We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, IL
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Ambassador is a nice, older hotel. We had the king whirlpool room which was a fairly large room. There was a separate sink and mirror area in addition to the bathroom which is nice for two people getting ready at once. The room had a sitting area with a sofa and coffee table, the sofa pulled out to another bed. Even though the hotel was a older one, the rooms were still updated and clean. The lobby had an art deco theme and had a bar and separate restaurant area. We had breakfast and it was very good, however, the breakfast on Sunday was an all you can eat style which we weren't aware of and it was pricy. The hotel staff was friendly and their was a shuttle that took us to the casino and drove us to a wedding reception that we were in town for. He also picked us up and the end of the night, which was very nice!

Room Tip: The whirlpool king rooms are nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Award Winning Sunday Brunch is featured on Sunday mornings beginning at 10am. It is a small plate brunch and is a local favorite. We do offer normal breakfast from 6:30am - 10:00am on Sundays, in addition to room service, which is available throughout the day. We look forward to having you at the Ambassador again on a future visit to Milwaukee and thank you again for choosing the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    473
    163
    82
    78
See reviews for
320
567
92
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

You will appreciate the hotel as you read the history and speak with the manager. This hotel used to be considered a "seedy" hotel because of the location and clientele. However, they've done a wonderful job of upgrading, remodeling and restoring it to the hotel it apparently was in the '40's. The Art Deco is pretty cool and the rooms were nice. The restaurant food is very good. I think you will enjoy it. This hotel is proof, "You can't judge a book by its cover".

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pricelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Times have changed over the years and we are happy to have had you experience the Ambassador! The hotel was restored to its 1920's beauty in 2005 and once again is Milwaukee's Premier Art Deco Hotel. Envoy, our on-site restaurant is a perfect meeting place during your stay. Envoy Lounge features some of its original 1920's nostalgic cocktails! The Art Deco ambiance provides the perfect backdrop to step back in time and enjoy time with friends and family. We look forward to having you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked six rooms for my family and friends in celebration of my upcoming birthday. What a fantastic and wonderful stay. Was actually referred to this hotel by an employee of the Iron Horse because they lacked rooms for the dates in which I was interested. Much has been said about the hotel lobby and it is, indeed, quite nice, with a small gathering space..four chairs in the lobby, a couch and a couple of ottomans in the area. The elevators are fun and unusual reminiscent of a bygone time. Was able to see different room configurations because of the amount booked and some are larger than others. Room 312 was very spacious, beautiful and the king bedroom jacuzzi suite at 712 was awesome. The remaining deluxe queen rooms were large with great sitting areas and plenty of sunlight. Bathrooms in all units were small with pedestal sinks so there is little room to accommodate toiletries. Loved the black and white bathroom wall tile which is found in the lobby, as well. Requested the mini fridge which surprisingly kept our items quite cold. The shuttle van is a major plus and held 14 riders so our group of 10 had no problems with seating. Brad, the driver was excellent and Barry the bartender great, personable and attentive. There are no beverage/candy machines in the hotel and ice machines are not present on every floor. The Art Deco Cafe within the hotel closes at 2:00 P.M. A convenience store is next door to the hotel, about 15 steps away . Several young men hang around the store and there are several panhandlers around so as in any city, exercise caution. We visited the store without problems and these panhandlers are not on hotel property. There is a night club across the street and some of my family complained of noise which could be heard until early morning. Hotel desk clerks are friendly, efficient and I highly recommend this hotel. Did not use swimming pool but had to rate according to site.

Room Tip: Try for Room 312, there is also an ice machine on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruruChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We were delighted to have your family and friends at the Ambassador. Thank you for the comments regarding your interactions with our staff. They are the best in Milwaukee and strive to exceed guest expectations. You pointed out several of the hotel's amenities, including Caffé Deco. In addition, we do have a full service restaurant and lounge on property, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and our award winning Sunday Brunch. The hotel shuttle service is also a very popular amenity of the hotel and does provide door-to-door service to Milwaukee's downtown attractions and events. The hotel features several different room types and our King Whirlpool Suites and Queen Queen Deluxe rooms are very spacious. All of our rooms do have an additional wet bar area to accommodate for the essentials of getting ready in the morning or for an evening out. Our guests love this feature, which allows for multiple people to get ready at the same time. We look forward to working with you on a future visit for you and your family! Thank you for choosing the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in the Ambassador Hotel when visiting Milwaukee for a concert. This hotel is very nicely detailed. It appears to have been renovated recently and was quite welcoming. The nice mix of old and new really sets it apart. Didn't meet an employee who wasn't exceedingly helpful and eager to make our visit memorable. Our bed was very comfortable. I would most definitely stay again if the opportunity came again.

Additionally, neither my wife or I had ever been to Milwaukee prior to this visit. We both were drawn in by this beautiful city. We spent hours driving through neighborhoods and around the lake. The local culture, the food, the drinks, all made the trip worthwhile. Next time we're returning with friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRTravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Ambassador and Milwaukee to the online community. Our location is perfect, not only attending a concert at one of the many venues in Milwaukee, but to many of Milwaukee's other attractions and events. We look forward to having you back for a second visit soon! There is so much to see and do in Milwaukee and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawano, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been going to this hotel for about ten years. They always had free parking but that is no longer the case; you have to pay extra to park your car in the parking ramp that is in the next lot over behind the hotel. Some of the rooms are spacious -- some are not. Some of the bathrooms are spacious. Some are not. (Some are so small you won't believe it!) All are the same price, however, and you'd be amazed at the difference. We decided this last trip that we are not going back since they stuck us in a small room with a small bathroom and charged extra for the parking. You'd think that they'd know enough not to diss their return customers. Shame, shame, shame.

Room Tip: They have good rooms here but you have to ask for them. The rooms that face the downtown on the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voltaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Our staff strives to exceed our guest's expectations on each and every visit. We appreciate your loyalty over the past 10 years. We are sorry we fell short on your recent visit. In deciding on the charge for parking this year, we did take into account our guests and the value of offering this service and decided to make sure it was priced below all of the other downtown hotels. Please contact the hotel's General Manager at your convenience. He would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail. Thank you again for choosing the Ambassador and we do look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in Milwaukee. Historic style furnishing and wonderful service. Rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Only thing I didn't like was there wasn't a coffee shop open early at 5:45 am. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador! We do offer Starbucks Coffee in all of our guest rooms, as a convenience to our guests. We do look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menominee, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I've stayed at many hotels, but have never been to one with such outstanding service as The Ambassador in Milwaukee. They go above and beyond what anyone could ask for. The rooms are awesome, very comfortable beds, and the hotel itself is very clean and unique.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your raving comments regarding our staff. Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations on each and every visit to the Ambassador. Your review is the true measure of our continued success. Thank you very much for choosing the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,086 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing