We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Macon
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. Didn't see the Caffe Deco until day three of the trip--it is a little out of the way--or would have visited it more often.The shuttle was a real plus.The neighborhood around the hotel has not kept up with the hotel, so the transition from outside to inside is rather dramatic. Only one complaint: We were caught off guard by the $20 per night parking charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    433
    151
    74
    68
See reviews for
287
533
84
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very nice hotel that really lives up to it's claim that it is the Premier art deco hotel in Milwaukee. Rooms were very clean and nice, and the staff was very friendly. If you get a chance and are there on a Sunday morning, eat at the Envoy restaurant downstairs for brunch. It was probably the best brunch that I have ever eaten - so good that we went back the next day for breakfast, even though we were initially going to go try some place new. The bar area is very cool too.

The only negative thing that I have to say is that there aren't really any places within walking distance from the hotel, but they do an outstanding job of providing a shuttle that will take you to and from any destination in the city for nothing more than a tip for the driver. We used the shuttle every time we went anywhere, and found it to be a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lived in the area in college and never expected such a quaint, clean, and hip hotel right on Wisconsin Ave. Very nice place with a lot of charm. I was there on business, but want to come back with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Clean beds, clean rooms, and a very nice hotel. I would recommend it to anyone seeking romance in this beautiful city, Milwaukee. The restaurants we ate at were great, and it was so fun enjoying the weather at Summer fest this year we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked this hotel for a trip to visit my brother. Initially, my brother was concerned about the neighborhood and suggested I go with another hotel closer to downtown. In an effort to get the best deal, I went on Priceline looking for a great rate on a 4 star hotel. Once my offer was accepted and I saw it was the Ambassador, I cried like baby and paced the floor until I had grooves in the carpet! I thought I was doomed to stay in a so-so hotel in a crummy neighborhood. I had pictured the nightly news report, "visitor from Arizona killed while staying in Milwaukee at the Ambassador"!! I know that's an awful thought.

However, once I arrived I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was beautiful! The décor and architecture were fabulous. I had a big room with a king sized bed and a sitting area. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. Please keep in mind that I only slept in the room and sat for in it for a couple hours each morning. My brother had a full itinerary for me. The neighborhood didn't look to be too shabby to me but, then again I lived in Detroit for many years... the staff was wonderful and most of all it got the seal of approval from both my brother and his girlfriend! The hotel is a bit of a distance from downtown but it was as excellent stay for the price. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King City
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Clean, comfortable, good service and restaurants. The shuttle is a great service for those without cars. Downside, if you have a car it's $20/day to park it and the wireless internet/TV signal can be weak/intermittent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We wanted to stay at the casino but they were sold out. They have a partnership with this hotel so we booked. We got $20 stay/play cash and free shuttle service to the casino. The hotel is very nice. Everything has been re-done in the past couple of years. food and drinks were really good. I ordered a cheese plate and champagne for our room (very good). Free shuttle took us to LakeFront Brewery and the casino at no charge. Drivers were super nice.

Only complaint was that the hotel restaurant closed/stopped serving at 8:00 pm. And there isn't really anything within walking distance of the hotel to eat besides Taco Bell.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfeller808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing