We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staycation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milwaukee Brewing Co.

Milwaukee Brewing Co.
Ranked #6 of 27 Food & Drink in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: MKE Brewing Co. started as a brewpub, the Milwaukee Ale House, in October 1997 in Milwaukeeʼs Historic Third Ward. Fast forward 10 years and over 300 innovative beers later to November 2007 when MKE Brewing Co kegged off their first brew at their 2nd Street Brewery located in the trendy Walker’s Point neighborhood. A WDNR Green Tier Certified brewery, MKE Brewing Co. prides themselves on taking the artisan approach to brewing, using only the finest local ingredients and never making compromises. Tours are offered on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Reservations are recommended.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staycation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome tour. Tim was our guide and he was excellent!! We're locals but think it is a must-see for everyone! I also love that they have sustainability values and local flavor.

Helpful?
Thank Bethany Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    18
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great beer, great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

So much fun! The tour was informative and the beer was delicious. Get your ticket before you go as they fill up quickly. We did four brewery tours in one weekend and this was by far the best. Can't wait to return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chi_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best beer brewed in Milwaukee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stop in for a weekend tour and try the best beer brewed in Milwaukee. Ditch the crappy domestic tour in the valley and taste what a real beer tastes like! Try the OG Wit or Admiral Stache to get you warm in this frigid weather.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Partyof5ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brew tour as it should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

If you are looking for the corporate, "behind the plexiglass" type of tour with the politically correct warning signs of not to jump into the mash tun, then this is NOT the tour for you. Instead, if you are looking to kill a couple of hours, have fun and learn a few things all the while sipping some tasty adult beverages, then I highly recommend a trip over the the MKE Brewing Company.

This tour is as close as you can get to the brewing process without violating a thousand OSHA regulations. The smell of spent grains and hops permeates the place, as pallets of used grains go passing by the tour loaded on a fork lift. Your tour will begin with you and your tour guide filling a pint full of fresh beer and taking it with you on your tour. For some reason bending your elbow a few times during the instructional tour helps get the main concepts across clearly.

There are a couple of "breaks" during the tour to allow you fill your mug and try another of their many great recipes. At the end of the tour, do not leave without taking home a 6 pack for later use. I highly recommend Polish Moon, but you can't go wrong with any flavor. Just remember to drink responsively.

Tour cost is $10 and consists of a nice glass to keep and some tasty malt beverages before, during and after the tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Brew Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

By far the best brewery tour experience to be had in Milwaukee. Go for the 3 hour all you can drink extravaganza, but make sure you get your ticket beforehand as it is usually packed. I walked up and was told it was sold out, but the graciously let me slip in. After that it was beer, beer, beer and more beer. And great beer at that. Did I forgot to mention there was a tour as well? I can't recall much of it, but who cares.... the beer!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milwaukee Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing