We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Absolutely Favorite Milwaukee Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My Absolutely Favorite Milwaukee Hotel”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have written other reviews for this wonderful hotel, but I do have to chime in again with how much I enjoy it. We had a great suite that was so quiet - but that makes sense in an urban hotel over the Christmas holiday. Not that many people checked in (I think) - but all that were there were friendly and happy - so cool. Our room had a lovely view, it was very spacious and we enjoyed the refrigerator and the microwave for heat ups. The front desk young lady was very welcoming, as was the breakfast staff and the manager reception staff on Monday. All was great. We enjoyed our stay very much, and hope to be able to stay here again next Christmas - thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    160
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
96
151
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel was good. Very big room with almost a wall of window space and high cieling. Free hot breakfast in the morning with lots of choices.

Location is great. Right on the Riverwalk and walking distance to a lot of places. Walked to the Milwaukee Art Museum, Third Ward, and down the Riverwalk all very easily.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's not facing the street. There's a parking garage right across from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txag08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Drove to Milwaukee for a concert. They have heated and secure underground parking that I was ok to pay for. Stayed for a weekend. Hotel is wonderfully situated. Walked to a number of sites easily and ate at great restaurant just kitty-corner. Easy cab service too. Great exercise room. Hotel was old Gimbels department store (ca 1887) so ceilings are high, windows grand. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Nice mix of guests. Very pleased with stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintPaulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I recently stayed in Residence Inn for a week for Business. I found it really good, rooms are really spacious and they provide small kitchen within the room. This is also walking distance from most downtown offices and hotels. Had a great Stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tushar261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend. We wanted to do a cute trip for the holidays. We picked this hotel because it was on the river and close to everything. We did the Jingle Bus which was only a block or two away from the hotel. The room was beautiful with a full kitchen as well. Their room service was great with food from the Pub across the street. There is a free hot complementary breakfast in the morning as well. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohbaby427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, the location of this hotel is about as good as it gets in Milwaukee....Literally walking distance from all of the downtown culture.

Rooms are nice and clean, and appear to be about 10yrs old....Solid 3.5 star hotel in my book

Room Tip: There is plenty of free, street parking...don't pay for valet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Excellant location to all downtown venus, as well as all of the Resturants in the area. Walking distane to everything that is needed, even a shopping mall. Public transpertation is on almost every corner. Nice and clean downtown area.

Room Tip: any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1962-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 56 in Milwaukee
266 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing