We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing king room with an amazing view over the river. We can't wait to come back to Milwaukee! The room was clean with a giant window floor to ceiling. Good breakfast as well. We are sad to have missed the happy hour though. Perfect location. We were able to walk everywhere, even with temperatures below zero. We wil stay here every time we visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KatDog04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    158
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
92
146
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great downtown location in the renovated Gimbels Building. It's on the Riverwalk so it's an easy walk to the 3rd Ward market, a moderate walk to the Art Museum. The suites are large with kitchen. Free breakfast was complete and more than adequate. I'd stay again. The under-hotel parking is the same price as the city parking lots but you get in and out privileges, definitely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very nice rooms. Bed was soft for our liking. Great location and views. Friendly staff and the parking on site is worth the $17! We had a corner room. Lots of space huge Windows nice bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Definitely better than the average hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice but if they are next to the elevator the room is a little noisy. Not bad but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOBIR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Everything was perfect. Arrived in Milwaukee around 10:00 am. We were checking out a event at the conference center so I was hoping just to park and check in later, but they let us check in right away. Room was huge and clean. The free breakfast was just fine. Everything in the area is basicalli connected to a skywalk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cusemets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Next to the river within walking distance to fine dining. Lot's of shopping without going outside! The suite was comfortable and well maintained. The underground parking was especially nice on the very cold weekend. Plenty of choices on the breakfast buffet, great coffee and wait staff. Great value!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is tucked away in downtown Milwaukee, and it's a gem.
Beautiful lobby, everyone was so accommodating from the Valet guy to the Registration person, to my waitress, Selena.
The cooked-to-order breakfast was also delicious.
My room had this high ceiling with floor to ceiling windows, a view of Lake Michigan, and the Calatrava Art Museum (if in Milwaukee, that has to be one of your stops, along with ComedySportz if you like clean comedy) full kitchen, couch, and really comfortable bed.
I am going to recommend it to my friends (and enemies) who are coming to Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My production crew and I stayed here on one of the coldest days of the year and were warmed by the unique beauty of this gracious hotel. The staff was friendly and perceptive. They granted us extra time to manage our cumbersome equipment, a process that was made more complex by the cold. They recommended a restaurant that was one of the best, affordable and authentic dining experiences ever. The adjacent River Walk is beautiful. This Residence Inn is also near the Milwaukee Public Market [a MUST GO place], putting it for me in the beating heart of a hip and historic city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Been_There150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#16 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing