We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay; great location, quality and value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay; great location, quality and value.”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel is well taken care of, with friendly, helpful staff. It is situated in a perfect location in order to walk to restaurants, theater or other entertainment venues.

The kitchenettes are perfect to save a bit of money and do a little cooking if you'd like; who doesn't like a refrigerator in the room.

Great workout facility too....

We love this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    158
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
94
148
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I was looking for a hotel that would allow me a full kitchen for entertaining a small herd of my son's friends during a recent visit. The information about the Residence Inn sounded perfect. AND IT WAS!

I am 'all about' historical preservation, too, so when I learned that this magnificent building had originally been the Gimbels store in the 1880s, I was very happy.

One of the big surprises was the complimentary breakfast--the food was plentiful and very, very well prepared, and the food & beverage staff were very personable and friendly.

I cannot think of one thing about the Residence Inn in downtown Milwaukee that is remotely negative (except that the breakfast was SO popular that it was sometimes difficult to find a place to sit to eat!). I've stayed in A LOT of hotels for business and pleasure, and this place is the best! And the VALUE! WOW!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We’ve just returned from Milwaukee after visiting friends. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are massive. The kitchen is a bonus and the oversized refrigerator is great to store drinks and snacks. The room is clean and well presented, although the maid service is rather slow with our room not being turned until around 5pm each day. Breakfasts are great – although watch out for the hot cheese sauce which tends to explode out of the end of the tube (ouch – it burns bad1). The hotels staff are friendly and check in is easy!
This was our first time to the city and we were not disappointed. Milwaukee is a great city and the people are so friendly. We did a free boat tour from the Milwaukee ale company on North Water Street. All we had to do was buy a beer and then enjoy a 45-minute evening tour of the river and Milwaukee waterfront. WE also visited several custard stands (great) and the Botanical gardens, as well as exploring down town. The Miller brewery tour is also well worth a visit. The Potawatomi Casino is a great place to spend a few $’s!. We would recommend Milwaukee to all our friends as a great place to visit and spend a few days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Drove up from Chicago with 12 friends for a Bachelor party and could not of had a better time. The hotel in my opinion is the perfect location - Close to the Riverwalk, 3rd St, Water St. and plenty of safe garage parking. The 2 bedroom suites are spacious, clean and updated with comfy beds and LCD T.V.s and IPOD docks.

No need to worry about transportation - hotel is within walking distance of all worth while attractions and bars. Staff was very attentive and with the hotel being sold out and our party going well into the next day there was no complaints. Surprise to us and a perfect example of the type of privacy and quality the Residence Inn provided.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBearsFan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis IN
Level Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Fast, friendly check in. Desk clerks always helpful. Tasty breakfast, plenty of room to enjoy it contrary to many places. We had a 1 bedroom suite. Loved the high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows. Typical Residence Inn with bathroom off the bedroom so anyone sleeping on the hide-a-bed had to go through the bedroom to use it. Overall room was clean though some stains on the carpet and furniture. TVs worked great, A/C was inaudible and very effective. Not much noise from the street. Loved the view facing the river and downtown. Walked on the riverwalk and downtown. Ended up parking down the street in the ramp. Nobody there to collect, gate was up. Saved some bucks.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldLoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
241 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I was extremely pleased with Residence Inn and would highly recommend it to everyone. It was situated perfectly on the Riverwalk (though that really wasn't that big of a plus), and we were able to walk to some locations.

The room was extremely large - as was the bathroom. We didn't have a need for the kitchen, but for those staying there on business, I can see it being used. My husband found the bed to be too soft for him and he had trouble sleeping. I, myself, had no problems.

The hotel, itself, was very clean and quiet. We were on the sixth floor (with the laundry and exercise room) and it was always quiet in the hallway. The hotel definitely looked new (or newly remodeled).

Breakfast was complimentary and had several hot and cold items that we found to be good. They also had a small business center with two computers for you to use - free of charge.

I only had a few minor complaints - such as no close towel racks by the shower. I also thought the parking pass was a bit weird. It was a piece of paper that you swiped in the elevator and garage. I thought using our hotel card would make more sense as it was plastic vs. paper.

Everything else about our stay was great. If you're ever in Milwaukee, I would suggest staying at the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights to meet up with Family and catch some Brewer games. The hotel was great, the Breakfast was good, and the hotel location is great as well. The rooms have huge windows. A nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbeeblebrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing