We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to get a little exercise.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakefront Trail

Lakefront Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing City Tour
Ranked #54 of 166 things to do in Milwaukee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shoreline trail along Lake Michigan.
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice way to get a little exercise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice walking/bike path durning the daytime. If you go out there at night be aware of your surroundings. If you are with a group at night will not be a problem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRO9041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,004 reviews
567 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,170 helpful votes
“Great views of downtown Milwaukee and Lake Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Milwaukee Lakefront Trail used to be called the Milwaukee 76 Trail to honor the bicentennial, but many of the trails that run through the city are now called the Oak Leaf Trail. There's this one that runs along the lake; another runs along the river, and still others through some of the city parks.

My wife and I walked the Lakefront Trail during a recent day trip to Milwaukee. The Lakefront Trail is located right next to Veteran’s Park. This trail offers a very nice path to walk or ride a bicycle. It offers great views of downtown Milwaukee. This is a great place to take pictures. This trail is looped and is a total of 5.9 miles.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
805 reviews
543 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 689 helpful votes
“Nice walk and perfect picture back drop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Good place to enjoy some fresh air and take a walk. This is also a great place to take pictures. It offers you plenty of options - greens, trees, water, nice buildings and beautiful skies. It pretty much has everything you would expect from a lakefront trail.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Was in Milwaukee for a couple days on a boys weekend with immediate family for brewery tours and a Cubs game. We had some time one day while we were there and wandered around near the hotel and ended up here. Just wandering around this is pretty. Saw several boats of different types, including I believe a clipper (sorry, not too up on my boats, it was a 3 mast-er anyhow). The views are pretty as well. Bring a camera. Looking out to the lake is photo-worthy, as is looking back toward the city. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Bad Things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I love this trail and me and my dog walk it nearly every day. But there were two sexual assaults last Tuesday afternoon so we won't go back for a while and I'll try to remember to take my phone to call 911 as my dog would only lick the guy. They caught him but I'm still a bit freaked out to go there without my husband. It's a great place without molesters.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thedoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakefront Trail also viewed

 

Been to Lakefront Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing