We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from staying here for a girls trip to Summerfest. Hotel is very clean. Bed was comfortable. The shower was very nice as were the fluffy towels. It was nice that the sink area was separate from bathroom so 1 could get ready while other showering--nice Paul Mitchell products too. Full size fridge wasn't needed for nite but handy to have. Breakfast was crowded even with some taking it back to the room. Good selection altho it was going quickly due to the holiday crowd. Some noise could be heard down the hall but not too much. The extra high ceilings give the room a more spacious feel. Parking is $15/24hrs in garage directly across the street. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Also, walkable to fest and other downtown locations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cdwchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    158
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
94
148
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

For our son's wedding in Milwaukee, we needed about 15 rooms for out-of-town guests. Residence Inn's sales staff was extremely accommodating, per-room group price was better than just about any in or around downtown, rooms were big, sales staff made adjustments without complaint in run up to the event ... a very positive experience and I would recommend to anyone needing a group rate and home for a family event. We will visit Milwaukee often in the future, and will certainly consider the Residence Inn for our own weekend stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

For the most part, a wonderful hotel in a great location, better than many of the higher end hotels with respect to both. Large spacious rooms with wonderful windows. Air conditioning was quiet and worked great. Breakfast was nicer than many other Residence Inns. Did not get to enjoy the evening receptions. My only complaints are minor. My Marriott elite status wasn't recognized, not even a bottle of water. Did not get a room upgrade or a river view. Either would have been appreciated. The walls are very thin, so previous reviewer must have had quiet neighbors. I heard every single word of the adjoining room's TV as if it were in my own room. Same for the showers and sinks. It sounded as if it were in my own room. I did not appreciate this as I was here to work and needed to be up at 5A and had a very hard time sleeping with all the adjacent noise. Passes to the adjacent Planet Fitness would have been nice as the hotel exercise room is very spartan.

Room Tip: River view would be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcrane35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown Milwaukee for a week in June, and my family and I were pleasantly surprised. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite was very spacious and clean. Not sure why the large bedrooms didn't have king beds rather than queens though. They do have king-bedded rooms, just not in the 2-bedroom suites. That was definitely a minus. Large living room. Kitchen did not have pots and pans which are only available from the front desk if you ask.

The parking garage was not that easy to access as you have to walk out of the hotel lobby through another common lobby shared by the hotel and a business, then it's an elevator ride down to the underground parking. Once you get used to it, it's quite convenient and very secure. The complimentary breakfast was edible - typical Residence Inn fare. Self-service laundry and an adequate exercise room are hidden away on the sixth floor.

The hotel is located right on the river, and is close to several of the city's attractions. The charming Milwaukee Public Market, superb Milwaukee Art Museum, and Riverwalk are all close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCforFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi S, General Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regards to your recent stay at the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown.

We appreciate your feedback and have notified the proper departments.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Milwaukee.


Sincerely,
Andi Salmon
General Manager
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
asalmon@csmcorp.net
414-289-3501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Clean, very friendly staff, the rooms are very spacious. We stayed in an apartment that was very well equipped for preparing and cooking consistent meals. The breakfast was also quite reach in food assortments and the breakfast room is very cozy. The hotel is very well positioned. Ask for a room with a river view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place was great! It is probably the best price I’ve paid for the nicest hotel, especially for being in the perfect location - we went to a concert at the Riverside Theater and if you take the stairs, they open to directly in front of it. The ceilings are really high and the windows are huge. I’m not sure if all rooms are the same but we got a room with one bed and a pull out couch, which really makes sense for a hotel room because I’d guess a lot of people just use one bed, so you have a couch, coffee table, and some chairs for hanging out. We had no idea the room would have a kitchenette with a little bar and two stools, a big fridge, microwave, toaster, stove top, and regular size coffee maker (I will bring coffee from home next time – and there will be a next time!). I also liked how the shower and toilet are in one area with a door and the sink is outside of it. We didn’t hear anyone from other rooms, either in our room or our friends’ room that we hung out in after the concert. (i.e., the walls are not paper thin like some places, or we had super quiet neighbors). I imagine the hotel was busy because it was a Saturday and it’s in such a great location, but we were not annoyed by anyone around us. It was in walking distance of some great restaurants so we parked at the garage across the street for $15 overnight and just walked everywhere. The only remotely negative thing I can think of is that I wish the bathroom had a fan.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lirpa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First impression was very good. Has a very safe and secure parking garage. I was in Milwaukee for a week for a business convention and was sharing a one room suite with two other women.

When you walk in the room is quite striking with very high ceilings and a really beautiful view of the river & buildings. It has a nicely equipped kitchenette. However the coffee pot didn't work the first day which they promptly replaced. A few days later we discovered the garbage disposal didn't work.

I slept the first night on the pull out sofa. This is truly the WORST pull out I have EVER slept on. The mattress on it is about 5 inches thick and you will be crippled the next day. It's awful. We called the desk the next day to request another mattress but they didn't have any. They did offer to move us to another room, but that would have required moving three women and a weeks worth of groceries. So I decided I would just put the mattress on the floor. However upon returning to our room late that night I ran into an employee delivering a roll-away bed to another guest. So I asked if I could have one sent to my room as well and it was delivered right away. Why wasn't that suggested when we called that morning? Good news, the roll-away was quite comfortable.

The next issue was the TV. They have a real problem with the TV's in this hotel. Sometimes it worked fine, other times all you got was sound and no picture. Very random! So the same sweet man that delivered the bed came back to the room to tell us the secret to the TV. You had to shut it off on the side of the TV and (virtually reboot it) to get it to operate with both sound and picture. When I had initially called down to the desk about the TV the desk clerk said that they have a lot of guests having a problem with the TV's and she would send someone to show us how to work it. Clearly a problem they need to resolve!

So after getting a new coffee pot, new bed, repaired garbage disposal, soap for the dishwasher and the secret combination for the TV, we enjoyed our stay.

Would I stay here again? Probably not....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetWanderer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi S, General Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown with us.

As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service.

We hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to Milwaukee.

Sincerely,
Andi Salmon
General Manager
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
asalmon@csmcorp.net
414-289-3501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#14 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing