorsehotel.com.

Cheers

Jason Cotton
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel restaurants are not typically my first choice when considering where to dine out. However, we arrived in Milwaukee on a Friday evening and were staying at the Ironhorse Hotel and wanted to keep it simple. We ended up having a fabulous meal and enjoyed great service. Our waiter made great recommendations for both beer and mixed drinks. Entrees were excellent and creative. The ambiance of the restaurant, like the hotel itself, is refurbished industrial with interesting lighting and artwork.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AkrontravelerAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Director of Food and Beverage at Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Akron,

Thanks for sharing your review with everyone. It is always a pleasure to hear comments about our food and beverage programs not falling into the same "tired hotel restaurants" as many hotel restaurants do. Our menus, intuitive service model, and people all believe and work every day for this. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with us and the world and hope to see you back soon.

If I can be of any service to you during your next visit please don't hesitate to contact me directly at jcotton@theironhorsehotel.com

Jason Cotton
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing