We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Old Hotel; Good Athletic Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milwaukee Athletic Club
Reviewed 26 July 2014

They sold the parking garage so have been able to put a large chunk of change into upgrades over the past year. The MAC is very well situated in the downtown, within easy walking distance of the River Walk, the Lake and the historic districts. The staff is very accommodating. We always enjoy our stays.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Milwaukee Athletic Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the MAC (Milwaukee Athletic Club) for three nights. In the sharply divided ratings provided for this facility, we mostly join those who enjoyed their stays. The main issue with water temperature fluctuation in the shower may be self-inflicted, as it was in my case. I took my 1st shower trying to regulate both the top and bottom water sources. According to the written instructions, which I had failed to read, only the top valve is to be operated during a shower. Our room was spacious, containing a new coffee maker and mini-fridge, quite clean, and the bed’s mattress provided an excellent night’s sleep. The coffee maker in our room worked only if one turned on the light switch for that half of the room, but this was learned through trial and error. Of course much of the furnishings are not modern, but one expects this in a club that’s over a hundred years old. And frankly, that is part of the MAC’s charm. We also had excellent service, both at the front desk and in our room. Staff was much more than average in attentiveness, and we really couldn’t have asked for more. Our son told us that the $15/day parking charge was reasonable, given prices for the parking structures nearby. We just wrote that off to having to park in a large city. The MAC is very nicely appointed for exercise (just walk up and down the 283 steps from the lobby to the 12th floor two or three times a day) and for those who swim.

Room Tip: Possibly one could ask to see the assigned room before occupying it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for summerfest '14 and it was perfect for that. Easy walk, room was huge. Stayed on the 12th floor and the view was very nice. Would not recommend for families with young children as the pools are seperate men's and women's. Also there is a dress code.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Talk about a conveniently located hotel!

Smack in the middle of downtown Milwaukee, this hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Milwaukee Art Museum, Riverwalk, and Veterans Park, as well as other local attractions. The lobby and restaurant are classic, clean and welcoming. The hotel staff were also incredibly helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately, the good stops there. The rooms, while comfortable and clean, need some major updating. And even worse, the walls are incredibly thin; you can hear every word of neighboring conversations even at a normal volume. This place is great if you're only there for a night (as we were), but you should consider other options if you're visiting Milwaukee during a weekend getaway or vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The charm of the Pfeister w/out the price tag. We stayed at the MAC and I had no idea what to expect. It was SO lovely...quiet and unique and perfectly located. YES there are features that are outdated but nothing that effects your stay. I felt like I could move in for a week and totally relax. Our room was HUGE and the bed was great. A step back in time - I told my husband I felt like we were in some European hotel w/ the charm!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkhoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Location is great. Very close to everything including bars, restaurants and the lake front. Room was spacious and clean but the rooms are tired. Ceiling tile, carpet/flooring and bathrooms should be updated. Parking was awkward due to repair work. Reasonable $15 fee for downtown parking. We would stay again. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 12th floor.....very close to the rooftop deck which has beautiful city views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tr1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The people at the front desk were pleasant enough. That is the only good thing to say about this extremely poorly maintained, uncomfortable, unattractive, noisy, creepy, outdated, dirty relic of a hotel. No price is cheap enough to justify staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jks355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,901 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#17 of 56 in Milwaukee
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milwaukee Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Athletic Club

Address: 758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3654
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Milwaukee
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milwaukee Athletic Club 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only available to guests attending a sponsored event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milwaukee Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milwaukee Athletic Club Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing