We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Milwaukee Athletic Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Metro(Milwaukee)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pfister Hotel(Milwaukee)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
27
53
34
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
53
34
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsathletic facilitiesrooftop barblast from the pastleather chairsgentlemen's clublocation is greatold schoolgreat gymbit outdatedshort walkbusiness centerdowntown areaold worldthree nightsper daystaff was very friendly and helpfulsauna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed at the MAC numerous times, always professional, friendly, comfortable and accommodating. An excellent jem that is truly the 'best kept secret' of Milwaukee accommodations. The workout facilities and the gym operate as a personal workout facility!

Room Tip: Rooms are only on the top three floors so any room is good.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

They sold the parking garage so have been able to put a large chunk of change into upgrades over the past year. The MAC is very well situated in the downtown, within easy walking distance of the River Walk, the Lake and the historic districts. The staff is very accommodating. We always enjoy our stays.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the MAC (Milwaukee Athletic Club) for three nights. In the sharply divided ratings provided for this facility, we mostly join those who enjoyed their stays. The main issue with water temperature fluctuation in the shower may be self-inflicted, as it was in my case. I took my 1st shower trying to regulate both the top and bottom water sources. According to the written instructions, which I had failed to read, only the top valve is to be operated during a shower. Our room was spacious, containing a new coffee maker and mini-fridge, quite clean, and the bed’s mattress provided an excellent night’s sleep. The coffee maker in our room worked only if one turned on the light switch for that half of the room, but this was learned through trial and error. Of course much of the furnishings are not modern, but one expects this in a club that’s over a hundred years old. And frankly, that is part of the MAC’s charm. We also had excellent service, both at the front desk and in our room. Staff was much more than average in attentiveness, and we really couldn’t have asked for more. Our son told us that the $15/day parking charge was reasonable, given prices for the parking structures nearby. We just wrote that off to having to park in a large city. The MAC is very nicely appointed for exercise (just walk up and down the 283 steps from the lobby to the 12th floor two or three times a day) and for those who swim.

Room Tip: Possibly one could ask to see the assigned room before occupying it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for summerfest '14 and it was perfect for that. Easy walk, room was huge. Stayed on the 12th floor and the view was very nice. Would not recommend for families with young children as the pools are seperate men's and women's. Also there is a dress code.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Talk about a conveniently located hotel!

Smack in the middle of downtown Milwaukee, this hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Milwaukee Art Museum, Riverwalk, and Veterans Park, as well as other local attractions. The lobby and restaurant are classic, clean and welcoming. The hotel staff were also incredibly helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately, the good stops there. The rooms, while comfortable and clean, need some major updating. And even worse, the walls are incredibly thin; you can hear every word of neighboring conversations even at a normal volume. This place is great if you're only there for a night (as we were), but you should consider other options if you're visiting Milwaukee during a weekend getaway or vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews