We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk to Water Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walk to Water Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Great location in the heart of Milwaukee.

Can easily walk to bars and restaurants on either Water Street or Old World 3rd. My wife and I walked to Wisconsin Cheese Mart/Bar for Beer Flights before dinner on Water Street. After dinner we headed back to the lobby bar which was a lot of fun.

Our SPG membership paid off as we were upgraded to a suite looking over Juneau ave. and the River. The room was clean and and the layout was as expected.

The Service from the staff was very good from beginning to end.

Note that this is a place where people have fun. They offer a Sleep Aid Kit (at no expense) which has eye mask, ear plugs, aromatherapy body patch, and herb tea. We heard folks coming in at 2am+ and still having a good time.

Overall, very cool hip place and can't beat being able to "walk" home from a late night with friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
From the sounds of it, you had a good time while here and we appreciate you staying with us. Glad the service was excellent for you during your stay. We just started offering the sleep kits as a way of hopefully getting you the rest you need. Sorry about the noise, it is something that we are continually trying to improve on and it takes a combinde staff effort as well as guests having courtesy as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    221
    96
    49
    22
See reviews for
82
229
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Very modern rooms, everything is updated, and very close to the downtown bars/restaurants. Also, the lobby has a free pool table and a nice lounge bar area. The only complaint is that there was no fan in the bathrooms and the door to the shower was a simple sliding door. Other then that, the room was really nice!

Oh and the pool is open 24 hours!

Room Tip: I got a great deal through priceline on this hotel and would definitely stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We appreciate you letting us know about your experience with us and we are so happy that we were a good fit for you while in Milwaukee. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Lower priced hotel option that is really a slightly better Hampton Inn. You could group Fairfield Inn in there as well. Throw in all the "Inn's". Quirky, and I guess, cool touches throughout hotel. A small convenience store in the lobby, low grade Bliss products in the bath, open bathroom, shower, no bath, no chair other than the desk chair. Very functional if nothing else. Foam pillows, which I loathe. Windows that seem designed so that you're looking into someone else's room.

Room Tip: Usually on a busy street so stay on the other side. But,depending on temperature outside, there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thanks for taking the time out to share your experience and thoughts with us. Glad we were able to have you stay with us on your travels. Though we wish we stood out more, your review is accurate in the amenities that we do have. The concept and design are really dependent on what a traveler is looking for when they stay at a hotel. The pilllow situation is weird, because you should have had feather pillows (we carry foam for requests) and we will look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this hotel from top to bottom. The staff, location, facilities were all perfect for the business traveler. The rooms were particularly well set-up and very clean. I'll be certain to stay their again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rp0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to take care of you on this visit to Milwaukee. We appreciate you taking time out to let us know about your experience and are happy to know that we took care of you on this visit. We hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I've stayed at 3 or 4 different Alofts...they are always consistently nice and clean. And usually, the front desk people are quite nice...but I think since this one is located in Wisconsin, these folks were extra nice...or Wisconsin-nice. Very helpful and sweet.
I liked that I could walk to Marquette (although a bit of a hike) as well as to downtown shopping and restaurants. They also had a shuttle service to get around the local area (not the airport).
I booked on hotwire, so i was extra happy with the price...but i think it is moderately inexpensive.
Milwaukee was way nicer and more interesting than I expected. have fun!

Room Tip: I can't say i was happy with the room location...it was about a mile from the elevator, facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGypsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We are so happy that we were able to be a part of your Milwaukee experience. Milwaukee is one of those cities that goes underappreciated and unnoticed at times. Once you visit though, you can understand what the attraction is. Hopefully, we will haev the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I Love this hotel!! This was my first stay at an aloft, andI must say they are AMAZING!!! Great food, lovely front desk staff! Everything was at a low cost. The front desk was extremely helpful, giving us great reccomendations for nearby restauraunts. AJBombers is a MUST. We will definately be returning to this hotel and Milwaukee!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We are so happy that we were able to take care of you and meet your expectations on this visit to Miwlaukee. We will definitely congratulate our front desk team on the service provided. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I first stayed at an Aloft in Munich, Germany. I remember thinking at the time that this concept would be perfect in the US, and I was thrilled to see one come up in my search results while planning a recent trip to Milwaukee.

The concept: It's like a cross between a budget, low-frills hotel and a design hotel, with most of them situated in a BRILLIANT location for business and recreational travelers. The price tends to fall in the moderate range in most locations. The lobby and rooms tend toward modern, high-end design. Colors are bright and bold, and because they are new, they tend to be in pretty good shape.

The rooms: Don't expect a big room. Expect a small room that is very thoughtfully designed to seem a lot bigger than it is when you're staying there. Seriously -- they squeeze utility out of every square inch. I wish my house was designed this well.

Room amenities: They had everything I expected, from free WiFi and a nice big TV right down to toiletries from Bliss in NYC (my favorite.) What a nice touch to find their signature "Mini Blue Bar" of soap in the bathroom. They aren't cheap. Instead of providing individual soap and shampoo in the shower, they had dispensers containing Bliss products, so they only have to pay for the 2-3 pumps you actually need. (These seemed to be locked -- I appreciate that. Don't want some jerk putting Nair in the shampoo dispenser, right?)

Two complementary bottles of water! NICE!!! Most places gouge you $3 or $4 each for a $0.25 bottle of spring water.

Hotel amenities: I was surprised to find a decent gym and a small indoor pool. Nice touch. Even better was the lobby, with lots of comfy seating, a happening bar, and a free pool table! They also have a little mini-cafeteria open 24/7 where you can pick up drinks/snacks.

Only complaint: They have free coffee in the mornings, but it was put away and over before 10 a.m.

Room Tip: I appreciated the rooms with a city view vs. courtyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us and others, your thoughts and experience with Aloft. I think you did a wonderful job of explaining what and who we are as we try to give the traveler a better experience thru efficient and clean design. Hopefully, we have the opportunity to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing