We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great introduction to Chicago”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
“Great introduction to Chicago”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Ambassador Hotel was exactly what we needed for a quick two day stay in Milwaukee. Neither of us are familiar with the city or neighborhoods very well, so we likely would have stayed a little closer to the lake, but The Ambassador was perfect otherwise! We really enjoyed the atmosphere and attention to detail. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    433
    151
    74
    68
See reviews for
287
533
84
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crete
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Classic Hotel with beautiful suites. Bedding and pillows were exquisite. Very comfortable room with great amenities.
Best, and most comfortable room in a hotel, I've had in years and years!
Will be our first choice for a hotel in the Milwaukee area!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Emaculate room. View at night great. Quiet & spacious. Bathroom & dressing area perfect. King whirlpool relaxing. Staff very friendly & helpful. Bar quaint & great drinks &
appetizers. Breakfast very good in Envoy. Service excellent. Highly recommend Ambassador.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The shuttle service was great because you save a lot of money on parking downtown. Friendly and knowledgeable. Ask them anything and they will help you out. Location is a little run down so there were a few bums hanging around but still felt safe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Came for Marquette campus move in. Very convenient location. Wednesday is 1/2 price wine bottles at the lounge bar, which is a great deal. Classy joint and the shuttle service was very handy to use!!!



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank augopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We love the decor and the modern guest rooms. We especially appreciate the free shuttle as we had my mother in law and 15 month old son (they walk equally well. :) ) Staff is courteous and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAIRFAX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a great historic hotel, in downtown Milwaukee. It is in the Art Deco style, and it is lovely inside and out. It is near Marquette University, about 3 miles from the waterfront. It's conveniently located and in what feels like a safe part of town. The hotel has a cafe that serves Starbucks, on the first floor, as well as a bar and a nice restaurant. I had dinner and breakfast there and was happy with both. Try the oatmeal brulee for breakfast, and the salmon for dinner! The service was generally friendly and I want to give a particular shout out for Natasha at the front desk. She checked me in and she was wonderfully friendly and helpful. I stayed in a corner room at the back of the hotel (facing the parking lot) and it was wonderfully quiet. The room was very comfortable and more than anything, I appreciated the silence, despite a very busy weekend (state fair & the triathlon National Championships). Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely go back if I find myself in Milwaukee again.

Room Tip: If you stay toward the back of the hotel, facing the parking lot, it's quiet. The elevator isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing