We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor House

Harbor House
Reserve with OpenTable
Harbor House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,504 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$52
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr
Description: Harbor House is a bright, spacious New England-style seafood restaurant Milwaukee residents and visitors love, set on the shore of Lake Michigan. The restaurant is a result of a partnership between local businessman and philanthropist Michael Cudahy and The Bartolotta Restaurants. After opening in 2010, Harbor House quickly rose to become one of the city's top restaurants. Harbor House offers a premier lakefront dining experience and the freshest seafood flown in daily from both coasts. The interior features a three-sided bar, a raw bar, an open kitchen and a private dining room available for special events and parties. An outdoor patio features a full bar, Adirondack chairs and unparalleled views of the lake, the Milwaukee Art Museum and Milwaukee's skyline.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had an afternoon snack of oysters, shrimp cocktail and drinks. Beautiful outdoor setting. Food was good as was the service. Haven't had dinner in the restaurant, but it was very nicely decorated.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cokerlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    213
    76
    39
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, IA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Sat outside for casual dinner. No reservations taken for outside. The chefs reserve oysters on the half shell were great, so were the martinis and the lobster rolls. Beautiful view. Nice atmosphere. Good service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysRoadRunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We decided at the last minute to go out to celebrate our anniversary and Harbor House immediately came to mind when we wanted to have seafood. We arrived a little early for our 7:15 reservations expecting to wait at the bar but our hostess found a table for two against a window facing north with a fantastic view of the city and the Art Museum. Our server was very friendly and offered to help if we had any questions about anything on the menu. We knew right away what we wanted so drinks and dinner were ordered. My wife had a Maryland Crab cake and I a sauteed shrimp with white bean appetizer followed by sauteed scallops and king crab legs. All were very tasty. Service was courteous , unhurried and well timed something that seems to be more rare these days.All in all a great way to celebrate our evening. Also our server brought us a complimentary glass of champagne! Dinner was followed by a walk on the jetty outside the restaurant listening to the music performance next door at Discovery World. Wonderful Night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The food here was delicious. My dad said it was the best surf and turf (lobster and filet) that he's ever had. We had the onion rings to start (definitely a share plate!) and the calamari which were both great. The onion rings were really light and thin. We then had the surf and turf (as above), the chicken and the shrimps - all of which were really tasty! There was a good selection of wine and the prices were reasonable for the location and quality of food. The waiting staff were really good and friendly too, although we though that having two people serve each table had the opportunity of getting quite confusing and hard for them to make sure they were serving each table fully without getting frustrating for the guests. The restaurant was busy and noisy but we were sat out in the conservatory area which was a bit quieter. We also had a great view of the water and sunset so definitely recommend a table by the window. Would go back if we were in Milwaukee again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect view paired with some perfect food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was in Wisconsin for work, and decided to give this place a try.

AMAZING VIEW!!!! Right on Lake Michigan, and if you sit outside, you can literally smell the petunias.

Maine lobster roll - buttery bread, big chunks of lobster meat, one slice of lettuce and a little celery - Perfect!!! *I subbed green beans for the fries - definitely recommend! They are buttery and cooked perfectly - not hard like most places seem to do.

Mousse - (dessert) - awesome! Cookie crust with the mousse and the ice-cream, plus the little fruit and fruit compote just couldn't get any better. They all complimented each other so well!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbor House also viewed

 

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing